We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Lexington South
Ranked #47 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My two sons and I traveled to Lexington for a basketball tournament. Most of the rest of team stayed at more expensive hotels that were only slightly closer to the facility where the games were held. The Red Roof was close enough and the rates fit nicely into my slim budget (most of my money has to go to feeding two teenage boys). The rooms were small but clean and comfortable. One disappointment was returning to the room at 3 in the afternoon to find it had not yet been cleaned. I found a very nice keeper and she quickly cleaned the room and gave us towels which is all we needed

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dg821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof184, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lexington South, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for choosing us for your lodging needs during the basketball tournament. I am glad that the housekeeping staff was friendly and took care of your needs. I would like to invite you back it you return to Lexington. Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 190 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

There were no bugs in the hotel which was a plus. However, the cleanliness of the rooms was very poor! Even the phone had grime on it. There was stains on the bathroom walls, the vent looked as though it had never been cleaned and it reflected overall poor care.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna60785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof184, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lexington South, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Thank you for bringing you concerns to my attention. I will follow up with your response and you can assure that the issues you had with your stay will be addressed. I would like to invite you back to stay with us so you can see the changes we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This motel has been freshly renovated. Very tastefully done. i like the wood flooring and new mattress. Always thought wood would be best for real cleaning. Great location for business on the south end of town and downtown.
I've stayed here many times. The staff is friendly and helpful, the price is affordable and Starbucks, and Red Lobster are a next door stroll. No curry anywhere to be found.

Room Tip: Back side is away from highway and a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof184, Owner at Red Roof Inn Lexington South, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a response about your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. We did install all new mattresses in every room on property. I want to thank you staying with us and invite you back on your next visit to Lexington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Very nice staff, stayed in room 118 room was small but cozy and clean. Had a flat screen TV, wish there were more channels. Motel is old but has been updated. No Breakfast =( , but has coffee. Would recommend this motel.

Room Tip: If you don't like a small room, pay the extra and go bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StandTall460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof184, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lexington South, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a response. We did just complete a renovation to all of our rooms. We hope you will stay with us again in the future. If you do you may want to ask about our superior king room. It is a larger room with a big desk area and it has the in room coffee pot. Thanks again for choosing us for your lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This Red Roof is on the older side but a nice quiet place to stay the night. Near a Starbucks and Red Lobster if you want to walk somewhere. This hotel is close to the Fayette mall but not within walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mermaid272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof184, Manager at Red Roof Inn Lexington South, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for staying with us. We just completed a renovation and updated all of our rooms. If you return to our area please stop in and see the new rooms. Thanks for leaving feedback regarding your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A family member neglected to reserve us a room at a nicer hotel in Lexington, so we had to scramble to find a place nearby during a UK home football game. We could have paid close to $200 for a room, but we just wanted a place to sleep for one night. Checked the trusty Trip Advisor reviews and selected Red Roof Inn. I had never stayed in one before, but the price was right and it was close to the hotel where the rest of our family was staying. The bonus, we learned after booking, was that Red Roof Inns allow pets at no extra charge. So, we decided to bring our poodle with us. The room was your standard motel. My wife noted that it was not much different than the inside of the Disney All-Star Movies Resort we stayed in just days earlier. Just no Herbie the Lovebug facade. The room was clean. The beds were fairly comfortable, and the flat panel TV worked great. Ladies - be advised, though - there's no hairdryer in the room! There's also no coffee in the room. I learned after walking one block up the street to Starbucks that they had free coffee in the lobby. The staff was reasonably friendly and promised to fix the air conditioner that didn't work in our room. It got just a bit stuffy running the fan, but we weren't miserable for the time of year.

The hotel is located just off the freeway and is convenient to a shopping mall and a variety of other retail places. Keeneland Race track is just a few miles down the road as well. It's a great location, and we enjoyed our stay. Nothing fancy. No frills. Just sleep and be on your way!

Room Tip: They have an elevator, which is helpful for those not able to take the stairs but wanting to be on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BNA2NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here overnight on a girlfriend trip to Keeneland horse track. Chose this hotel because of its location, reasonable price and good reviews on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately we were not as impressed as others have been. Location is great: only a short drive to Keeneland, the U of K campus, downtown Lexington, a shopping center or fast food restaurants. Unfortunately you get what you pay for. Very few ammenities in the room - no hair dryer, no Kleenex, a small packet of shampoo buried in a towel, a bar of soap, no extra towels. Very noisy fan in a very small bathroom. Room was relatively clean although we spotted what looked like mold on a few fixtures in the bathroom. Person at the front desk knew nothing about the downtown area and the only restaurant he could suggest was the one where he ate. A very basic place reminiscent of the old roadside motels. We stay at inexpensive hotels because we don't spend much time in the room - but this hotel lacks the ammenities of even other inexpensive hotels. If you stay here, bring your own personal items such as shampoo, hand lotion, dryer - things provided in most hotels.

Room Tip: Bring your own personal items such as hand lotion, shampoo, kleenex, hair dryer.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Indygogo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof184, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lexington South, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave your response. We do have hair dryers,irons, ironing boards and extra supplies available at the front desk. We are located near many activities and attractions. I thank you again for staying with us and invite you back next time you visit our town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Lexington - Nicholasville Road
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Lexington - Tates Creek
6.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lexington North
Red Roof Inn Lexington North
#38 of 71 in Lexington
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#43 of 71 in Lexington
164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lexington
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Lexington University / Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Lexington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Lexington South

Address: 2651 Wilhite Dr, Lexington, KY 40503-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range: $58 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Lexington South 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 3 miles to the University of Kentucky! Fayette Mall and Central Baptist Hospital are both within 5 minutes; Rupp Arena is 5 miles, and Keeneland Racetrack is 8 miles from this hotel. The Kentucky Horse Park is also nearby to the hotel. Red Roof Lexington South is also surrounded by many, many restaurants within 1/2 mile. The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable seating and a large, flat-screen TV. Red Roof Lexington South features a conference room, free WiFi, a coin laundry facility, flat screen TV's and an elevator. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. There is not a pool at this location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Lexington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Lexington South Hotel Lexington
Lexington Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing