We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a wonderful stop.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lyndon House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Lexington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amherst, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always a wonderful stop.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here for the third time and always love coming back. Anton is a super host and the B&B is always a welcoming stop for us on our return trip from Florida. The location is super, the rooms are fantastic and so is the breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicssr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    15
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
78
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in the Headley Room while visiting extended family in Lexington for a birthday celebration. The room is ideal for a couple -- right off the elevator, spacious with a desk and couch. The owner was attentive and tended to everything we needed. The parking was right behind the house and convenient even during the snowy weather.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Went on Priceline to find a place to stay for the second round of the NCAA tournament. Hyatt was charging 400/night, so I thought I would check out this bed and breakfast. Was very pleased with our whole experience. House is tastefully decorated. Lots of areas to sit and relax. Scrumptious breakfast. Anton was a gracious host. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmills58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned from a week long stay .... been back repeated times and ALWAYS use the Lyndon house as the only place to stay . Great location to downtown and a first class property .
I travel thru out the US on business and the Lyndon house is a great find . Always improving , never been disappointed ! if you read any negative reviews , know that it would be from an impossible person to satisfy .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrvicnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The inn was nice, but…..being woken up by a yippy dog at 4:00AM was not pleasant. Nor was the toilet that began to overflow when flushed in the morning. Upon check in I was told I was emailed a copy of my bill. In fact he was proud to show me how quick his IPAD did this. Two days and three emails and finally a phone call I received a copy.

These are not all huge issues but combined do not add up to a 5 star Inn. The saddest thing is the owner emailed me and requested a review be written for a B&B review which makes me feel he has no clue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leftlanelucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyndonHouse, Owner at Lyndon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I am so sorry the dog next door woke you. Being located in a residential neighborhood has it perks and pitfalls. On one hand the barking scares away bad people and on the other it irritates my guests. I wish I had more control over the noise issue.

New technology can be a challenge. When it works it’s wonderful, when doesn’t it’s annoying. Three out of the four email receipts I sent you bounced back, the fourth went through while we were on the phone.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our guests’ satisfaction is our number one priority, so the next time you visit Lexington please give us another try.

Anton Giovanetto, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Let me begin by saying that this B&B has a lot going for it. Beautiful grounds and rooms, walking distance to downtown (just walk along Broadway and not behind the inn to avoid unsavory neighborhoods), gracious host, solid (though not exceptional) breakfasts, and an overall very pleasant atmosphere. We stayed in the Henry Clay room on the third floor which we liked very much. My main complaint was that the wifi did not work at all during our stay. We mentioned this to the owner, who said he had been having some difficulties with his new wifi provider; however, his solution to our problem did not work, which meant that for our three day stay, we were without wireless access. We had counted on having it, so this was fairly annoying.

Overall, however, I think I would have given this B&B five stars except that we happened to stay during one of the Keeneland weekends, when I gather the prices are higher. Though the website lists the "typical" price of the Henry Clay room as $180/night, we paid $250 that weekend. I do understand that in high-demand times, establishments will charge more. However, I just don't think this was a $250/night stay. It *was* a $180/night stay. The inn did not appear to be full when we were there, which only added to my sense that we were being overcharged.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iddh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyndonHouse, Owner at Lyndon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We are thoroughly modern people. When we travel we expect, no demand, to be connected to the outside world. This is why I bought a 3G device, not every travel location has a dependable WiFi. After you checked out, I learned that our new network’s security program was interfering with my guests getting online, and by changing the security settings my guests can now connect. I am very sorry you could not get online during your visit.

One of the perks to staying in the Henry Clay Room is, since it is on the third floor, it has a secluded feel. Even during our premium seasons, the location of the room can give my guests the feeling of being the only ones in the house.

It was a pleasure having you and your husband stay with us at the Lyndon House and I wish you success in your future travels.

Anton Giovanetto, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Let me begin by saying that I love staying at B & Bs. I would much rather support a small business than stay at a large, chain hotel. I was in Lexington with a group for a bachelorette party this weekend and one of the women booked our stay at the Lyndon House. We knew, since the bride lives in Lexington and several of us either went to school there or had visited many times, that it was in a great location. We thought it would be a great place to serve as our "home base" for the weekend. We are thirtysomething, professional women, and booked 3 rooms at the Lyndon House.

I agree with the other reviewers who say the house is beautiful. It was clean, the grounds were lovely, and they have a very nice patio out back. We were able to bring beer and wine in and sit out to enjoy the beautiful weather. The location was great and very convenient to all of the locations we were planning on going for the weekend. We were able to walk most places, which was great.

I thought most of the breakfast food was very good. Several egg dishes, different kinds of french toasts, and yummy hash browns both mornings. There was also a lot of it! My only complaint here was that the baked goods (muffins and croissants) were from Kroger, and the biscuits were canned. While canned biscuits are fine if you're cooking at home, for the price we paid to stay here, I would have expected something more. Canned biscuits do not taste good after they've been out for a while.

Anton seemed a bit annoyed with our group. We did have some boisterous personalities, but as I mentioned, we are in our thirties and forties, professional, and well traveled. We felt we were very respectful to the grounds and the guests, and never received any complaints. On Friday night, 2 of the girls put some beer in the downstairs refrigerator, not knowing it was off limits. There were also some cupcakes that we had for our group left on the kitchen counter. The next morning, Anton accused us of hosting a shower there without his knowledge and told us we owed him $250 dollars. In no way were we hosting a shower, but had simply brought snacks and beverages for our group. Instead of asking us what our intentions may have been, he was accusatory and rude. We explained to him his thinking was not correct and apologized for the use of the kitchen.

The other very disappointing aspect of our stay was the Henry Clay room. It is on the third floor, which is Anton's personal apartment. I found it odd that he rents a room that shares the same space as his kitchen and living area. The room was unbelievably hot and unable to be cooled. He had opened the windows early in the day, but this does not cool the room when the door is shut. I complained to him about it on our last morning, and he suggested I prop open the door. For the price of $249 a night, I should not have to prop a door open in order to have the room temperature be somewhat bearable. In addition, we would not be comfortable getting dressed and/or sleeping with the door open, when it enters into his personal living space. I understand that it is difficult in an old house to control the temperature perfectly in every room, but our room was truly stifling. We had to sleep on top of the covers both nights to even be slightly comfortable. This should either be reflected in a lower price, or the room shouldn't be rented at all. I know this cannot be the first time he has gotten this complaint.

I visit Lexington often, but I won't be returning to the Lyndon House. My advice would be to avoid it if you are not a couple traveling, and I would definitely avoid the Henry Clay room. We spent a lot of money at this establishment, and it was disappointing that we seemed to be a nuisance to our host.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindsay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyndonHouse, Owner at Lyndon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
I am very sorry your weekend at the Lyndon House did not go as well as you expected. And I regret not having more time to spend with your group – but with a full house and a new housekeeper my time was limited. However, your friends seemed to have a great time – and it’s good to see friends gather together and find joy in their companionship.

It is unfortunate that you were not around when the others arrived to hear my introduction to the house - which included my intentions to turn on the boilers Saturday night because of the cooling weather. The Lyndon House has a commercial HVAC system that functions very well, and when I checked in your roommate the thermostat was set at 70 degrees. So, unless the setting was changed that temperature should have remained stable and quite comfortable. If I had known your room was too warm I would have gladly offered assistance.

The Lexington Health Department restricts the use of the first floor kitchen to the Lyndon House staff. But, if the small refrigerators in the guest rooms are not sufficient for my guests’ needs they are welcome to use the third floor refrigerator. While my private apartment is on the third floor, the third floor lobby/ sitting area and kitchen are public spaces – which your roommate used to arrange gift baskets for the other women in your group.

It was a pleasure having you and your friends stay with us at the Lyndon House and I wish you success in your future travels.

Anton Giovanetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#7 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.7 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#2 of 71 in Lexington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Campbell House
The Campbell House
#17 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#14 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyndon House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyndon House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lyndon House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 507 N Broadway, Lexington, KY 40508-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyndon House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Lexington's charming downtown, this historic house is well-appointed with stylish furnishings, wireless Internet, an elevator, and all the comforts of a home-like atmosphere. Each guest room has eleven-foot ceilings, elegant moldings, and is complete with a full bath. Every morning guests awaken to the aroma of fresh coffee and are treated to a delicious breakfast prepared by the Innkeeper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lyndon House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing