We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Essence of the Bluegrass
Ranked #3 of 6 Lexington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my close friend Melissa, shared 1 of the most elegant evenings together in this very luxurious bed and breakfast. I would recommend to any and alto any and all of my friend. The envirement was very peaceful and allowed us the privacy that we were looking for.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimmieSturgill72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Essence of the Bluegrass
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 128 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our trip to this B&B was the best I've ever experienced! Jerry and Christy were so kind and gracious to us. They were considerate to our every need. They allowed us to arrive at a later time and leave at a later time as well. The house is immaculate! At this time of the year it was decorated for the Holidays. So neat and clean, and with elegant taste. Our room was the Keeneland Suite. I highly reccommend reserving this suite, and pay the extra cost, because it's worth the money! The jaccuzi tub was awesome! Ladies and men's separate sinks, with a vanity. The lighting in the bathroom was outstanding! The shower was huge! There is a massage table in the side room off of the bathroom, with a huge closet! We especially loved the sitting area near the fireplace! The ceiling fan moved the warm air around the room nicely. The house has surround sound music in each room through the intercom system. The pillow top mattress on the king bed was such a plus! Thank you again, Jerry and Christy for letting us stay in your beautiful home!
-Also, petting the horses out back was so much fun!

Jim and Melissa
11/11/12-11/12/12

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mas12271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a gorgeous house with plenty of room on a beautiful horse farm. My family stayed here for two nights while enjoying Keeneland and the Kentucky Horse Park. My husband,our two children, and I absolutely loved the house, the farm, and the entire experience. Jerry and Christie are amazing hosts and went out of their way to make my husband and me AND our children feel right at home. Our eight year old daughter got to pet and feed the horses, and our ten year old son was offered baseball gloves and golf clubs to play in the yard. We stayed in the Keeneland Suite which offered more than enough room for all of us, as the room is separated by a fireplace. We will definitely be coming back soon and have and will recommend it to others.

Room Tip: The suite is worth the upgrade
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The4Suttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

It was an awesome place. We loved the location, the house, the owners and the area. We would definitely go back and stay there again.
The owners were very friendly and personable. We enjoyed spending time with them.
I would recommend Essence of Bluegrass to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phatpratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

A beautiful, clean, country home shared with guests. We had a lovely, relaxed stay for two nights. Jerry and Christie made us feel very comfortable, like we were staying with family. Their grounds are lovely, 10 acres, four horses, two dogs, all surrounded by elaborate horse farm estates. We sipped wine in their gazebo while watching Jerry put one of his steeds through an easy workout. We strolled the neighborhood and met a friendly groom, happy to be working with 20 horses next door. Christie was accomodating and friendly, she asked for our breakfast preferences that were deliciously served with fresh fruit and pastries. We stayed in the superb and spacious Keeneland Suite. It is a quick, easy drive to everything Lexington.

Room Tip: You will love the Keeneland Suite. It is huge with an even larger over the top bath.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I had never stayed at a B&B before but was looking for a country retreat. Essence of the Bluegrass seemed upscale yet casual AND would welcome my dog. Suffice to say, I'm not sure whether my dog or I had the better time! The hosts are welcoming and most helpful but not intrusive. They truly make guests feel like company; not patrons. The house and property are gorgeous and the atmosphere easy-going. Just the right mix for a relaxing stay. I would choose these accommodations over a hotel any day!

Room Tip: The suites upstairs are lovely; bright, sunny & spacious. That said, I preferred the downstairs...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TolanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We enjoy our stay, Jerry and his son made us feel at home. Our two Collies got along very well with the resident dogs and horses. Home is twenty minutes away from most tourist attractions and restaurants. If you are looking for an escape from hustle and bustle, you will find it here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
4.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
7.7 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#4 of 71 in Lexington
356 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
10.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
7.1 mi away
Lyndon House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence of the Bluegrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence of the Bluegrass

Address: 4343 Mount Horeb Pike, Lexington, KY 40511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range: $149 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Essence of the Bluegrass, located in Lexington, KY provides the perfect accommodations for your visit to the bluegrass region of Central Kentucky. Enjoy the height of sophisticated comfort and friendly service as you lounge in the main family room, with its 25 foot ceilings and stone fireplace, or rest in serene privacy in one of four spacious rooms. Five minutes away from the The Kentucky Horse Park and fifteen from downtown Lexington and Keeneland, your stay will be the best of the Bluegrass. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing