We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience and Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center North
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Chicago, IL
1 review
“Great Experience and Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

I travel three weeks a month and stay in hotels over 200 nights a year. I prefer Hampton Inns when they are close to my destination work. On this trip the Clarion was very convenient and looked inviting from the expressway. The price was right at just under $100 and that included a free hot buffet breakfast that was excellent. The staff is top notch and the room amenities were just as good as any Hampton I've ever stayed at. The other surprise was the quality of the food. It is usually nothing to write home about at a mid market hotel but these folks are on their game. I stayed three nights and ate several meals including room service. Everything I had was reasonably priced and great quality. This hotel is a winner...they have earned my business for the long term.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadWarrior517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    206
    98
    66
    46
See reviews for
203
130
35
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

My family and I stayed at Clarion for New Year's Eve. My boys were able to enjoy the fun dome. They swam, played basketball, and videogames. The rooms had be renovated and made for a great night's sleep. My husband and I went for the party where there were plenty of choices in entertainment. We were able to celebrate the ending of 2010 and the beginning of 2011 with family and friends. What a great tradition that will continue for years to come.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

I stayed at this motel in 2008 and wote a favorable review. I returned earlier this month and this motel has really gone downhill. Walls in room ( faux stucco) were stained and pealing. The plastic black-out cutains were filthy. The room had fewer lamps and was too dark, probably to hide the dirt. The tub wasn't clean. Several of my colleagues asked to change rooms, and were moved to rooms that were marginally better. Restaurant had limited menu, food was heavy southern-style. The man at the front desk was cranky and abrupt. The woman at the front desk on the next day was pleasant. The person who scheduled the conference here received a lot of complaints. Never again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thruthegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed in this absolute dump in Lexington. Upon arrival, the TV did not work properly, then the wifi did not work, the wallpaper was stained and peeling, the sink was cracked. I called the front desk three times about the TV and wifi (was given another number to call for the wifi provider) and then called Priceline customer service and the only option I was given was to give up the room and get a refund, no assistance at finding another room. There was a UK basketball game that night and a UK football game the next morning; little chance of finding a room in town. My family has used Priceline exclusively for years - I will never use Priceline again. This hotel should rent by the hour!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexing2nTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

We were traveling from NC to IL and needed to stay overnight. We used the AAA TourBook rating to choose this hotel before reaching Lexington, KY. When we talked to the front desk over the phone, the original rate was $140, but they were willing to give us a discount to $115 if we made the reservation when we got to the hotel.

When we got to the hotel, the outside looked decent, and the front desk gave us another discount to $99 when we made the reservation.

After staying in the room for 1/2 hour, we had to leave because something in the room made me break out in hives. There were cracks in the ceiling and the room looked like it hadn't been thoroughly cleaned in a while. There were black greasy marks on the drapes, some kind of spatter on the ceiling, wallpaper was bubbled up or peeling from the walls. The door to the outside needed a hotel key, but the door didn't close for a full minute, so anyone that was waiting outside could have slipped in unnoticed. The only decent attribute to this room was the memory foam mattress.

I have never checked out of a hotel early because I feel really guilty, but I didn't feel safe or comfortable staying here. I have already filed a complaint with AAA regarding their rating information in their TourBook.

The hotel staff were very accomodating and were willing to give me my money back, but that doesn't compensate for the discusting accomodations.

I wish I had thought to take photos to share with others. I was more concerned about my health and safety. Hope this review helps others.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starunit18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Kentucky
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

Had 3 rooms reserved for 1 night at $169/night. When I made reservations, I asked if check in was 3 pm and check out 4 pm and was told yes. However upon arrival at 3, I was told check in was 4 pm and no rooms available yet. By 4 pm, the lobby had about 50 people in it ALL waiting for rooms. Since we got there at 3 we got all checked in by a little after 4 pm.

As we waited, we walked around and saw 4 housekeeping staff at different times on smoke breaks, talking in the hall etc. Certainly not trying to get room cleaned. 2 of the room were OK but not great. The one Smoking Room was a disaster. No microwave/refrig as advertised. No Temperpedic mattress as promised either. No room service menu and the phone didn't work right. There was burn holes in the carpet and furniture and a cig. butt and candy wrapper behind the night stand! The real shocker was when we shut the door to the room, it was DUCT-TAPED TO SEAL IT! Yep that is what I said.

The only good thing was the food both in room and in restuarant. Also, one of the clerks later told me that CLARION is taking over by next year some time. I wouldn't stay until that happens.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moreheadtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

The Holiday Inn North is an older hotel. We paid $125 per night and felt it was way overpriced especially for being 5 miles from downtown and on the interstate. The rooms were kind of run down with dated furniture and cheap carpet, the televisions were old and did not have a good picture. The bathroom was also old and the amenities were very limited and generic. However they had good towels! I have stayed at some of the newer Holiday Inn’s and they seem to have higher standards than the older one. Not a good hotel for the price, its more of a $75 type hotel max. I wish we would have stayed at a Holiday Inn Express instead, probably would have been better for the money we paid. I am a priority club member so I stay at a lot of IHG properties.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJinSC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lexington North
5.0 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Lexington
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Lexington
La Quinta Inn Lexington
#49 of 71 in Lexington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#22 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
10.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center North

Property: Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center North
Address: 1950 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lexington North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Lexington
#22 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center North 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in North Lexington. KY Horse Park and Rupp Arena are close by attractions. Free airport shuttle available. Free hot breakfast. Free Wi-Fi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing