We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Conference Center South
Ranked #44 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just picked this place from a hotel ad sheet that had picked up at a rest stop. Were tired of driving in the rain and decided Lexington would be where we'd stay the night. This place was great. Only paid $80 for a fri. night stay. The kids loved the pool and play area after 10 hours in the car. The indoor pool was huge compared to the others we'd stayed at on our vacation. Breakfeast was very good. Rooms weren't anything special but were nothing to complain about. It was clean and we got a good nights sleep before continuing our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iccorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 452 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by this place after a long hard drive in the traffic and rain.
The front desk was very friendly and made us feel welcomed. The pools were open late
until 11, and our kids took full advantage of both the outdoor pool and indoor pool. I enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub !! The rooms weren't anything to brag about but they were clean and very comfortable. The Breakfast was very good with a better than most selection. We'll make it a point to stay here again next time through this part of Kentucky.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuckeyeInGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

From the front desk staff, to the spotless rooms to the excellent breakfast, everything was 1st class about this hotel. I can't believe how anyone could complain about this hotel. I guess some people are impossible to please, but this was the nicest Best Western I have ever stayed at, and I have stayed at many. Everything was a 10....they win the gold medal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballfields20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel is an older structure that has had some recent but not very well done renovations. However, everything works and everything is very clean. The staff really works hard and its evident not only when you check in, but during your stay as well. We had excellent dinner recommendations and staff was great at providing driving directions, additional towels, etc. The rooms looked recently decorated and had very comfortable beds.

Negative issues are: 1) it is a rabbit warren of halls; 2) the whole place smells like chlorine; 3) the windows only open in some rooms (our group had one room where they opended and another where they did not); 4) the renovations look as if they were done by inexperienced workmen; and 5) the place was packed.

Good Things: 1) the free hot breakfast is extensive and hearty; 2) they have indoor and outdoor pools; 3) beds are relatively new; 4) the staff is friendly, informative and patient; 5) the AAA weekend rates are reasonable and 6) it is clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pools, ice machines, and meeting rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I would like to give this hotel a good review, but it is not something I can do and live with myself. We stayed at this hotel for a family reunion. If we had been there for one day it may have been okay, but every day was worse than the one before. Luckily it was a reunion and we didn't have to spend a lot of time in the hotel. We did have a reception, church service and banquet there and you could tell the hotel was not equipped to handle our group. They seem to get by on a skeleton crew.

The hotel's guest rooms are out-dated. I don't remember the last time I saw a power strip with so many things plugged into it. The refrigerators did not keep items cold and the air conditioner stopped working after day one. The maintenance guy tried to fix the air conditioner, but we eventually moved to another room. In that room, the refrigerator did not work and neither did the telephone.

The meeting spaces were old and once again out-dated. The carpet was old and made the whole room smell bad. The tableclothes were worn and some were ripped. The breakfast area was however, and appeared to be remodeled. The breakfast provided was well prepared and the presentation was nice.

I would like to add that I believe this is a pet-friendly hotel. On our last night we witnessed "little gifts" along the baseboards in the hallway. I ran to our room and called the front desk but it was still there in the morning.

Overall, if you are coming in town or stopping by for one night, you may get lucky and get a great room, but I can not guarantee it.

Room Tip: It's a crap shoot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingridfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The nostalgia flowed over me. Back to 1979 when hotel bathrooms were modeled after those at your home: one-person-at-a-time cramped.

Back to when the hotel stay included this incredibly new and amazing TV: cable!!!!

Wasn't that amazing? Wasn't it amazing the first time you watched the weather scroll across the bottom of a 20" TV screen at the Best Western on Route 28, Somewhere Just Off the Interstate, America?

Well, some of you very well did this at the Best Western Lexington Conference Center. While this property has really tried to keep up with the times (nice TV, soft beds, GREAT breakfast), the old gal just ain't what she used to be. Paint is chipping and outside pool railings are rusting in disrepair. The vanity area is made for one.

Maybe it's because the American has increased in girth, or maybe someone finally decided that it would be nice for TWO people to be preparing for the day at the same time, but most modern hotels are expanding the bathroom and vanity area. Not in our room at this Best Western.

And the air conditioner? Well....

The older one gets, the more important the air conditioner in a hotel room becomes. Has anyone noticed this? If this is true, then the older set need to stay clear of this hotel and possibly pneumonia. Our AC, down in the hinterland of "Area 4" blew moist, moldy and substantially non-fragrant.

This is not your father's hotel. This is your Nanny and Paw Paw's.

But to be fair, the property is indeed trying very hard. One must travel a musty trail to the very back of the hotel to a pretty nice indoor activity area that includes a rather nice pool, a hot tub, a pool table, corn hole boards, and other child care candidates (video games).

As mentioned, the scrambled eggs tasted as if they came from a chicken, the sausage links tasted as if they came from a pig, and the orange juice machine didn't spew colored water; it was a really good breakfast and nice breakfast area.

The location is a few miles east of Lexington, Kentucky and about 15 or so miles north of Richmond, Kentucky. A four mile trip north on I-75 takes one to a nice mall area with many, many nice places to eat. (Malone's was expensive but very tasty!!!)

A glance from the parking lot and one notices a "Gentleman's Club" across the street. If that is your cup of tea, then you might lean toward this hotel. But it didn't exactly give the area a "family feel."

All-in-all you might find this hotel a decent place to stay. The AC was the deal-breaker for me (I'm advancing in age!). The competition for the hotel dollar is tough. There are a lot of shiny new places to lay your head. This Best Western is just getting a little long in tooth.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andrew11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We have been going to Lexington for the last four years for a sixteen person "Ryder Cup" golf trip. Geneva has done an excellent job setting the rooms and arranging the tee times. We play five rounds in three days and it always goes off without a hitch. The courses are great and it is an incredible value especially given the service that the Best Western provides. The front desk staff (led by Guy) has always been very accomodating to all of our needs. The hotel is clean and the rooms are quite comfortable. As someone who travels quite a bit and as one of the guys that arranges our annual outing, I would HIGHLY recommend the Best Western and cannot tell you how great their staff is. You cannot beat the value and service especially if you want to play some fine courses in the Blue Grass State.

Al J
Cincinnati, OH

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg
10.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Conference Center North
6.1 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Lexington
9.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Lexington
Candlewood Suites Lexington
#32 of 71 in Lexington
220 reviews
9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lexington North
Red Roof Inn Lexington North
#38 of 71 in Lexington
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Conference Center South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Conference Center South

Address: 5532 Athens Boonesboro Rd, I-75 at Exit 104, Lexington, KY 40509-9491 (Formerly Best Western Lexington Conference Center Hotel)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Lexington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#17 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: $77 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Conference Center South 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Conference Center South Lexington, conveniently located on I-75 and Exit 104, is only minutes away from the popular attractions like Keeneland, University of Kentucky, Rupp Arena, and the Kentucky Horse Park. Adesa, Overnite Transportation, Amazon, St. Joseph and Shriners Hospitals, Ashland Oil, and Kentucky Basketball Academy are less than 15 minutes from the hotel. Clarion Hotel Conference Center South Lexington offers heated indoor pool, outdoor pool, whirlpool, business center, and fitness room. Parking and wireless internet access is always free, and guests will love the daily complimentary hot breakfast bar. Bennigan’s Restaurant is open daily offering favorites you know and love. The hotel is a perfect place to hold a business meetings, family reunions, or wedding receptions. Whether you're planning a small meeting of 20 people or a large reception for 300 people, our sales office and on-site catering service staff are ready to make your event a complete success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Conference Center South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lexington Hotel Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing