We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice for a solid stay; better than when it was Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Conference Center South
Ranked #44 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 21, 2014

It had been years since I stayed at this property, and I have to stay it is much better than I remember it being when it was Holiday Inn South. Originally, I believe it was a Sheraton. At any rate, the present owners have made some nice updates and the public areas and guest rooms are quite up-to-date, clean and nice. This property is convenient to I-75, but it pretty much the most out-of-the-way full service hotel for all Lexington has to offer. Still, it is worth checking out and it is a good value. The on-site bar and grill offers a nice quiet atmosphere and basic bar food. The free, hot breakfast is quite good and satisfying. There is also an indoor pool (and a seasonal outdoor pool). This is a solid option for travelers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjl3845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center South, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you for your nice comments!

In 2008, we underwent $1.3 million renovation. We are currently undergoing another renovation. By April, we should have all of our bathroom tiles replaced. I am getting ready to order granite vanities for all of our guest bathrooms and I am hoping we will have them installed by end of May. We will also be replacing the drapery in our rooms; hopefully, we will get the new ones by the end of next month.

We strive everyday to provide the best product possible for our guests, and I am certainly glad you noticed our efforts.

I hope you will come back and stay with us this summer once the renovation is completed. I think you really are going to love all the improvements!

Kim Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 448 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband, my son and I stayed at his hotel while visiting my girlfriend from high school in Lexington. The room was clean and big enough for us to be comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast every morning. There was a lot to choose from on the buffet. Everything tasted good. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center South, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

I hope you had a great time with your high school friend!

I am sure you've exchanged a lot of pictures and got updates on schoolmates you haven't seen in years. I think we get so buy with our lives that we often neglect to follow up with our old friends. I am glad you had a chance to catch up with yours.

I hope your son enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub during your stay. If he like to swim, he will love our outdoor pool, which will be open at the end of May. We are one of very few hotels that have a full size pool that's 9' deep.

Thank you so much for staying with us. I hope you will come back stay with us soon.

Kim Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My children attend Asbury University in Wilmore, KY. Every time I ether take them or visit them I stay at this hotel. This last visit my daughter, who graduated from there last May, said that we need to start planning her brothers graduation now (May 2016). I laughed at how we feel so comfortable here. Thanks for this wonderful place!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center South, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thank you so much for your loyal business.

It's amazing how the time flies. It seems like older I get, faster the time goes by. My daughter started her freshman year at the University of Louisville last fall. I can't believe her first year is almost over.

I hope your daughter is enjoy being in KY As you said, she will be graduating before you know it. I hope you had a safe trip back home. We will see you on your next visit!

Kim Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My wife & I stayed here recently on our way to Florida. The hotel was very convenient, easy in & out. The staff were well informed & helpful. We will stay here again. Good value for the money. Comfortable lounge.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center South, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your comments. We always appreciate any input our guests provide us, and it's always great to know that we are doing our job.

I hope you are having a lot of fun in the sun! It's awfully cold in KY this time of the year. I am envious!

We hope you will come back and stay with us on your way back from Florida. We are going to get new granite vanities in about a month. I am so excited!

Kim Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My boyfriend and I have stayed here several times and always love it. The works are always so friendly and willing to help. The rooms are always clean and fresh, you would never know they allow pets. I love that they are a pet friendly hotel. This year made the second news years eve party we went to their it's great and worth the price. You can party drink and enjoy yourself along with meeting new people. Plus no worries about getting to your room you stay inside the hotel the whole time plus late check out. Oh the breakfast is awesome and the room is really big. They have a huge selection of hot and cold food. I always have a hard time picking what I wanna eat lol The breakfast room is always so inviting. Can't wait to stay again. Ive recommended several people stay here if they are ever in the area. Free WiFi in all rooms.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are less quieter. The back side has less Sun coming so it's nice if you wanna sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center South, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

I am so glad you got to spend the New Year's Eve with us!

We've been hosting a new year's eve party for years now and I think our regular guests, like yourself, know what to expect. I've always been fortunate that we've never had any "incidents" from the party. I hope you've recovered from all that fun and started with a new year happy and relaxed.

We so appreciate your business and hope to have you with us again on this New Year's Eve Party.

Kim Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We only stayed one night, reserved 3 rooms on a trip from Florida to Michigan. We arrived late and left fairly early. This property had a better than average hot breakfast, the only down side was that the eating area is quite small.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCourter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center South, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your comments.

I am sorry you didn't stay long enough to enjoy the indoor pool and hot tub. This time of the year, I think our indoor pool area is the most popular amenity our guests enjoy.

Our breakfast room seats 55 people! I am sorry that there wasn't enough space for you and your family. If you happen to come down during the busiest time, I am sure that you were not able to find 3 tables closely together. Next time you stay with us, ask our Breakfast Bar Attendant to open the Terrace for you. For a large party like yours, it is an ideal spot and you can have a little more privacy.

Again, thank you for your business. I hope you will come back and stay with us on your way back to Florida (I am so envious!).

Kim Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were in town for our annual corporate Christmas Party and were thrilled to find this beautiful upscale hotel, complete with clean, up to date indoor pool and hot, fully functional whirlpool hot-tub, professional, helpful staff, full bar, exercise room, hot buffet breakfast, and free Wi-Fi. The room was spacious and clean and the location was within minutes of our favorite restaurants. This location is perfect for a Lexington stay - Convenient to the interstate, KY horse-park, shopping, dining, and downtown, without any of the downtown traffic and parking hassles, at less than half the downtown cost!! There is absolutely nothing missing from this hotel/spa in Lexington, KY!! We will definitely stay at this location for our future visits to the Lexington, KY area!!

Room Tip: You can select rooms near the pool & spa area or near the front desk, bar area - the Staff will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center South, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

I am glad that your company's Christmas party went well.

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We try everyday to make sure our guests are completely satisfied with their stays, and comments like yours assure us that we are doing the right thing.

When you come back for your Christmas party this year, we will have completed our renovation. We will be replacing the bathroom tiles, install granite vanities, replace drapes, and re-finish the guestroom hallway. We can't wait to show you the improvement!

Kim Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg
10.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Conference Center North
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#23 of 71 in Lexington
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Lexington
6.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Lexington
11.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Lexington
La Quinta Inn Lexington
#50 of 71 in Lexington
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Conference Center South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Conference Center South

Address: 5532 Athens Boonesboro Rd, I-75 at Exit 104, Lexington, KY 40509-9491 (Formerly Best Western Lexington Conference Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Lexington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#18 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: $77 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Conference Center South 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, conveniently located on I-75 and Exit 104, in the "Horse Capital of the World", offers an unbeatable value at an affordable price in the heart of Lexington, KY. Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center is only minutes away from the popular attractions like Keeneland, University of Kentucky, Rupp Arena, and the Kentucky Horse Park. Hamburg Pavilion with over 30 retail outlets and restaurants is only 4 miles away. Adesa, Overnite Transportation, Amazon, St. Joseph and Shriners Hospitals, Ashland Oil, and Kentucky Basketball Academy are less than 15 minutes from the hotel. Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center offers heated indoor pool, outdoor pool, whirlpool, business center, and fitness room. Parking and wireless internet access is always free, and guests will love the complimentary hot breakfast bar each morning included in the room rate. Murphy's Bar & Grill is open daily offering mouthwatering appetizers and some of the finest bourbons in KY. Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center is a perfect place to hold a business meetings, family reunions, or wedding receptions. Whether you are planning a small meeting of 20 people or a large reception for 300 people, our sales office and on-site catering service staff are ready to make your event a complete success. At Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, we understand that your pets are a part of your family. That's why we offer pet friendly accommodations where you and your pets can feel right at home. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel Conference Center South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lexington Hotel Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing