We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The Price Is Right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
GreenLeadersBronze level
Livonia, MI
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Price Is Right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The location is right, too. It is right alongside I-75 on the south side of Lexington. The facility is huge with a full sized outdoor pool plus a large indoor pool and spa. Although there are a couple of fast food places at the same freeway exit and there is a bar & restaurant off the lobby, you must drive several miles closer to downtown before finding other places to eat.

Our room was on the first floor and was very quiet with no noise from adjoining rooms or above. There is a separate vanity area, but that is very small. The room amenities included a refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, flat screen TV and wifi.

The front desk personnel were friendly and accommodating. The breakfast included such hot items as eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, potatoes and waffles in addition to the usual cold items.

Green Features: To save energy, the room appliances are not plugged in and you need to connect the ones you want to use.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. I am glad your stay was a pleasant one.

We will be replacing our vanities this summer with granite. I know that with a limited space, our guests have trouble finding space for personal items. I am going have a shelf built under the sink so there is more space. We should have the new vanities installed by September. We hope you will come back this fall so you can "experience" the new vanity. We are really excited!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    138
    54
    22
    19
See reviews for
137
112
33
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
154 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The trip advisor reviews I read were great, so I booked a non- smoking king room on- line at the Senior rate of $80.00. We left the following day. At the Kentucky welcome center there was a coupon book that promised a room rate of $69.00 + tax and this is the rate I received.

The location of the Best Western is right off the I-75, just on the outskirts of Lexingtown, south east. We checked in early with no problems on Wednesday, May 29, 2013. The room was very nice, on the 1st floor near the back entrance. Quiet place to stay. Nice landscaping all around. A very nice property. I will attempt to attach a few photos I took.

There is an outdoor pool and an indoor pool also. I don't like indoor pools because they tend to be over chlorinated, and the outdoor pool was too COLD so I skipped the swim. Too bad they can't heat the water some, outside.

The free hot breakfast was about what we expected, on average in some of the better places we stay. Available on this day were warm eggs, breakfast potatoes, sausage, biscuits and gravy. Juice, coffee and milk. Two toasters no waiting for toast and bagels. There is a self serve waffle maker which I see kids love but there were no kids on this morning. Probably too early.

There is a place to have an evening meal here on site just off the lobby, but I went into town for lunch and dinner. A few miles up the Athens Road into Lexington are plenty of places for dining. We don't do fast food. Please see my other TripAdvisor reviews for Lexington.

The folks who work here are very professional, helpful and friendly. I wish that every place we stay at were this nice!

Room Tip: The entire first floor is designated no smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fritomann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your business and your nice comments about our hotel!

The coupon rate is not always available, and I am glad we were able to honor the rate for you. Like you found out, it's a great rate.

I completely agree with us about our outdoor pool. The pool has 62,000 gallons of water and it takes half the summer to warm the water. I've seen guests in the water the last couple of weeks and I get goose bumps just thinking about it.

We are one of very few hotels that offer both indoor and outdoor pools in Lexington, and our guests really enjoy using both. Hopefully, you will come back and stay with us again before September before the outdoor pool closes for the season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

In town visiting family. Great indoor pool, very clean, ok breakfast. Great price! The staff was really very friendly and it was located close to everything. It was being painted and updated, but did not interfere with stay and appeared to be even nicer once done. Breakfast could have been filled up a little but they were very busy. Most things were low or empty and we came right in the middle of breakfast hours. Food was good though and it was included in our room charge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sadie32199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and your nice comments about us accepting pets. We've debated in the past whether we should continue accepting pets or not. Comment like yours assure us that we've made the right decision. I have a toy poodle named Bella who rules my life and unless you have a pet, no one can understand how important they are in our lives.

With all the green space around us, I hope your dog got some exercise! I see guest walking their dogs about every morning.

Again, thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Was traveling from Arkansas to Washington DC with a pet and needed a place to stay. Lexington is a little more than 1/2 way. Looked for a pet friendly motel and was very pleasantly surprised with the stay.

When was making the reservation, had two requests and both were met. Suggest if you are traveling with a pet, ask for the first floor and near a door. Makes walking the dog easier.

Upon entering the lobby, was greeted by the person behind the desk. Advised I was traveling with a pet and out came a "dog" gift box. Seems that some of the staff have pets.

Was tried from the 11 hour drive and wanted something to eat but did not want to go out. They have a pub that serves food - somewhat greasy to my taste but filling.

Had a great nights rest. The hotel includes a hot breakfast buffet with the stay. It was not bad, but was a little surprised that you had paper plates, plastic forks and styrofoam cups.

When checking out the bill was ready and was thanked for staying. The staff is very professional.

The reason that they did not get excellent is that the hotel is somewhat dated, but very very clean. You could see patches in the wall and hall and chipped paint touch ups throughout. However, still great value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank travelermir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I am glad we were able to provide accommodations for you and your pet. Comments like your always assure us that we've made the right decision to accept pets. I am glad you liked the "doggie treat". Our guest love the collapsible water bowl with a bottled water and the dog food that comes with the treat. I've had guests tell us that their dogs, who are very finicky eaters, actually liked the food in the treat box.

We will be installing new granite vanities in all of our rooms this winter. I've picked out new carpet for all public areas including the hallway, meeting space, breakfast room, business center, and our Murphy's Bar & Grill. Hopefully, we will have the installation completed by the end of August. I hope you will come back and stay with us this fall and let us know what you think about the new carpet and vanities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Have stayed here many times and I am never disappointed..I always get the King non-smoking and am always overwhelmed with the neatness of the bed. The room is very clean and has all you need in them with refrig, microwave etc...Front desk is more than willing to assist you in any questions or resolutions you have...Great bunch of people working there

Room Tip: Try the room with a whirlpool.....Its HUGE and worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveasnoring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your continued business and your kind words. You are right; I think our best asset is our staff. I don't think you will find nicer people in Lexington. I am really lucky to be working with so many nice people.

Guests like you make us successful and we so appreciate your continued support. If there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable, please let us know. We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbrook, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My recent trip to Lexington found all of my normal haunts booked. I ended up at this Best Western. The building is old, but the decor and appearance is update. My room was very nice and CLEAN, with a desk, small sofa, small refrigerator and microwave, and a nice flat screen TV. There is a small lounge that serves bar food, but if you want something more there are many restaurant choices within 5 miles. The staff is friendly. There are indoor and outdoor pools and a nice little courtyard. My only complaint would be that they don't serve breakfast until 6:30 and when I am in Lexington I need to be at my customers at 7am. I guess though, that is more my problem than the hotels. This is a nice hotel for the price!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAFE1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
I am so glad you got to stay with us! I am sorry that your "normal haunts" were all full, but I am glad we had a room available. I am thrilled that you found our hotel comfortable and that we offer a good value. Hopefully, you will give us another opportunity the next time you are in the area. I am sorry that you didn't get to try our breakfast. Next time you stay with us, let our staff know and we will be happy to open the breakast room around 6 a.m. so you can grab something to eat before you leave. We appreciate your business and hope you wil come back even when your "normal haunts" are not full.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Brother and I were on way from NC to IN on Motorcycles when it started to down pour with rain and lightning. We had hope to reach Florence KY which is 1 hour north of South Lexington. Decision wait out rain for 3-4 more hours (smart phone weather app) or get a room. The gas station we were hanging out at mentioned Best Western had a coupon in the Interstate travel magazine. We called around to the other hotels we could see and with coupon rate was competitive. We then checked reviews on tripadviser which were good. Check in was easy and friendly let us park bikes under awning. Room was nice, clean and good size with mini fridge that was unplugged. Had a sliding door to a nice court yard to bad it was raining. We both made a comment the next morning that the beds & pillows were some of the most comfortable we have experienced in a hotel.

There is not much for food at this exit so we decided to eat in the hotel bar since it we were on motorcycles and it was raining not much choice. Typical bar bar snack food, we got wings which were 6 per order they were ok

Room Tip: ask for a room with sliding door to court yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice comments on our staff and breakfast. I am sorry that the breakfast room was so crowded. Even though we have a really large breakfast room that can sit about 70 people, on weekends, as you experienced, it can get crazy. We do appeciate your patience and understanding. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
10.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center North
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
6.1 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Lexington
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#20 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center

Property: Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center
Address: 5532 Athens Boonesboro Rd, I-75 at Exit 104, Lexington, KY 40509-9491 (Formerly Best Western Lexington Conference Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lexington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#18 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, conveniently located on I-75 and Exit 104, in the "Horse Capital of the World", offers an unbeatable value at an affordable price in the heart of Lexington, KY. Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center is only minutes away from the popular attractions like Keeneland, University of Kentucky, Rupp Arena, and the Kentucky Horse Park. Hamburg Pavilion with over 30 retail outlets and restaurants is only 4 miles away. Adesa, Overnite Transportation, Amazon, St. Joseph and Shriners Hospitals, Ashland Oil, and Kentucky Basketball Academy are less than 15 minutes from the hotel. Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center offers heated indoor pool, outdoor pool, whirlpool, business center, and fitness room. Parking and wireless internet access is always free, and guests will love the complimentary hot breakfast bar each morning included in the room rate. Murphy's Bar & Grill is open daily offering mouthwatering appetizers and some of the finest bourbons in KY. Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center is a perfect place to hold a business meetings, family reunions, or wedding receptions. Whether you are planning a small meeting of 20 people or a large reception for 300 people, our sales office and on-site catering service staff are ready to make your event a complete success. At Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center, we understand that your pets are a part of your family. That's why we offer pet friendly accommodations where you and your pets can feel right at home. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lexington Hotel Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing