We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great 4 Hours”
Review of Horse Farm Tours

Horse Farm Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$36.00*
and up
Lexington KY Horse Farm Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: If you are looking for a close encounter with horses, this tour is a must! Horse Farm Tours gives its guests a close-up look at the world's premier Thoroughbred horse farms. You can expect to spend approximately three hours with your tour guide visiting horse farms, Historic Keeneland Race Course and other attractions in the area. We offer a complete and comfortable tour with knowledgeable guides. We strive to make your visit to the Horse Capital of the World a part of the great Thoroughbred tradition. Tours run daily at 8:15 am and 12:45 pm. They pick up at the Embassy Suites hotel at 1801 Newtown Pike in Lexington.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great 4 Hours”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our tour on Sept. 16th exceeded our expectations! David does a fantastic job of providing nonstop entertaining information about Lexington horse farms and its owners and characters; the thoroughbred industry and its history; and the beautiful Keeneland facilities, where we were fortunate to view a major horse auction. Learning about thoroughbred breeding at a farm was fascinating to a novice like me. This tour is well done, and certainly worth the time and money.
Bob and Betty Coval, Ft. Myers FL

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bocofromindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    15
    4
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Incredible Tour!!!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We took the Horse Farm Tour in September 2013. David was our tour guide and he was awesome. He spoke for more than 4 hours and always had an answer to our questions. The tour greatly exceeded my expectations and I would highly recommend it. We toured Keeneland Race Track and several horse farms. In addition, we drove past a number of horse farms. David's extensive knowledge of thoroughbreds and Kentucky breeding and racing made the time fly. While at Keeneland, one of the breeders recognized David and stopped to talk with him and our group. This made the Keeneland tour very personal and interesting. The van was very comfortable and it was easy to see the sights that David described during our drive. Take this tour, you will not be disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KansasCityJayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Lexington Horse Farm Tour”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I recently visited Lexington and decided to take the Horse Farm Tour on 4 Sept. David was the tour guide for the group I was attached to and he did an awesome job telling about the thoroughbreds industry in the area. He gave us an awesome tour of Keeneland Race Track, explaining all facets of what goes on there. He also provided historical information about the farms and some of the notable horsed that were either born there or retired there. After Keeneland we were treated to a driving and walking tour of several of the farms in the area. Whether you are a diehard horse fanatic or a first timer, this tour is for you. Along with the beautiful animals, you get to see some stunning architecture, and well-manicured grounds.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeSC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Once in a lifetime experience with Horse Farm Tours”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Being a horse girl, riding for the past 15 years Horse Farm Tours was what I looked forward to most on my trip to Kentucky and it certainly lived up to my every expectation. We started by a drive by the famous Calumet Farm and then to Keeneland racetrack which was absolutely breath taking. We were on the morning tour and got to watch the thoroughbreds gallop on the track. We proceeded to visit 2 other farms (driving through only but very neat!) and then got out at 2 other farms. The tour guide, Sue, was very informative and it didn't matter that I do not follow the horse racing world as she filled us in on everything.
A must for both equestrians and non equestrians wanting to see the most impressive parts of Kentucky!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vheq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Horse Farm Tours, Inc”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We recently visited Lexington and decided to do the Horse Farm Tours, Inc. based on the reviews I had read here. I must say it was time and money well spent. Our guide, David, was a true gentleman and historian. His tour took us to four different horse farms and the famous Keeneland Race Track. His knowledge was vast and his presentation entertaining. The time passed so quickly. He shared his favorite candy, Bourbon balls, with us. I am still trying to find them. In short, go for it and take this tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelis55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horse Farm Tours also viewed

 

Been to Horse Farm Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing