We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Break for Kids or Adults”

The Aviation Museum of Kentucky
Ranked #19 of 117 things to do in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Evansville, IN
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Break for Kids or Adults”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stopped in on a Sunday and practically had the whole hangar to ourself. My daughter loved watching the aircraft coming and going from the terminals around the museum. At 3 years old, she was a bit overwhelmed by the size of the military aircraft in the first hangar and seemed to be freaked out by the mannequins spread around the museum too. Once she got warmed up though, she enjoyed climbing into the helicopter and Cessna airplane that are open, allowing you to play with the controls. The volunteers were very friendly and knowledgeable. There isn't a ton to see and do for little kids, but for the price this makes for a nice 30-45 minute distraction.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank knightrider98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    34
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent educational tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We went in early June 2012 and we all enjoyed our visit. They have a nice collection of planes and equipment and the employees provide lots of relevant information about the exhibits. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MAMCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

I really liked this place and the workers and some of the nicest people in the world. I love their knowledge and love of aviation.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank spanky628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if you are interested in aviation.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

We went to the Aviation Museum of Kentucky for a special event this past weekend. Fifi, part of the Commemorative Air Force and the world's only remaining flight-worthy B-29 Super Fortress, made a visit to the museum.

Apart from this attraction we toured the remainder of the museum. My previous experience with aviation museums includes multiple visits to the National Air and Space Museum in Washington DC, the Naval Aviation Museum in Pensacola, and the USS Yorktown in Charleston Harbor. AMK is not in their class. That being said it still has many, many interesting exhibits and approximately two dozen planes, including an AH-1 Cobra, an F-4 Phantom, an A-4 Skyhawk, and an F-14 Tomcat among many others in its two main hangers. I especially like the exhibits on the 8th Air Force and the Tuskegee Airmen.

We went with our four kids ages, 6 -14. We stayed for about two hours. My ten-year-old son could have stayed for another hour or two; my 14 year old daughter was ready to leave after an hour. My six-year-old daughter would have stayed the cockpit of the OH-58A Kiowa helo for days if we had let her.

Overall, it's a well done fun museum if you have anything above a basic interest in aviation. It's probably not worth a repeat visit, but it's definitely worth an initial visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank JonD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
166 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“great museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had a wonderful docent named Rick who spent a lot of time with us and told us all about the items in the museum. The kids got to sit in some of the planes and helicopters. They even got to move the controls to find out how they work. Don't miss the hall of fame at the end of the building. This is a great museum tucked away at the airport. The staff was really nice and both our docent and another one we met named Carl were incredibly knowledgeable.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank explorerfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Aviation Museum of Kentucky also viewed

 

Been to The Aviation Museum of Kentucky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing