We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnite stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Conference Center North
Ranked #22 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
ont can
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“overnite stay”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

this was our stopover going home, checkin was a breeze, the room was okay a little dated but clean, we were next to the doorway to the main hall and it was a bit noisy at first i didn't want to bother trying to change rooms even tho' there was a note in the room if we weren't happy that they would remedy the situation, it did quiet down later on. the beds are very comfy. we went to the restaurant for supper and it was great our server Paula was a gem , pleasant, helpful, prompt she convinced us to try some real Kentucky comfort foods such as a stew and a skillet dish which were delicious, breakfast was included and quite good , we will try to make this our stopover going down and coming home next year

Room Tip: stay away from the rooms by the hallway to the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Clarion Hotel in Lexington. I am so happy that Paula took such good care of you and we would love to be your "stopover" hotel on your way home and back. We are currently renovating our rooms so be sure to ask for an updated room during your next visit.

We can't wait to see again soon.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    222
    112
    66
    46
See reviews for
220
135
39
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pikeville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Clarion has been around a long time. It was previously the Holiday Inn North, and in its day was a company-owned non-franchised HI that was a cut above the chain's average roadside locations. It's a sprawling property with nearly 300 rooms, but it's definitely showing its age. This is easily one of Lexington's bigger hotels and it still does a booming convention and meeting trade. The staff is very friendly and the property is pleasant, but updates need to be made. The food and beverage underwhelms, but the wait staff is very accommodating. The original HoliDome is still fully functional here and maintained. The property is only two stories but has several wings and some exterior corridor rooms, if this is an issue for you, make sure you ask for an interior room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjl3845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel. We appreciate your business and your valuable comments. Since this property was purchased and changed brands in 2010 we have undergone renovation in several areas and we have additional plans for the coming year. We hope that you will come back to see our wonderful staff again and again to see and experience the changes we are making for you.

Once again thank you for comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We understand that this hotel has been under new ownership only for a couple of years. It is an older hotel, but very clean and comfortable, with pleasant and helpful staff. The location is very close to the interstate with a gas station right next door. The complimentary hot breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed our evening meal at the restaurant as well. Larry was very accomodating. There is also a pub/sports bar in the facility for more casual dining. We will definitely use this hotel again, especially if we have our grandchildren with us. There is a huge pool and game room to entertain them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Snowbirds,

Thank you so much for choosing Clarion Hotel and for your wonderful comments. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we are anxiously awaiting your return.

Thank you,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have stayed several times at this Clarion Hotel and especially love their pet friendly attitude (they even have a special sign at the front desk welcoming pets). The free hot buffet breakfast is probably the best we've ever had! The Clarion Hotel is very conveniently located right off the interstate, but very quiet as well. Love the memory foam bedding; will definitely be back again soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldivaaficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for being a repeat guest. We are happy to accept your pet and really appreciate your glowing comments. The Tempurpedic mattresses are a great asset and we are proud to offer them as well as Serta mattress options.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Thank you,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very close to the interstate with an easy on and off. The room was clean and the staff was helpful. The bar had a great selection of bourbon and also an ongoing poker crowd and action for those so inclined. The attached restaurant was very convenient with decent food. The complimentary hot breakfast is one of the best I have ever enjoyed. Got a great rate with a coupon we picked up at the Visitor Center.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we can't wait to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Clarion for their New Years Eve bash. We had a wonderful time! What an awesome party, there was different types of music in different areas, for everyone. The room was very nice. The bed was super comfortable!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catiebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Clarion Hotel. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed New Years Eve. We hope to see you again on New Years or even earlier.

Thanks again for staying with us and for your wonderful comments.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Kentucky, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Had a great time for New Year's Eve! The kids played in the "Fun Dome" which is huge while we played in the Ball Room. Older hotel but very nice. Friendly staff and the bed was very comfortable! Looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for spending your New Years Eve with us. I am so glad to hear that you had a good time. The hotel prides itself on having something for everyone and New Years Eve is no exception.

Once again thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel and we can't wait to see you again.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
5.0 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Lexington
10.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lexington North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Lexington
La Quinta Inn Lexington
#50 of 71 in Lexington
410 reviews
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Lexington
Candlewood Suites Lexington
#34 of 71 in Lexington
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Conference Center North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Conference Center North

Property: Clarion Hotel Conference Center North
Address: 1950 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511-1332 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lexington North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Lexington
#22 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Conference Center North 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy well-appointed accommodations and exceptional amenities at Clarion Hotel Convention Center North. We’re close to many exciting attractions including Kentucky Horse Park and the University of Kentucky. With a free shuttle to and from Blue Grass Airport and over 13,000 square feet of meeting space, our hotel is ideal for any type of travel. We are also near The Red Mile Race Tracks, Lexington History Center, Mary Todd Lincoln House, American Saddlebred Museum, Jean Farris Winery, Equus Run Vineyards, Georgetown College, Commonwealth Stadium, Fayette Mall and Transylvania University. Enjoy relaxing and exciting on-site recreation, whether you’re traveling with kids or a kid at heart. Our FunDome Recreational Center features an indoor pool, basketball court, video arcade, and plenty of fun for adults too. You’ll never miss a minute of the action with our on-site sports bar. Plus, you can even bring Fido along with you and enjoy our pet-friendly accommodations. All of our spacious guest rooms feature flat-screen TVs, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, microwaves, and refrigerators. Long-distance travelers will appreciate our guest laundry services. Some rooms have sofa sleepers, desks, and activity tables. Get together at the Clarion Hotel Conference Center North. Lexington hotels like ours provide the social atmosphere that makes it the perfect place to meet up with friends family and colleagues for any business or special occasion. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Conference Center North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing