We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Conference Center North
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Katie, was the most responsible and personable person we have meet on our trip. Thank You for making her available for us to meet. She make our stay very upbeat, even though it was very cold and winter like, not what we wanted to see south of us. It convinced us to stay at other Holiday Inns on the rest of our 2 wk adventure. Thanks again Jack and Marilyn Little Wilton NY 12831 [--]

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlema5245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

679 - 685 of 726 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2010

my husband and i planned a mini getaway for valentines weekend and boy were we surprised with the amount of unsupervised children that were bein dropped off and using the holidrome facility. We never were able to use the hot tub, pool, sauna, basketball court, or arcade area, due to the fact that there were tons of young kids. we literally felt like were we at a middle school dance. ridiculous to see parents droppin their children off to use the amenties that we paid to use. i will never go back, and we hate that as this hotel doest have a wonderful holidome, just not able to use because of the high amount of traffic in and out. we ended up spending our entire time in the room. noise level was also very high, as our room was right next to a stairwell. use with caution. unless u have patience with large groups of teenagers, i recommend u stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindseygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

The kids enjoyed the holidome recreation area. The hotel itself is showing its age. The room was ok, beds were comfortable, but there was some dirt and stains. The exterior doorways were not locked (not safe), also our room door was very hard to open.
The location of hotel was excellent. Did recieve good rate thru Hotwire.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikek01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Nice hotel and great location - access to highways and downtown. They have a lovely pool area including a half basketball court and arcade area which was great for two teenage boys.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabt0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Courteous and comfortable. The memory foam mattress was a nice surprise

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nodhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

I had two rooms booked for one night on 10/3/09. Positives for this hotel are its prime location and free parking. I can't provide information on other features of the hotel because we were not able to stay due to its condition.

Upon initial check-in, we were given two rooms in the southeast wing, near entrance "I". As soon as we walked into the secured side entrance, we detected a minor smell of mold & mildew. However, as soon as we opened the rooms, there was a very strong odor of mold and mildew. Just a couple of steps into the room, and we knew we couldn't sleep in these rooms. In fact, one of the kids started sneezing immediately upon entering the room.

We went back to the front desk, where the clerk admitted this has been a problem in this wing in the past, and then offered us two rooms in a different wing of the hotel, near the side entrance "E". We did not detect any sense of mold or mildew entering this wing, and felt relieved. However, as soon as we entered the rooms on this side of the facility, we were again greeted with a strong of mold and mildew. Just a few steps into the room, and we knew that there was a problem with the facility itself, not just certain rooms in certain wings of the hotel. We were not able stay in these rooms either. As a healthy adult, I was shocked to have four separate rooms with a heavy mold and mildew odor. There is no possible way a kid with allergies would be able to stay at this facility.

Before booking this hotel, I would suggest that you read several reviews, as other reviewers have also mentioned issues with cleanliness concerns.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philphactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

My wife and I and our 4 children, ages 9, 5, 2 ½ & 1 stayed at the Holiday Inn Lexington-North on October 1st for one night. We made reservations the night before for a non-smoking room on the first floor with a mini-fridge and near the arcade and pool areas so the kids wouldn’t have to walk far. I was concerned that since we arrived late (around 9:00 p.m.) that the front desk would not be able to accommodate us, but we got exactly what we requested. The room smelled and looked clean, but the carpet was dirty because I had to use baby wipes to clean the children’s feet prior to them going to bed (I find this to be common at many hotels). The rooms are very large as we had plenty of space to put up a crib. We had an assortment of pillows ranging from soft to hard and the mattresses were very comfortable and we all had a good night’s sleep.
The kids had a blast in the arcade and there were even some games that our 2 year old could play. They also played shuffleboard and ping pong, but the highlight was the heated indoor pool and huge whirlpool. We got the Best 4 Breakfast package where we were allotted $20 for breakfast at the onsite Post Restaurant where kids eat free. Breakfast was excellent and the server even gave me a to-go coffee cup even though I did not request one. This is a great hotel for those traveling with children due to the many amenities and the fact that kids eat free.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgivet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Lexington
Candlewood Suites Lexington
#31 of 71 in Lexington
217 reviews
10.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Conference Center South
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#21 of 71 in Lexington
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
10.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Lexington
La Quinta Inn Lexington
#51 of 71 in Lexington
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Conference Center North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Conference Center North

Address: 1950 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511-1332 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lexington North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Lexington
#22 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: $87 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Conference Center North 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy well-appointed accommodations and exceptional amenities at Clarion Hotel Convention Center North. We’re close to many exciting attractions including Kentucky Horse Park and the University of Kentucky. With a free shuttle to and from Blue Grass Airport and over 13,000 square feet of meeting space, our hotel is ideal for any type of travel. We are also near The Red Mile Race Tracks, Lexington History Center, Mary Todd Lincoln House, American Saddlebred Museum, Jean Farris Winery, Equus Run Vineyards, Georgetown College, Commonwealth Stadium, Fayette Mall and Transylvania University. Enjoy relaxing and exciting on-site recreation, whether you’re traveling with kids or a kid at heart. Our FunDome Recreational Center features an indoor pool, basketball court, video arcade, and plenty of fun for adults too. You’ll never miss a minute of the action with our on-site sports bar. Plus, you can even bring Fido along with you and enjoy our pet-friendly accommodations. All of our spacious guest rooms feature flat-screen TVs, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, microwaves, and refrigerators. Long-distance travelers will appreciate our guest laundry services. Some rooms have sofa sleepers, desks, and activity tables. Get together at the Clarion Hotel Conference Center North. Lexington hotels like ours provide the social atmosphere that makes it the perfect place to meet up with friends family and colleagues for any business or special occasion. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clarion Hotel Conference Center North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing