We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Lexington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lyndon House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Lexington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is a beautifully refurbished house on one of the main roads into Lexington and a short drive into the city centre. It is on the edge of a poorer area so surroundings are not encouraging, but walk through the door and you forget everything outside. The garden is even lovely, with a porch to sit out on in the afternoon/evening to enjoy the peace and a glass or two. Host Anton needed to be summoned from his chores to show us to our room and seemed very quiet and reserved, but don't be put off by that, we may have caught him at a very busy time. However, he was very happy to chat amiably and knowledgeably at breakfast about Lexington and its environs, things to do and places to visit even whilst he is busy preparing and serving his excellent "specials" with all the other normal fare for breakfast (go for the specials, they are really great). The guest house is beautifully done out, clean and comfortable and with several sitting rooms to relax and read or enjoy a coffee in. The room we had (The Belle Brezing room, which looked out over the back garden) was spacious and comfortable, and clean. Drive a few blocks and there are several very good restaurants of all sorts to have dinner in. Ask Anton about the Keeneland Race Course and Kentucky Horse Park (you need to allow a full day to see the latter). We really enjoyed our three day stay here and if we come back to Lexington, this will be the place we will stay!

Room Tip: Every room we peeked into that was not occupied seemed to be as nice as the one we had (The Belle Br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWiltoncox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 159 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Close to Transylvania U and minutes to downtown with plenty of off street parking. Big spacious clean well maintained home with comfortable but not overly soft pillow top mattresses. We enjoyed our stay and it proved an excellent base from which to explore Lexington. The horse tour package was excellent value. Breakfasts were delicious and our hosts were helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeeznBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 18th wedding anniversary attending a concert in downtown Lexington. We decided to try a Bed & Breakfast experience for the first time. The Lyndon House is very convenient to many downtown "hot spots",restaurants etc.. Most importantly was our experience with the Lyndon House. We stayed in the Bluegrass Suite. The room was well decorated with comfortable furnishings. The room was large and inviting with a private bath. We felt like we were at home. Breakfast was delicious and Anton (inn keeper) was extremely gracious.

We will definitely return soon for a relaxing and cozy get away!
Thanks,
David

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I loved staying at the Lyndon House in downtown Lexington, KY. The fully renovated house is in excellent condition and tastefully decorated. One unexpected surprise was the large elevator, which made it so easy to get our luggage up to the second floor. We stayed in the spacious Belle Brezing room, which had a king size bed and en suite bathroom. The breakfast room was lovely, with choices of tables for two or the large dining table. One couple chose to have breakfast at a table outside since it was a beautiful morning. The owner, Anton, was a gracious host. He helped with restaurant recommendations and directions. He cooked a hot breakfast with 3 choices. The banana bread and lemon bread were outstanding. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Belle Brezing room was spacious, with comfortable king size bed and en suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was a very authentic B&B experience with a personal touch. It was evident that our host Anton really enjoys running a B&B and takes great care and pride in providing guests with a good experience. We stayed in the Belle Brezing room, which had a nice view of the backyard and bathroom en suite. The room was very spacious.The breakfast was amazing, with daily specials prepared fresh by the host. The breakfast room was lovely and the tables were beautifully set. A major plus is that it is located within easy walking distance of many good restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yve2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at the Lyndon House B&B in Lexington KY. The house was built in the 1880's and has been fully renovated back to excellent condition. Our room was very comfortable and large. Anton the inn keeper, cooked breakfasts that were a gastronomical delight. He also recommended other eateries in the area that were near by and easy to get to. We did bring our two dogs who were created when in the room alone. The back yard is fenced and there is an easy access to the back ally that leads to a nice older neighborhood to walk your dogs. We had a delightful stay and can highly recommend the B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reisebricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Lyndon House for a long weekend and couldn't have enjoyed it any more than we did!

We stayed in a beautiful room with a "detached" bath and it worked out just fine. The bathroom is right down the hall and is clearly marked for only the occupants of the room we were in.

The breakfast that Anton served was excellent! We had fritatas on our last day and I thought it was delish! The Kitchen is very large and would make Martha Stewart proud. The dining area was also very nicely decorated and had a nice ambiance.

When we had questions the Innkeeper- Anton- was very helpful and we had a nice visit at the nearby Kentucky Horsepark and ate at many nice local restaurants that were within walking distance.

The other guests at the B&B were at least 10-20 years older than us with some nearing their 80's. I would go here again if it's just the two of us, but I would not want to bring children here (don't have any yet, but still) as I don't think they'd appreciate the atmosphere as much, and given the price you don't want to "waste it" on people who want a pool and are fine eating cereal for breakfast.

We had very nice conversations with the other guests during breakfast/brunch and would love to visit again for the food and atmosphere!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.7 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#4 of 71 in Lexington
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#7 of 71 in Lexington
1,124 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
0.7 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#12 of 71 in Lexington
1,210 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyndon House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyndon House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 507 N Broadway, Lexington, KY 40508-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range: $189 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyndon House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Lexington's charming downtown, this historic house is well-appointed with stylish furnishings, wireless Internet, an elevator, and all the comforts of a home-like atmosphere. Each guest room has eleven-foot ceilings, elegant moldings, and is complete with a full bath. Every morning guests awaken to the aroma of fresh coffee and are treated to a delicious breakfast prepared by the Innkeeper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lyndon House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing