We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is one of the smaller Country Inn and Suites we've stayed in. According to the front desk clerk, it has been recently updated. Our room smelled stale when we first walked in and there was an extremely bright light from the parking light shining through the window. Once we got the air flowing, the staleness was gone. And thank you for very good blackout shades! We had to pin them together with a clothespin to keep the bright light out of the room but it worked. The room was comfortable and very clean. Unfortunately, the noise from the main road was annoying. Maybe a room on the backside of the building would have helped. It eventually quieted down but started back up at daylight. The WII-FI worked great. Breakfast was okay. Round (??) bacon for the round eggs for the round biscuits. Hashbrowns which tasted fine but I wouldn't have known they were hashbrowns without the sign. Nice touch - dried blueberries for the oatmeal! Based on suggestions from other reviews, we picked up a travel coupon book at the welcome center. The coupon was honored so it was a good value for the price.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, try to get a room in the back. Hopefully, it will help.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Headwindtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlene B, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay at our Country Inn and Suites. Your feedback is important to us, as it helps us continue to improve. I first would like to appoligize for the discomfort you had during your stay because of the street lighting, the initial stale smell, and noise from the front side of our hotel.

I have had an opportunity to address your complaints with our staff. We have gone through our rooms to ensure that the curtains are closing properly,that the lighting is not coming through the curtains, as you had experienced. We are glad you found your room clean, but do appoligize for the stale smell. We have addressed this concern with our housekeeping team, to ensure all rooms have been double checked for smell as well. Unfortunately we can not do much about the roadside noise, except to make sure we ask all our guests if they would prefer to be on the back side of the building, as it is more quiet area.

I encourage you to reach out to our hotel during your next visit to Lexington, so that we can wow you the next time. Please feel free to personally contact me, Sharlene Bryant, if you are open to do so. I will make sure your next visit is much more pleasant. Again thank you for your feedback, as it only helps us continue to improve. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 623 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in room 219. We used a travel book coupon to get the room for $74.00. Upon check in we were given two cold bottled waters. And of course their famous cookies were waiting for us too. This hotel is one of the best Country Inn & Suites we have stayed at in the past. The room was very clean. Bed was comfy with nice sheets and lots of pillows. The bathroom was extremely clean and there were lots of thick plush towels. The hotel was quiet and you hardly heard any road noise, which made for a good night's sleep. The breakfast was exceptional. The area was kept very clean. Choices were great: eggs, biscuits, gravy, bacon, sausage, 4 choices of dry cereal, oatmeal, waffle maker to make your own, danish, bagels, toast, yogurt with two fruit toppings (strawberry and cherry), juice, milk, coffee, tea, hot chocolate.

There was a refrigerator and microwave in the room. There is a public computer, an exercise room, a laundry room (one washer and one dryer), an indoor pool. The pool area is very inviting with it's tropical theme. Check in is at 3 p.m. and check out is at noon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countdowntovacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Exceptional staff especially Pam who manages breakfast. Helpful with every aspect of our visit from locating churches to restaurants. Both day and evening staff friendly and courteous. Very clean, great location wonderful breakfast, priced right. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wsenjoyinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have been traveling and staying at other interstate hotels such as Fairfield and Hampton. This is my first time at this brand so not sure if they are all this nice. The manager is doing an exceptional job here. Very welcoming front desk with bottled water supplied at check in. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. The breakfast was very good! None of those microwave breakfast sandwiches. Fruit salad (nice), yogurt, hot oatmeal, waffles, warm soft biscuits and hot gravy with eggs and sausage. The woman managing the breakfast area was a delight. This breakfast was better than most of these grade of hotel breakfasts. I would highly recommend this hotel. Oh, and there is a Starbucks nearby for hitting the road the next day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel very nice. have beef with choice hotels rewards. Points expire and promotion of stay 2 separate nights get 3rd night free you don't get unless you call your booking in.
It was internet site

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My daughter is a freshman at UK. While we were moving her into her dorm, I had the pleasure of staying at this cozy, warm, comfortable, exceptionally CLEAN, Inn. I was so pleasantly surprized to find the staff so polite, housekeepers that REALLY clean the rooms, beds that are so soft and comfortable and a full breakfast included in the price of the room. The pool and hottub were clean and well maintained too!

I especially like the little details in the room that make it so homey, like the wooden vanity in the bathroom, big white fluffy towels, fridge and microwave hidden in cabinet, complimentary coffee and DECAF TEA. (Perfect for late night)

I have already booked my room for my next visit up in Oct to visit my daughter and plan on staying at this hotel each and every time I visit Lexington over the next 4 years!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The staff was friendly. They helped us with place to eat (and there are plenty). We were offered bottles of cold water at check in which was great after traveling all day. Oatmeal raising cookies were yummy too. Room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the hot tub and pool. Pool towel supply was plentiful which we don't always find at hotels. Breakfast selection was large and yummy. Would definitley stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey-Lee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.3 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Lexington
6.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lexington - Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn I-75 Lexington/Hamburg Area
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Lexington
Hyatt Place Lexington
#8 of 71 in Lexington
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington

Address: 2297 Executive Dr, Lexington, KY 40505-4809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lexington
#15 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: $115 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take the first step in ensuring yourself a stress-free Lexington trip by reserving the charming accommodations at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington, KY. Each conveniently designed room and suite comes with free high-speed Internet access and the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet, served each morning. After a busy day of meetings or flying into nearby Blue Grass Airport (LEX), you can unwind with the heated indoor pool, whirlpool tub and fitness center. Whether you're a fan of horse races, a lover of the arts, or a Wildcat searching for a hotel near Rupp Arena, you're sure to love the Country Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Lexington
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Hotel Lexington
Country Inn Lexington
Lexington Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing