We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Tours from Horse Farm Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveler rating
33
0
0
0
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
0
0
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews morning tour tour director thoroughbred industry great tour kentucky derby horse farm ernie knowledge jockey guide horses
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 38 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2018

Absolutely enjoyed our tour with Tom O’Brien, very knowledgeable and really seems to enjoy his work. My wife and I had never been in the castle, it was very interesting. Had a very nice lunch at the Barrell House, it was interesting to see a very small distillery and compare it to the very large one we ended with, Buffalo Trace. Would highly recommend this tour!!!

Thank bobandjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretWoods, Owner at Horse Farm Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

So glad you enjoyed your tour. Tom is as very good tour guide and enjoys being with the tourist.

He likes the bourbon trail and showing people what we have in Kentucky.

Tell your friends about the tour and send them our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

The 3 hours we spent with our guide Ernie, were great. Spent at least an hour at Keeneland. Ernie is a former jockey & had plenty of stories. Beautiful horses, beautiful land

Thank jeanw235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretWoods, Owner at Horse Farm Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Ernie is a very good tour guide. He knows the thoroughbred business inside out. Ernie loves the horse business and showing it to our tourist.

Tell your friends and family about the tour and we would love to have them come take a tour with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018

We did the Bourbon Distillery and Castle tour with Tom O'Brien as a guide. It was awesome. Recommend it to everyone.

Thank jcbodart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretWoods, Owner at Horse Farm Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

Glad you enjoyed the Bourbon & Castle tour. Tom is a very good tour guide and he enjoys being with people and sharing with the tourist.

Tell your friends and family about the tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2018 via mobile

Roy Riley was our tour guide, and he did an amazing job!!!! From start to finish it was enjoyable and very informative. They picked us up right at our hotel. Made one other stop for another couple. We headed to Keenland first. That was probably our favorite part. We did the morning tour so we’re able to see riders exercising horses on the track. Roy took us by several other farms, we were able to stop at one, and tour another. His knowledge about the area was amazing, and he made it fun for even my non-horse loving daughter. I’d highly recommend this tour!!

Thank Denise2034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretWoods, Owner at Horse Farm Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2018

Thank you for your nice review. Roy works very hard to be the best tour guide that he can be, he loves showing the tourist our beautiful horse farms and horses. He also has a love of people which adds to his tour.

Be sure to tell your friends and family about your tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2018

We can hardly think of a better introduction to the horse industry, farms and traditions of this area. The landscapes, the distinctive architecture of the barns, and of course the horses themselves, which we got to see closely and even pet sometimes, left us with lasting and beautiful memories of our visit. Since we are amateur photographers, we had also a great time using our cameras whenever we had a stop. A highlight is the visit to the Keeneland racecourse, where we got the chance to see the early morning training exercises of a good number of horses. The fact that this tour combines both this visit and the farm tour is a plus. Last, but not least, Ernie, our guide, was exceptionally well informed about the history of all the places we visited, and has a kind and easygoing way about him that kept us smiling and interested all the time.

2  Thank juancnm2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretWoods, Owner at Horse Farm Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2018

Thank you for your kind review, it is people like you that makes us enjoy doing the tours. Ernie is a great person and he enjoys people and doing tours.
Being a retired jockey and trainer makes him very interesting to talk to and with his interesting information you get an inside view of what goes on in the industry.

We are very pleased to have Ernie as one of our guides.

Tell your family and friends about the tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful time learning about and seeing the horse farms around Lexington today. Our guide, Leslie, was very knowledgeable about the area and the industry. We were met on time, spent all of the promised four hours and then some touring Keeneland Racetrack and several of the farms. We took the morning tour so we could watch the horses working out and training. It's a great way to learn about the sport of kings

Thank jannielb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretWoods, Owner at Horse Farm Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

So glad you enjoyed your tour with Leslie. Leslie is a great tour guide and loves the thoroughbred industry and showing it to the tourist.
It is people like you that makes us love what we do.

Tell your friends and family about the tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews