We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why are you so awesome?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Conference Center North
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel is amazing. Great service, awesome people. This place is huge! It's extremely neat and clean making it pleasant to live in. The pool, hot tub, basketball court, and arcade are all breathtaking. Plus I dined in at the restaurant and the lovely Paula was the waitress. She was beyond kind and we enjoyed her company!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aloha1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful comments. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We take great pride in our hotel and we love to hear when our guest enjoy their stay and all the hotel has to offer.
I believe and I hope that it is obvious that our staff love what they do and that they truly are our best asset. Thank you for acknowledging Paula she is one of a kind.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 718 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

Probably the best thing about this hotel is the people working there, especially my favorite waitress Paula she is the sweetest person ever and if you see her make sure you say hi. Lol the only complaint I have is that the rooms don't have a mini fridge but that's not a big deal.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmonsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. I have to agree that Paula is wonderful but it is always great to hear. We appreicate your comments and for you taking the time to complete a review.
I am proud to announce that we just finished purchasing additional refrigerator and microwave units for our guest rooms. This new addition will put the hotel with over 150 rooms featuring this amenity. Our goal is to have them in all rooms by next year. As well as some other improvements.
Once again thank you for your business.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here recently as we were attending Rolex 3 day event. The room was clean, although it didn't have a fridge or microwave. There is no elevator so if you need to have access, ask for 1st level floor-hauling tons of luggage for 3 floors ain't pretty! We did use the pool and hot tub. The pool size for what it is, is huge, however, it's a little cold, plus there's a lot of chlorene, we didn't stay in it. My daughter and the other kids loved the arcade and basketball court.
The breakfast room was great, lots of staff to attend to the items and tables and lots of choices.
The hotel itself is about 10 minutes away from Kentucky horse park. There are a couple of restaurants nearby but you'll need a car to go other places.
Overall, good hotel- I'd probably go back, I know my daughter does!

Room Tip: for those with lots of luggage/ traveling issues, ask for 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvie.mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel. I appreciate your review and your comments. We use these comments to help improve our hotel and future guests stays. We currently have over 1/3 of our hotel with refrigerator and microwave units with plans to add additional units this month. So thank you for the comment. It helps when guests let us know what they want so we can prepare to make improvements.

Once again thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

If you are planning a vacation in the Lexington, KY area, the Clarion is a great location to stay. It is centrally located and within 15 minutes of most attractions in the area. Here is an itinerary of our trip to be used for suggestions on what to do:

We arrived Monday afternoon. Upon arrival, a friendly, accommodating staff greeted us. The hotel restaurant, Cortland’s, served a delicious dinner along with great service thanks to our server, Larry. We enjoyed traditional Kentucky fare including hot brown and fried green tomatoes. That evening, we took a cab to the Kentucky Theatre Wood Songs and saw “Old-Time Radio Hour.” Very enjoyable!

On Tuesday, we enjoyed a hot breakfast buffet at the hotel. After, we were picked up in the lobby for a horse farm tour. Our driver was great! On Tuesday afternoon, we went downtown for lunch. Later, we went on the Mary Todd Lincoln museum and home tour. The last stop of the trip was to the Alltech Brewery and Distillery. That evening we ate at the hotel’s sports bar and grill, The Sports Page. The bar boasted a fun atmosphere with good food.

We checked out on Wednesday morning and ventured out to the Bourbon Trail, another great stop. Overall, this hotel was great place to rest in between destinations. The service was excellent, and the room was spacious and clean. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay somewhere friendly, inviting, and close to the many area attractions.

Room Tip: Choose rooms close to lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We pride ourselves on providing the best possible experience to all of our guests and I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are glad that you choose our hotel and we can't wait to see you again soon.

Thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This used to be a nice Holiday Inn but gets worse every year. You will be disappointed if you're expecting a 3 star quality hotel. This is dingy, run down and just way past its prime. It has not been updated in a long time.

If you're willing to stay in a 2 star hotel, then this is a great choice compared to some other 2 stars.

But I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

I'm apologize that you were unsatisfied with our hotel. While we are an older property we pride ourselves on offering a good clean room, with great amenities, at a good value. I would love to speak to you directly to find out the exact issues as well as the room number you stayed in so we can be sure to address and correct the problems. We are currently upgrading the hotel and have over 1/2 of the hotel complete with new carpet, wall decor, etc. I assure you our goal is to improve the hotel and offer the best value possible.
Once again I apologize and look forward to speaking with soon.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is an older hotel, which may have been a convention center or a different chain at one time. It is located very close to I-75. We used the coupon from the motel book and this made it reasonable since it included a full buffet breakfast which had good food and friendly staff. We could see that the restaurant would be very busy if they had many guests. We were there on a Sunday night and it is unlikely that more than 2 dozen rooms were rented. We were in room 558 which is a long walk from the indoor pool area and the breakfast room. The room was clean, but the furniture and carpet are old. For the price we paid, we would probabily return if in the Lexington area again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel we appreciate your business and comments. Our goal is to provide a good clean room at a good value. All rooms do include the free breakfast buffet and access to all of our amenties. We are currently in the process of upgrading our rooms. The room you were in has not been completed but is scheduled to receive new carpet this year.
Once again we appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have no complaints. Staff was excellent, amenities are awesome! The only complaint I have is the carpet....Room was very clean, but the carpet could be replaced! Nothing I couldn't live with though, since I am going back 2 weeks later with my son! Thumbs up from me!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing Clarion Hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and we can't wait to see you again.

Once again thank you,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
10.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Conference Center South
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Lexington
Candlewood Suites Lexington
#33 of 71 in Lexington
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lexington North
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#22 of 71 in Lexington
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Conference Center North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Conference Center North

Address: 1950 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511-1332 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lexington North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lexington
#18 Business Hotel in Lexington
#22 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: $82 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Conference Center North 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy well-appointed accommodations and exceptional amenities at Clarion Hotel Convention Center North. We’re close to many exciting attractions including Kentucky Horse Park and the University of Kentucky. With a free shuttle to and from Blue Grass Airport and over 13,000 square feet of meeting space, our hotel is ideal for any type of travel. We are also near The Red Mile Race Tracks, Lexington History Center, Mary Todd Lincoln House, American Saddlebred Museum, Jean Farris Winery, Equus Run Vineyards, Georgetown College, Commonwealth Stadium, Fayette Mall and Transylvania University. Enjoy relaxing and exciting on-site recreation, whether you’re traveling with kids or a kid at heart. Our FunDome Recreational Center features an indoor pool, basketball court, video arcade, and plenty of fun for adults too. You’ll never miss a minute of the action with our on-site sports bar. Plus, you can even bring Fido along with you and enjoy our pet-friendly accommodations. All of our spacious guest rooms feature flat-screen TVs, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, microwaves, and refrigerators. Long-distance travelers will appreciate our guest laundry services. Some rooms have sofa sleepers, desks, and activity tables. Get together at the Clarion Hotel Conference Center North. Lexington hotels like ours provide the social atmosphere that makes it the perfect place to meet up with friends family and colleagues for any business or special occasion. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Conference Center North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing