We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience in Lexington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lyndon House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Lexington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent experience in Lexington”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Small boutique hotel in a beautiful 1880's home not far from downtown. Anton (owner/manager) was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Bluegrass Suite was spacious, comfortable, and well-appointed -- a bit cold from an unexpected late cold front without heat available at this season, but otherwise excellent. I had seen reviews from last fall that WIFI was a problem, but the secure connection in our room was fast and without issues. Breakfast (prepared by Anton) was excellent. Would definitely recommend this lovely and well-run property.

Room Tip: Be aware when choosing a room that a few are not en suite (private bathroooms but across a public ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    16
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
81
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Upon arriving at the Lyndon House B & B,well after check in hours due to airport delays, we were greeted and welcomed by a young relative of the inn keeper (inn keeper Anton was out celebrating a friends birthday). She proceeded to show us to our room and help us settle in and find a place to eat nearby which we could walk to. She even contacted Anton for help in finding us a place, which turned out to be the Grey Goose just a short walk away. The Grey Goose was really crowded and hopping at 9:30 on a Friday evening but we found one seat at the bar and a very generous young lady from North Carolina gave up her seat so my husband and I could sit together. The pizza was fantastic!

The next morning we finally got to meet Anton at breakfast. He is a friendly, intelligent, knowledgeable man with a touch of flair. He is also a fabulous cook. Every meal we had was delicious, plentiful, and presented elegantly. He had specials each day but would accommodate any requests. There was always hot coffee and tea, several choices of juice and all sorts of bagels, breads, fresh fruit, yogurt and cold cereal if you wanted while Anton was preparing the main meals. Also, in the sun room, coffee, tea, soda and a multitude of snacks were available at any time for only a dollar which really came in handy.

Now, lets get to the gem which is the lovingly restored house. Every room was just beautiful. We had booked this trip through Expedia and were checked into the Lyndon room which was very nice. It has two full beds and a private bath across the hall. After two nights we were upgraded by Anton to the Shaker Suite which had it's own spacious bath. Each traveller is supplied with a fluffy bathrobe for your stay. The beds were very comfortable with extra pillows and blankets if you needed. Our suite also had a separate sitting room with a flat screen TV, a love seat (which was also a pull out bed) and chair.

The common rooms of the house were quite a show place! Each room was tastefully and elegantly decorated. The crown moldings throughout really added to the elegance of the entire house. Although the weather was a little on the chilly side, the gardens in the rear of the house were quite lovely and on a warm night should really be taken advantage of. But because of the cooler temperatures we did not get to take advantage of the rear deck but we suggest you do so if the weather permits.

Previous to what we had read by other travelers, we did not experience any issues with WI-FI whatsoever.

The downtown was only a quick 10 minute walk with many fine restaurants to choose from, as well as shopping. The old Kentucky Theater is a must see! We took a horse farm tour and were picked up right at the Lyndon House. But we had other destinations in mind such as Beautiful Keenland Race Track so we decided to rent a car. We drove out the the Woodford Reserve Distillery and had a wonderful tour of Bourbon distilling! We also just drove around and enjoyed the many beautiful horse farms. Unfortunately, we did not have time to visit Red River Gorge or the Mammoth Caves which you will need a car for so I guess we will just have to come back another time!!!!

In closing I would like to thank Anton and his staff for a wonderful experience. My husband and I like to stay at Bed and Breakfasts and this one is exceptional. When we return to Kentucky we will stay no where else but here!! This place is a real gem!!

PS: We enjoyed meeting Betty and her girls and wish them luck on their future endeavors.

Room Tip: Couple should choose a room with one bed. Street side rooms are a little noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farneighbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dekalb, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This B and B has a good location near downtown. The rooms were very clean and the food was excellent. Overall a wonderful experience. We will come back when we visit Lexington. The host, Anton made an excellent breakfast both days we were there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasO17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our family took advantage of a special offer ($169 for 2 rooms for 2 family members). One set stayed in the Bluegrass Suite, the best room in the house. The other (me) did not intend to be Goldilocks, but moved from the Shaker Suite (spacious but too noisy and dark) to the Belle Breezing (lovely, quiet, big and bright,), before happily settling into the Headley (I love blue & white, and the room was juuust right). Anton very patient with the changes. Many small touches that make a difference on the road, very comfortable beds, and a fine breakfast. We only wished for better coffee and the option of down pillows.

We were there 5 days so had time to know Anton. He's completely dedicated to making this a great B&B. Ours is really a 4.5 star rating to let him know there's some room to grow. He's got the business side down; now he can relax and enjoy the art of hospitality, and Betty's influence is only going to add to it.

Room Tip: Bluegrass #1, Belle Breezing #2 and Headley almost a tie. The rooms with baths across the hall are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoLuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here for the third time and always love coming back. Anton is a super host and the B&B is always a welcoming stop for us on our return trip from Florida. The location is super, the rooms are fantastic and so is the breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicssr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in the Headley Room while visiting extended family in Lexington for a birthday celebration. The room is ideal for a couple -- right off the elevator, spacious with a desk and couch. The owner was attentive and tended to everything we needed. The parking was right behind the house and convenient even during the snowy weather.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Went on Priceline to find a place to stay for the second round of the NCAA tournament. Hyatt was charging 400/night, so I thought I would check out this bed and breakfast. Was very pleased with our whole experience. House is tastefully decorated. Lots of areas to sit and relax. Scrumptious breakfast. Anton was a gracious host. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmills58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#8 of 71 in Lexington
969 reviews
0.7 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#3 of 71 in Lexington
258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#13 of 71 in Lexington
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Campbell House
The Campbell House
#18 of 71 in Lexington
653 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyndon House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyndon House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lyndon House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 507 N Broadway, Lexington, KY 40508-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyndon House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Lexington's charming downtown, this historic house is well-appointed with stylish furnishings, wireless Internet, an elevator, and all the comforts of a home-like atmosphere. Each guest room has eleven-foot ceilings, elegant moldings, and is complete with a full bath. Every morning guests awaken to the aroma of fresh coffee and are treated to a delicious breakfast prepared by the Innkeeper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lyndon House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing