We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Willie's Locally Known
Ranked #65 of 909 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $29
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Richmond, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Do yourself a favor and order the fried pickles and fried green tomatoes to start with. Everything on the menu is delicious. Great place with a high cover charge to listen to local music. The back patio is covered and really awesome except we sat outside and waited for a server for 15 minutes. Eventually we moved inside so that we could order food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    57
    18
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Brisket hole in the wall joint”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Been a few times and had to have the brisket again. Very tasty and smells outside are as good as the taste of the brisket inside. Lunchtime is better than dinner time as the bands start to play later in the evening and it can get crowded. Still like the brisket best.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PaulAdelfio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“3rd best bar wings ever”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My friend and I stopped in for lunch. The food was excellent. I had a burger and he had the pulled pork. It was top notch. We came back 2 nights later for dinner and beers. It was even better. There was a benefit going on and my friend had goat stew and I had the wings. 3rd best wings I have ever had and the best outside a wing joint. There was the right blend of heat, sweet and vinegar bite.Plus, they have Sweetwater 420 on tap.. Best beer with wings. Great ambience, if you like a great bar scene with live music. Watrons were great, timely and courteous. This is a great dive bar with hardcore cooking chops.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall. ”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

What a great find. We were not to sure what we were in for as we drove up to the restaurant. We sat in the parking lot for a moment and decided what the heck lets go in. The restaurant is a music venue bar. We ate here on a Wednesday night. It was not crowded at all. They have outdoor seating. We sat outside. Our waitress was extremely friendly. Our meal was delicious. We had the ribs and the fried catfish. Very good french fries. I had a side of the best tasting collard greens, I have ever had in a restaurant. Ribs were fall off the bone. The local beer on tap was good. There was a nice pingpong table so we even played a game of pingpong. Great food and a good experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank GoHokies07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A unique place”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is primarily a venue for music at night, and the lunch I had was only OK. Menu leans toward barbecue and other items of that type, but there are salads and sandwiches available. Good selection of draft beers.

Decor is underwhelming to say the least, starting with the exterior. Most of the parking is around back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HealthyGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willie's Locally Known also viewed

 

Been to Willie's Locally Known? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing