We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun & Informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Horse Farm Tours

Horse Farm Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$36.00*
and up
Lexington KY Historic Horse Farm Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: If you are looking for a close encounter with horses, this tour is a must! Horse Farm Tours gives its guests a close-up look at the world's premier Thoroughbred horse farms. You can expect to spend approximately three hours with your tour guide visiting horse farms, Historic Keeneland Race Course and other attractions in the area. We offer a complete and comfortable tour with knowledgeable guides. We strive to make your visit to the Horse Capital of the World a part of the great Thoroughbred tradition. Tours run daily at 8:15 am and 12:45 pm. They pick up at the Embassy Suites hotel at 1801 Newtown Pike in Lexington.
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Fun & Informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had a great tour with David Leet. We knew a little bit about Keeneland but came away with much more appreciation of the history and the current events that go on there. We enjoyed going through the farms, stopping to get up close to the horses at Magdalena farm and also getting out at Walmac farm to learn about thoroughbred horse breeding. It was a fun morning to soak up lots of information and take lots of pictures. We are looking forward to bringing our granddaughter on this tour in the future.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trudy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    15
    3
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horse farm tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our 3 1/2 hour tour of Lexington horse farm country was great! Our tour guide, David, was very nice and knowledgeable about the farms throughout Lexington. We toured three different horse farms, got up close and personal with a few horses, and learned all about the breeding process. We also got to visit Kenneland. We got to get on and off the van several times so the 3 1/2 hours past very quickly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We toured this morning with David Leet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this horse farm tour! Time and money well spent! David Leet was very nice and extremely knowledgeable about the horse industry and about the farms. The visit to Keeneland was fascinating. We can't wait to watch SeaBiscuit again to see Keeneland in the movie. The various farms were beeautiful. We appreciated that we were able to go on some working farms, see top notch horses up close, and learn more about breeding and the business. We will do this again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JimLin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
“Fantastic! Time well spent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Vicki was a wonderful tour guide. Very knowledgeable and entertaining. I was most impressed with her personal stories and understanding about horses. It was fun to see Keeneland up close and then spend time next to horses. Even the time driving in the van was well spent with information about the area. I even started to take notes.

We had a great time! I will highly recommend this to my friends.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank trwjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Terrific Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

My family took this horse farm tour and had a terrific time. They took us around in a van that may have been able to seat 12 people. So the tour is small, which is good. We have four little kids and they were treated very well by the tour guide.

The tour goes to Keenland and several horse farms. One of the farms allowed us to visit with some of the horses, which was great. The tour guide explained everything in detail (who knew the fences cost $13,000/mile to maintain?) and there was ample time for questions.

The only drawback of this company is the rude receptionist who booked our tour. She was critical of the number of kids my wife and I have. While my general attitude towards such people is to ignore their stupidity, I'm buying a service from this company. Her rudeness didn't ruin the tour though as she wasn't there. If you can get past the rude lady on the phone, the tour is excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Notliberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horse Farm Tours also viewed

 

Been to Horse Farm Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing