We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Problems but Excellent Customer Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky
Ranked #30 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Problems but Excellent Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I will begin with the good. In the end, the problem (although our party was still inconvenienced) was addressed to my satisfaction and without a lot of effort on my part. You sometimes find vendors focusing on excuses and trying to over defend what happened versus just making it right.

In the morning, the manager had already been briefed by the night staff and offered what I found to be more than fair compensation for our room inconvenience. Both staff and manager were very apologetic.

We checked in at 1:00 am (after driving several hundred miles) for a one night rest before getting back on the road. Our guaranteed reservation was for a two queen, sofa bed suite. Upon arrival the room type could not be honored. There was only a king and sofa bed available. Two single rooms (with sofa bed) were offered but at a higher rate. The front desk called other hotels. Only one would have close to what we booked (not a suite) but at a higher rate and across town. The offer of a rollaway was provided, but when they tried to put it in the room it blocked the door. There would be no way to exit the room. In the end, two of us had to share a bed.

There was a fraternity staying at the hotel. Some noise (I have experienced worse with a large group). At breakfast there were some of the fraternity members that were in the breakfast area barefoot, just in socks and one without a shirt. Note (which I missed) that the name indicates it is located near the University of Kentucky. We were checking out and I did not express concern over this but would have if staying another night.

Overall, the hotel is new and clean. The hot breakfast was typical processed/frozen sausage and eggs

Room Tip: Take into account the location ad that there may be different university groups (fraternity and sori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tfishcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    91
    39
    9
    6
See reviews for
93
42
11
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I came into town for business, arrived a day early, so I used points to book this hotel. Wow, what a mistake. The staff was fine, but nothing worked. The room was filthy. The wireless internet never worked. I called CS to check on options in the area, and they refused to help. It also is NOT near the university or downtown. Near is not the same thing as driving several miles.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CafN8edpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel is excellent - we were in town for a UK Basketball game. Our stay could not have been better, it was close to Rupp Arena and had everything we needed for our stay. The breakfast the next morning was awesome!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickieMOwensboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
281 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 669 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here two nights recently during my husband's hospital stay. It was perfect- safe area, close to downtown and campus, many eateries around the hotel. The parking lot was well lit. My room was on the first floor, I had a view of some grass, trees and a picket fence- felt very homey! My room was very quiet despite a large group of students in residence. I never heard one thing! The room was spacious with ample work space, a charging dock for IPhone, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron all included and the $99/night special was a bargain! The was a decent indoor pool and whirlpool as well as a fitness room and computer terminal available. WIFI is free. The breakfast buffet was definitely a notch up from HI Express. Free morning newspaper. They had a waffle maker, toaster with assorted pastries, bagels (whole wheat!) fresh fruit, yogurt, two juices, oatmeal with fixings, cereals, scrambled eggs, ham and sausage patties. Though busy, food was always freshly stocked and the area was very comfortable. As a women traveling solo, I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLindaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Great rooms aside from need to feel like you are going to break the tap when activating the shower ( it never really fully diverts the water from tub - we had two rooms and they both did same thing ). Quiet and great breakfast choices. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nycbornuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Super clean room, amazing continental breakfast, knowledgeable desk staff. Would definitely stay here again. Safe parking, Starbucks across the street, super comfy beds and large spacious rooms. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Any room is great. Travel to Al's Bar and Grill for some great local food and a great glass of w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Rooms are nice and spacious and beds are comfortable. Staff are helpful and friendly. However my room was on the right hand side of the hotel and overlooked a large building site. The builders would start at 7am and finish at 7pm including saturdays!! These early wake up calls spoiled two of my nights but when I complained, I was moved to another room and given some money back. The breakfast is standard, nothing to write home about. The building site is meant to be there for a while since new university accommodation is being built. I was there til mid september 2012.

Room Tip: choose a room on the opposite side from the building site. This would be the left hand side if facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ff9473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#6 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#12 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
University Inn Hotel
University Inn Hotel
#37 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#41 of 71 in Lexington
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
1.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lexington
Staybridge Suites Lexington
#21 of 71 in Lexington
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky

Property: SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky
Address: 863 S Broadway, Lexington, KY 40504-2601
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Lexington Near The University Of Kentucky Hotel Lexington
Lexington Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing