We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful supper!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbia Steak House

Columbia Steak House
Ranked #254 of 885 Restaurants in Lexington
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Phone number is: 859-253-3135. It is the original restaurant before the Columbia Steak Express, which you have listed.
Blairsville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful supper!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My friends and I always make a trip here whenever we come to Lexington. I have the Kentucky Brown which is one of the best things on menu if you like bacon and cheese. My friends usually order the Special which I have had and it was a wonderful steak cooked to perfection. This place is in the middle of Lexington back in a little corner of the city. It is a wonderful place with perfect service. Will be going back in January to eat there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    22
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
164 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lunch was great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We ate lunch at the Richmond Road location. It had been a long time since I have eaten at Columbia's. We decided on lunch. That was the best decision I have made for lunch. It was a better value than Applebee's.
I had the BLT and it was perfect. The bacon was crisp and the tomatoes were great. I also had a salad. My husband had the grilled ham and cheese sandwich with a salad. The salads were perfect and fresh. We really enjoyed our meal and I can't wait to go back. The waitress was right there when we needed her. She was friendly and helpful. I can't say enough about this restaurant. If you are from out of town you need to make sure you eat at Columbia's. There are 2 locations.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stick to meat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place until last night. Always had a beef with Diego salad and potato. Decided to try fish that could be cooked several ways, I chose pan seared, but not dried out. Beets and corn pudding were my two sides. The fish was white and raw in the middle. The pudding was dry and the beets had no flavor as if they came right out of a can. There was no desert of the day so I ordered the chocolate pie that came with ice crystals (at no extra charge). I ordered a dirty martini which I had to send back because they forgot the olive juice. I will go back to my usual. This Columbia experience is not typical: stick to the beef!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Miranda6970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, england
Level Contributor
172 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Rough and ready - but delicious steak.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We popped in here without reservations on Saturday evening. A very efficient hostess had us seated in10 minutes. Whilst the meal overall had its drawbacks - not least supersized baked potatos and salads - the steak centrepiece was cooked precisely as ordered and was full of flavour. And ll at a very reasonable price.The ambience was very noisy - not a place for romance!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank taxdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

First time I went there it was great. second time I was disappointed. The meat tasted gamey to me .Fried mushrooms are excellent!!!!!!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank lizzy1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Columbia Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing