We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Bistro food”

The Tulip Bistro + Bar
Ranked #191 of 921 Restaurants in Lexington
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cooper
Description: The Tulip Bistro + Bar is a small treasure in the Chevy Chase Neighborhood. Chef Spencer van den Dool has worked in fantastic local restaurants such as Pacific Pearl and Emmett"s before going to Holland and working at a 2 michelin star restaurant called De Kastanjehof, where he fine tuned his French-American cuisine. The menu offers such things as Mussels, Fish and Chips to Shrimp & Linguine & Short Ribs. There is something for everyone! Our wine list covers most of the world, while our martini list features old and new favorites, such as Tulip Margatini, Blue Goose and The Grand Cosmo.The Tulip will impress you and have you making a reservation for your next visit.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Bistro food”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Service was ok however they us poor quality Brie cheese for their appetizer and twice it came out cold in the center. The Balsamic drizzle needs some sweetness added, it was just bitter but looked nice. Entree of chicken roulade was great.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tpmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Have a quiet and tastefull evening”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Unpretentious, well served, and tastefull food. Mussles are excellent, a must. Service is quick and fast, the only draw back is the hostess, she should not be on her phone texting in plane view of customers, but that is me, may be you do not mind. Worth the time

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great bistro in the heart of Lexington”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

This unassuming restaurant/bistro in the Chevy Chase area of Lexington has it all. Great ambiance, a terrific food selection of continental/french bistro fare and a very nice wine list. The appetizers are hard to choose, since they all sound and look great. We started with the Brie wrapped in phylo and the crab dip. The Brie was a little disappointing due to a lack of strong flavor, but some may care for it that way. The dip is a must try. Our party also tried for entrees the lamb shank, the shrimp pasta, the steak frites and the fish special. All were perfectly prepared and garnished with just the right amount of veggies and starches. Leave room for the dessert. The beignets are the best I've had in a long time, matched with the dual creme brûlée and the Bailey's milkshake. Dinner for 5 with a bottle of nice merlot was about $200 plus tip. There are also bistro choices under $10, and we will definitely try the croque monsieur on a return lunch.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Otodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

My husband and I went for a nice night out and to try something new. We were impressed. I highly recommend the mussels to start (you get a huge bowl of them and they are perfect). The wine was great and our dinners were delicious (steak frites for me and lamb shank for him).
Will definitely visit again soon,

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunThruYellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTLAND,OR
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“WORTH ONE TRIP BUT NOT AN "A" LIST SPOT”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

A 40th anniversary dinner was our mission and the reviews had been pretty good yet we knew no one who had been to this relatively new establishment. In a non-descript area of Chevy Chase, this small and very loud bistro is worth at least one shot. I would not plan another anniversary dinner but would stop by for drinks and an appe at the end of the day...it is more that kind of space. They did not even acknowledge our anniversary event...we were just another senior couple they slotted into a booth off the bar. Missed opportunity to grab us as returning customers. Hostess was dramatically unimaginative and amazingly non-guest-centric. How can your hire someone to front your shop who is bored her job? There was a manger running around...sleeves rolled up looking busy, but never stopped at tables to welcome guests. Why should I come back if you don't give a flip about my first visit...and you knew it was because of our on-line reservation! Duh!

Newton was a very efficient server with a constant chorus of "Of course" when asked about anything. I was charmed when I asked about the difference between a cup and bowl of soup (you know the game they play)...he trotted off to the kitchen and brought back both containers! I got the bowl of She-Crab for $9.

As to the food...seafood linguine...clams and shrimp...clams were outstanding yet the shrimp was so over-cooked. Steak frites...12 oz.strip steak with bordelaise sauce was very good. All dishes delivered fresh and hot...important touch.

She-crab soup was very good and the addition of the roe was a touch I had not seen. Still, this isn't Pawley's Island so the soup can only rank second, at best. But they don't offer sherry which was a surprise.

Cocktails were ample pours of Woodford Reserve and at $7 were values. The ice was very good...it is important folks. Wine was another matter. Nice list...several modest priced labels and the same number of high end, very few mid range. But the tester was by the glass. Their inventory was so drained...we asked for two choices and poor Newton could only offer that the Keeneland crowd had wiped them out. Never something you want to say to a customer. Prices were your typical 100% mark-up over the Liquor Barn. Choices were Hahn and the pours were fine and the glasses nice and clean.

Evening was $123 for cocktails, appetizer, soup, entrees and wine with tax and tip. Unfortunately, if we had gone to the Fish Bone chain we would have had a better experience. The best I can do is give the Tulip a 7. But I know they can do better with just a little effort.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MAXFLITE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tulip Bistro + Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Tulip Bistro + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing