We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windy Corner Market

Windy Corner Market
Ranked #13 of 885 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Amid northern Lexington's legendary horse farms sits Windy Corner Market, a destination for delicious homemade Po-Boy sandwiches, plate breakfasts and dinners, bakery treats and sundries. We are Kentucky Proud, and use local meats and produce in our food!
Atlanta
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This place is a must visit. North of Lexington, the drive there is thru beautiful country, of course many horse farms. The food is locally grown and really good. The market items are also local and prices reasonable. We just happened upon it, but will definitely make it a stop for lunch or dinner the next time we visit Kentucky.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeaneVMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    100
    22
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food and beautiful scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I got a hamburger and fries, can't go wrong with that. While it was rather tasty, the best part of this restaurant is the friendly staff and the beautiful scenery. There are horses in the field next to the restaurant. We sat in the back to eat and took in the beautiful bluegrass sunset while watching the horses. Good food, smiling staff, clean facilities, this is a must do on your next trip to Lexington.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cricketkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food,amazing drive, fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Windy Corner Market is one of my family's favorite places to go. We usually like to go for lunch or breakfast to take advantage of the fun country drive. Luckily, we actually live not far from this place (only 10 mins or so) but the fun drive out in the country driving by all the beautiful horse farms is a wonderful experience, especially in the fall.
The food is always good (I've had salads and sandwiches), the sides are varied and fun, and the desserts are to die for.
I've been once for dinner, and absolutely loved the baja fish tacos. My companion loved the meatloaf.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snommis416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Excellent Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I look forward to eating at this little gem, which specializes in po' boys at lunch. The desserts are to die for. (Exception: molasses/ginger cookies - too strong, not enough sweetness). You can also buy Kentucky products. The decor is also fun, having jockey silks displayed on the walls. I have eaten only lunch there, not breakfast or dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Definitively the highlight of our Tour of the South. We Had dinner at Windy Corner on a Friday night and we had the best time of our vacation. A great BBQ and great atmosphere were exactly what we were dreaming of. A little restaurant in the middle of the countryside, a band playing Bluegrass music and and a fantastic BBQ plate in front of us. We couldn't have asked for more.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paga1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windy Corner Market also viewed

 

Been to Windy Corner Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing