We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place for Hospital Patients”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center
Ranked #43 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I've been staying at this hotel since October of 2012, approximately once every 4-6 weeks. I go to Lexington for treatment for a rare form of cancer. I first stayed because they offer hospital rates. I continue to stay there, because they are a great place to stay. I LOVE the beds. When I first started staying there, I had trouble sleeping lying down, but the beds there were so comfy I could lie down to sleep. I recently bought a new bed for my home, and I told my friend my new bed feels like the Best Western beds!! They are that comfy in my book. The rooms are always clean, pretty easy to regulate the heat, especially with the newer heaters being installed. I appreciate having the in room frig to store my medications that have to be refrigerated. We have on occasion had some minor repairs that needed to be made. Response and repair were always immediate. The one time wi-fi connection was a problem, they pleasantly moved us to other rooms. The hotel is quiet, and we feel safe there. Staff is friendly and courteous. I love the breakfast, on stays when I actually get to eat before going to the hospital. (Manager Kim, please tell the cook I love the eggs!) I've been watching a lot of improvements in freshening up the hotel as renovations are in progress. Although the hotel is a bit of a drive to the hospital, we can make the drive to the cancer center with only one turn. My driver and I have discussed if we might want to find something closer to the hospital, but we both agree we like the Best Western too much to think about staying anywhere else.

I'm sorry to put this as a business trip, but health issues are closer to business than any of the other options I had to pick in order to post.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you so much for your continuing business.

I am sorry that your stays with us are not for a joyous occasions, but I am glad that we are able to provide a comfortable place for you to stay before your doctor's appointments.

I am glad to know that you like our beds. Some of our guests find them too hard, but like you, I think they are really comfortable. In fact, I ended up purchasing the same bed for my house.

We look forward to your next visit in a few weeks. Please stay well until then.

Kim Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 445 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

For starters the rooms and hallways were cluttered with remodeling equipment and supplies. Upon going in the hot tub, my son and I broke out in a horrible rash bc the chemicals were off balance. When we mentioned something to the staff, we were told "sorry about that" but no adjustments were made to prevent someone else from this. On the last night on our stay, they're were a group of families drinking in the pool and hottub. They were made to get out of the pool but we're allowed to, not only drink outside of the pool, but even get back in while children were swimming! We were told that as long as they aren't causing a "ruckus" or inside the pool with their drink they weren't breaking the rules! The hotel policy allows them! Apparently the hotel is not only ok to for them to swim while intoxicated but put the other guests (and CHILDREN) knowingly in danger! We were treated like we were overreacting. The front desk guy even mentioned just going back to our room! A room that was drafty and not completely painted. We were constantly waiting on the breakfast to be filled, and they never fixed the orange juice. We won't be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1221aaronamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Please accept my apology for such a terrible experience. It seems like we didn't get anything right.

You and I exchanged a few emails about people drinking in the pool area. As promised, I've already counseled our front desk staff on the hotel policy. Alcoholic beverages are definitely not allowed in our pool area and I am so sorry our staff didn't do a better job at stopping the whole situation. We have a couple of new employees at the front desk, but that's obviously no excuse. You can be assured that I will never let that happen again.

As for the rash from the hot tub, I've reviewed your comments with our maintenance staff and checked our pool log for the past few weeks, and did not find any chemicals being out of balance. I've spoken to our front desk staff and been told that there was no other incident. Either way, your safety is the most important thing, and I will contact our pool company so they can inspect the pool and make sure everything is in working order.

Again, I am so sorry for the inconveniences you experienced. We appreciate your business and make sure corrective actions are taken. I am sure you have no desire to come back, but I do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Kim Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

A very tired conference center. The Best Western sign drew us in off the highway, but the facility was far from what we have come to expect from Best Western. It looked like work was in progress to upgrade the appearance of the place, but they have a long way to go.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Mr. Alan J.,

We try everyday to make sure our guests are completely satisfied with their stays, and I am sorry we were not successful with yours.

As you noticed, we are in the middle of $1 million renovation. Last October, we replaced all the carpet in our public area including the guestroom corridors, breakfast room, Murphy's Bar & Grill, business center, and all of our meeting rooms. By the end of next week, all of our bathrooms will have new tiles. By the end of April, we will be replacing all the drapes and headboards in our guest room. In May, we will be installing granite vanities in all our guest rooms.

By the beginning of this summer, we should be completely finished with the renovation. We are really excited about all these improvements, and we can't wait to show them off. I hope you will come back and stay with us, and let us know what you think!

Kim Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I hope it was just our room, but given the location and overall appearance of the hotel I'm sure the problems are widespread. Our Internet barely worked at all in the room, which was frustrating as my kids were looking forward to getting Internet access to download a few new games for their iPads for the rest of our drive. Even worse was the quality of the outlets in the room. Anything you plugged in—including the room's lamps—would fall right out and barely worked at all. We had one functional outlet that the family had to share (which was tough considering we just wanted to plug everything in and go to sleep.) While watching TV (since the iPads had to all charge and had no working Internet) it suddenly muted on us and we couldn't get the sound to work despite playing with the remote and unmuting/remuting, adjusting volume, etc. It was late at night and we were all ready to sleep so there was no sense calling in help from the front desk. But the primary complaint was how _cold_ the room was. There was a sliding door overlooking the courtyard/pool and it was drafty as hell. We had to max out the heater just so we weren't freezing all night—it was about 36 degrees outside and probably 40 in the room when we arrived. Turning on the heater helped, but I had to set it at 80 just to get the room to about 65 or so. The room was clean enough, but the hotel was across the street from a seedy looking gentleman's club, so we were weary of every surface in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Please accept my apology for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay.

I will personally make sure that all our patio doors are inspected carefully this week and make sure weather strips are in condition. This winter has been one of the coldest I've ever experienced and it seems like none of us could stay warm. Our guest love the rooms with patio doors because they open to the courtyard, but during these cold months, I am sure these rooms stay much colder than the rooms the windows don't open.

I am sorry about the internet being so slow. One of our switches was damaged a couple of weeks ago and it took our IT company over a week to correct the problem. I know that there is nothing greater than technology when it works, but as you experienced, when it stops working, there is nothing more frustrating. I know our front desk staff was as glad to have the internet repaired as our guests. Fingers crossed, we have not had any issues since the switch was replaced and hopefully, it will stay that way.

We do have an ongoing preventive maintenance program. I will review your comments with our maintenance staff so that they can pay a closer attention to loose outlets.

Again, I am so sorry your stay was less than pleasant. I appreciate your feed back and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Kim Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I was impressed with this hotel. The staff from the front desk to the bar was very nice and pleasant to deal with. The indoor pool was also very nice. They are in the process of updating the hotel so it was a little out of sorts but still was nice. The only thing I could complain about was the exterior needs a little attention.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Shorty74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

He knows exactly what he did.

As if no one ever worked at the front desk before.

We had a friend who lives in Lexington with us off and on coming and going from the motel and were so embarrassed that every time we brought him to the hotel while we changed or picked up his car and the few things we needed that we were locked out of our room. When we initially checked in we stood in the hallway for over an hour until nearly six pm (check in at four).

Never complained once. THEN. The room key ceased opening the outside door but still sort of opened our room. SORT OF. THEN we left ONE MORE TIME and the key stopped working AT ALL. So another person was dispatched to the room and worked on our door for an hour and a half. The tv NEVER EVER worked.
The manager did do this on purpose.

How else would he know to greet us at four am unless he DE-PROGRAMMED OUR KEYS AGAIN?

THIS DOOR HAS JUST ABOUT HAD IT HE SAID. Yes.

And you should have put us in a room with an actual working door although between you and I ... WE BOTH KNOW that you did that to us purposefully.

So, that's fine.

You are not a hotel proprietor but a whack job. NO ONE believes that the door was faulty.

NO ONE ELSE had trouble with their keys.

Disgusting. You should be sued.

Room Tip: Just avoid it.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vox I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

I am so sorry for the problem you encountered due to the key not working properly.

I am just mortified that you had so many issues with the key. I know that technology is great when it works, but when it quits, like you experienced, there is nothing more frustrating.

I know that our staff changed the batteries and re-programmed the lock for you. Obviously, this did not resolve the issue. I've contacted the lock company today and I've been told that they will follow up with us in the morning.

Again, I sincerely apologize for the problem you encountered. We strive everyday to prevent problems like yours from occurring, and I am so sorry we failed miserably. I will personally make sure that the problem is resolved before we rent that room to another guest.

Kim Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed one night ,March 12/14. Tremendous checkin experience with a gentleman on front desk - most helpful! Room was terrific- clean, quiet, and well appointed. Our dog was welcomed. Great breakfast and easy checkout. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

I am glad we were able to provide overnight accommodations for you and your furry family member.

I have an eleven pound toy poodle, Bella, who completely rules the house and me. I am glad Guy did a good job checking you in. I am sure you got to meet Roscoe at the front desk too. He comes to work with Guy every night. Roscoe is our personal security guard; we just love him.

We appreciate your business and hope you will come back and stay with us soon. We are installing new granite vanities in all of our bathrooms in May. We can't wait!

Kim Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg
10.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Conference Center North
6.1 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#21 of 71 in Lexington
216 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#34 of 71 in Lexington
164 reviews
6.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center

Address: 5532 Athens Boonesboro Rd, I-75 at Exit 104, Lexington, KY 40509-9491 (Formerly Best Western Lexington Conference Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Lexington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#18 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: $73 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, conveniently located on I-75 and Exit 104, in the "Horse Capital of the World", offers an unbeatable value at an affordable price in the heart of Lexington, KY. Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center is only minutes away from the popular attractions like Keeneland, University of Kentucky, Rupp Arena, and the Kentucky Horse Park. Hamburg Pavilion with over 30 retail outlets and restaurants is only 4 miles away. Adesa, Overnite Transportation, Amazon, St. Joseph and Shriners Hospitals, Ashland Oil, and Kentucky Basketball Academy are less than 15 minutes from the hotel. Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center offers heated indoor pool, outdoor pool, whirlpool, business center, and fitness room. Parking and wireless internet access is always free, and guests will love the complimentary hot breakfast bar each morning included in the room rate. Murphy's Bar & Grill is open daily offering mouthwatering appetizers and some of the finest bourbons in KY. Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center is a perfect place to hold a business meetings, family reunions, or wedding receptions. Whether you are planning a small meeting of 20 people or a large reception for 300 people, our sales office and on-site catering service staff are ready to make your event a complete success. At Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, we understand that your pets are a part of your family. That's why we offer pet friendly accommodations where you and your pets can feel right at home. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lexington Hotel Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing