We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bleu Plate Tours - CLOSED
Save
Review Highlights
Great way to get to know Lexington

We spent a lovely afternoon walking around Lexington and tasting foods and drinks for some of the... read more

Reviewed October 10, 2016
usharold
,
Grayslake, Illinois
Blue Plate Tour

We had the best time on this culinary tour of downtown Lexington. It was fun trying food from these... read more

Reviewed October 8, 2016
J B
via mobile
Read all 70 reviews
  
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
65
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
5
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 70 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2016

We spent a lovely afternoon walking around Lexington and tasting foods and drinks for some of the local restaurants. We also learned about some of the other restaurants so we had ourselves a list of places to return to before we left town. Our tour guide was delightful, and told us many interesting things about the history of the city of Lexington as well. It was a wonderful experience.

Thank usharold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, Owner at Bleu Plate Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2016

Thank you for the kind review! We are delighted that you had a great time and so enjoyed your company. Best wishes and we hope you can join us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

We had the best time on this culinary tour of downtown Lexington. It was fun trying food from these great Lexington establishments and learning some history too! Tamara was a great tour guide! Loved it!!

Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BleuPlateTours, Owner at Bleu Plate Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2016

So enjoyed having you on the tour! Thank you for your kind words and we hope you can join us again for another Bleu Plate Tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2016

We LOVED our food tour in downtown Lexington. Both of our guides were incredibly knowledgeable of not only the food scene downtown, but also the history of the town! I learned so many little interesting tidbits! We visited some restaurants that I will definitely be returning to, but we also learned about tons of places that I'd love to try - even if they weren't a stop on the tour! We expected the tour to be great, and it still surpassed our expectations! Can't say enough about the friendly staff!! (Make sure to bring cash to tip the tour guides as we FORGOT and still feel terrible about it!)

Thank Kaitlyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BleuPlateTours, Owner at Bleu Plate Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2016

Many thanks for the kind review! Our tours are only as good as our tour guests and we are fortunate enough to attract such fun and enjoyable folks like you! Thank you for choosing Bleu Plate Tours. We hope you will join us again and share the experience with your friends. And tips are not at all expected... reviews are worth their weight in gold to us so many, many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2016

I didn't realize how much there was to the downtown culinary scene until I took this tour. Being native to Lexington, I had been downtown to dine previously, but taking this tour helped me discover new hidden gems that I wouldn't have known about otherwise. My girlfriends and I took the tour and not only did we have a great time, but we learned some history, and ate until we could hold no more! I would highly recommend for visitors and locals alike. Great way to spend an afternoon!

Thank schneider_t3509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whipporwill, Owner at Bleu Plate Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2016

Thank you for your kind review and for taking a Bleu Plate Tour! We are passionate about Lexington and so happy when we hear how locals and visitors alike enjoy the event. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2015 via mobile

While our group (only one other couple) may have been small, we loved the personable nature of the experience. We enjoyed meeting the local couple wanting to learn more of their home town. Laura was extremely personable and knowledge of the restaurants she shared with us. This tour satisfied our 'foodie' nature and was a wonderful way to experience 6 different restaurants...all local with great offerings.

3  Thank Mary Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2015 via mobile

After taking this tour with the excellent guide Laura, you will want to spend a week in Lexington! The tour was a perfect blend of history and restaurant tastings, as well as information on other places to visit in the downtown area. The restaurant choices were varied and all very interesting! Our group had some cool surprises along the way as restaurant owners invited us in to learn more about their establishments during non business hours. If you enjoy exploring a city, learning its history, and trying new restaurants, you will not be disappointed with this tour!

2  Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2015 via mobile

Weekend trip to Lexington and Bleu Plate Tours may be the best part of it so far! Walking tour was a history lesson and culinary lesson all in one. Heard about the rich history of Lexington as well as the wonderful and diverse food options in the city. Laura was a pure delight! She was knowledgable and insightful. The food dumplings ranged fro pancakes to chili dogs, fresh salads, chicken and biscuits and much more - and in Kentucky fashion some bourbon bread pudding. It was a gastric delight.

1  Thank airmomAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whipporwill, Owner at Bleu Plate Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2015

It was an absolute pleasure having you on the tour! Thank you for your review and I hope to have the honor of being your tour guide on another Bleu Plate Tour the next time you're in town! Best Regards, Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2015

While planning a long weekend to the city I found this tour on-line. My husband & I had a wonderful time strolling through this charming neighborhood and sampling gourmet delights. Our tour guide Laura was very informative and personable. It's obvious that she loves Lexington and good food. It's true that you can't judge a book by it's cover because at first glance the area seems a bit shabby. But after we got out of the car and walked around we could see the charm and character of a neighborhood that was being revitalized. The restaurants and shops that we visited were very welcoming and seemed to be the local meeting places. What a gem at the edge of the city. The foods were amazing. My husband wasn't exactly thrilled to go but being a good sport he humored me. Now he can't wait to return and do the Saturday tour! Thank you Laura for a lovely Sunday afternoon.

2  Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2015

On July 25th we did the Bleu Plate Tour of Lexington. It was a great tour of local restaurants with some history of Lexington thrown in. You don't need to eat before doing this tour. We sampled food at each restaurant and left with a new list of restaurants to visit again.

Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2015

We enjoyed this tour very much. So much history and so much excellent food. Skip breakfast and you won't be needing lunch after this tour.

Thank taravalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews