We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT GOOD!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Abuelo's - CLOSED

Abuelo's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Monticello, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NOT GOOD!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

My husband and I went to Abuelos for the first time on Valentines Day. We got the Valentines Day deal. Fajitas. Food was just so bland. It was absolutely not worth the $. Rice was tasteless, beans was just gross. Not a good experience at all.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
117 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“More than just lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Really good. My son would recommend the Mexican Stack for lunch. Husband had the steak taco, lived them. One of my sides was the cilantro rice, two thumbs up. Would come back.

Helpful?
Thank medic1644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
281 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Not bad at all.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

I like the food and the service is ok too. My wife and I enjoyed a date here and I would be back and would recommend to anyone looking for good food.

Helpful?
Thank NateB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suncoast Florida
Level Contributor
138 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Mixed Reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband really liked the food at Abuelo's. He had enchiladas and a taco. I wasn't so thrilled. The queso dip tasted like velveeta with peppers, but the chips were very good . I had shrimp and chicken fajitas , they were not seasoned at all. The margarita was good .
When we arrived the place was about half full. It took 3 "girls" at the hostess station quite awhile to decide it would be 15 minutes for a table. We asked to sit at a table a in the bar and were seated right away . The service once we were seated was excellent, very friendly and efficient. The food was over-priced, drink prices were good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shell5786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good happy hour margaritas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I visited this place for happy hour and had a very good margarita. Complimentary taco chips and dips, very nice. Pleasant service. Ambiance not fantastic.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank angelinapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelo's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing