We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"cheap and close & easy access to UK Hospital."”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Lexington South
Ranked #46 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had to come to Lexington for a dental extraction @ UK - College of Dentristry. UK - College of Dentristry was awesome... for people who need dental work, I highly recommend it.
The hotel was (apprently} recently upgrade with new floors and new bedding and possibly new paint, However, the toilet ran off and on all day & night. Before coming here we requested a room close to the elevator, because of the extraction and possible dopiness feeling after surgery. There were lots of rooms closer, I am not sure why we weren't given one of them. Some people have told us we should have complained and let them correct it. We asked in advance and were told our room was the closest but we walked past other room exactly like ours. both days we were there. If I seem a bit irritated, I appologize. But we asked in advance and at the front desk when we checked in. The hotel is on the same road as the hospital and easy to get to. After we got used to the sound of the toilet going on and off, we slept very well. Would I recommend this hotel to anyone, yes. It served our purpose, cheap and close & easy access to UK Hospital.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back receive morning sun... helped us to wake up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hergizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof184, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lexington South, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and leaving your response. We are located very close to all the Lexington hospitals. I do apologize for the toilet troubles you had during your stay. I will let the staff know we need to pay closer attention to this issue. We do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 191 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great stay and Staff was very nice. The rooms were very nice and clean. I spent some time with the front desk person and they were very helpful and made the stay much more enjoyable.
I checked in 10 rooms on a pre check in situation to make the check in process go easier and more smooth than it would have if we had 20-30 people in the lobby at one time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miketetterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof184, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lexington South, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. I am happy the staff was pleasant and I will let them know you were pleased with them. I would like to invite you to stay with us again if you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The room was fine and clean. The price I was quoted that night was $56 plus tax per night in a non smoking queen. I wanted a room with a refrigerator & microwave but they said it would cost at least $5 more per night. In the morning when I went to check out my total it ended up being around $71 for that night. Come to find out I had been charged to have a guest in my room which they did not inform me of when I checked in. And I had been charged $1.50 for the safe in my room. Luckily I read the info on the safe door where you have to ask for that charge to be removed. So if you don't read what you're being charged for you wouldn't know to have it taken off. Not to mention no breakfast. I checked out after 1 night & went to a different hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Licious21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof184, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lexington South, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave you response about your recent stay. I am glad you found your room to be clean. We do have in room safes in all our rooms. If you do not use the safe, we will gladly remove the 1.50 fee for you. Thanks again for staying with us and hope you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

price was good @ 55.00. Stayed 2 nights. Room very clean. This is close to every major mall in Lexington. No breakfast, but plenty of resturants within a mile. Hardwood floors much better than carpet. No amenities such as fridge, coffee pot, iron, hair dryer in our room but available in other rooms. 2 ice machines, 1 out of order,other overworked, had to buy ice. Wise to take a cooler. Free coffee in lobby, free daily lexington newspaper. Motel sold out on our stay but very quiet. 3 levels with elevator. Not much for kids to do at motel but Gattiland is across the street.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof184, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lexington South, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your response about your recent stay at our property. We do have the Fayette Mall located blocks from our property. We do have numerous eating choices located within a mile from us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Rooms are redone, but even that appears to be rather outdated. Their wi-fi service was horrible, and the bathtub was very small. Did not feel like the room was exceptionally clean.
Price quoted on the phone, and what I paid in person were two different prices, higher of course when I got there than what it was on the phone.
There was no resturaunt, no fitness center, etc. The beds were hard. There was no refrigerator nor microwave.
For the price, well, I guess you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a refrigerator and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof184, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lexington South, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for selecting us for your lodging needs. I do apologize for the room rate not matching your quoted rate. If you will please contact the property I will make sure this issue gets resolved. We are a newly renovated property. We do have many eating facilities within walking distance. I hope you choose us if you return to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Older Red Roof that has been totally refurbished with new flooring and furnishings. Totally smoke free, flat screen tv's, microwave and refrigerator and safe in room. wifi was fast and a nice area to work at. Rooms were very nice for the money and I enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: I would choose rooms on third floor next time to lower noise even that little bit extra. Elevator or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof184, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lexington South, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave a response regarding your recent stay. We did just complete a renovation, and we are glad you liked it. We hope you will stay with us again if in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed at Red Roof Inn, Lexington South, for two days in February 2013. The room is nice and appears to have been updated recently, with new flooring and furnishings. It has a nice "office" area in the room, as well as a flat screen t.v., microwave, and refrigerator. Everything worked appropriately. The only downfall is that the rooms are outside-entrance, which leads to more noise. However, considering the hotel was completely full, the noise level was relatively low. I would recommend this hotel for those looking for a cheaper option to a comfortable, quality room. The hotel is quite a distance from the downtown area of Lexington, so plan to drive or call a cab if traveling dowtown.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J-Me-82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof184, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lexington South, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your response. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We did just complete a renovation on every room at our property. We are located about four miles from the downtown area. Thank you for choosing us for your lodging needs and we hope you will stay with us during your next visit to Lexington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
6.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lexington North
Red Roof Inn Lexington North
#38 of 71 in Lexington
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Lexington - Nicholasville Road
6.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
#45 of 71 in Lexington
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#34 of 71 in Lexington
169 reviews
5.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Lexington
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Lexington - Tates Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Lexington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Lexington South

Address: 2651 Wilhite Dr, Lexington, KY 40503-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range: $57 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Lexington South 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 3 miles to the University of Kentucky! Fayette Mall and Central Baptist Hospital are both within 5 minutes; Rupp Arena is 5 miles, and Keeneland Racetrack is 8 miles from this hotel. The Kentucky Horse Park is also nearby to the hotel. Red Roof Lexington South is also surrounded by many, many restaurants within 1/2 mile. The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable seating and a large, flat-screen TV. Red Roof Lexington South features a conference room, free WiFi, a coin laundry facility, flat screen TV's and an elevator. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. There is not a pool at this location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Roof Inn Lexington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Lexington South Hotel Lexington
Lexington Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing