We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be”

Alltech's Lexington Brewing & Distilling Co.
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Bourbon Trail Tour to Makers Mark, Four Roses and Alltech
Ranked #4 of 120 things to do in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1794, Alltech's Lexington Brewery Company continues a splendid tradition of quality brewing producing Kentucky Ale, Kentucky Light and Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Ale. The brew hall viewing area, bottling operations, gift shop and an authentic Irish pub are available for tours. Bus tours and walk-ups invited.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We did this tour back in 2010 and had a great time. Now with the expanded tour there is less info, less fun, and fewer samples. The tour starts with a pompous video that gives an overview of what the tour will cover. Then they take you into the brewery to show you the process, the only problem is that they don't really tell you anything, just rush you into the tasting room to start sampling. They make 5 beers but you only get 4 sample tickets and the samples are very small (less than an ounce each). Don't forget to save at least one or two tickets for the spirits room because there are three additional tastes there. Next we move to the distillery where you will see the mash pot, stills, and some sample barrels that are aging and they then quickly get to more samples (if you still have tickets left). You can purchase bottles of spirits while on the tour but there are no beer sales. $7 for less than a glass of beer and an hour of my life that I will not get back. This is the first brewery tour where I felt like I didn't get my money's worth just in samples alone. We won't be back.

Helpful?
Thank bcoleman427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    116
    52
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
huntersville
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

A group of us decided to check out all their beers once they opened. We arrived shortly after they opened and asked the staff that we were on a time crunch. We couldn't do their standard tour, and wanted to try their beers if possible. The staff was so friendly - they were able to have us taste their beers once the beer tour tasting finished. We were all so thankful as we had a great time.

They explained their beers and the history behind them too. We asked a lot of questions and they were happy to explain their answers.

the beer was extremely good. the group favorite was their Kentucky Bourbon Ale and Coffee Beer. they were out of their seasonal Kentucky Bourbon Pumpkin Ale.

Give them a try - the staff was great and they also had a big shop where you can purchase t-shirts, glasses and other things.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kevkid33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Longest Tour on the Trail”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I really wanted to do the tour here because they make beer and bourbon, but this was the only tour where I really wanted to bail. The beer part was interesting and the beer is amazing. They are a new distiller and I have no clue why the tour of the very small distillery took as long as it did. We were told 35 minutes, well it was almost an hour and half. I was bored senseless and we bought nothing other than our tour tickets. Our guide was very imformative but it was a lot of standing in one place and not a lot of walking.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank aconner08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
“Great information and fun tour, but disorganized and poor customer service”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Overall, the tour and tour guide were great. However, they post specific times for tours on their website and don't follow them. The area where you buy your tickets is the same as the gift shop, which is crowded and completely uncoordinated. We arrived 20 minutes prior to the stated time and were told they were sold out, so we'd have to wait an extra 30 minutes until the next tour. We agreed and browed the (tiny) gift shop. We felt claustrophobic because you literally could not stand still without touching someone else, so we were going to go outside and wait until we realized it had started storming. After 30 minutes they announced it was time for our tour to start--20 minutes early. Had we stepped outside, we would have missed our tour (after already paying). All staff aside from one tour guide, were rude, inconsiderate, and acted like they'd rather be anywhere doing anything but their actual jobs. They also give you drink "tickets" so you can't try all of their drinks. You get a total of four and that covers beers, bourbon, and their desert alcohol. The tour was enjoyable and interesting, but if you're not looking to hit this specific brewery, you'd be better off going to Maker's Mark or Four Roses. It's a much better experience customer service-wise and much better quality and value for the money.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alysha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You get to drink the bourbon - how could it be bad?”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

And also the beer. Quite tasty, btw. The tour started right on time and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They encouraged lots of questions and explained the recommended way to drink each of the drinks to the uninitiated.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamielee45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alltech's Lexington Brewing & Distilling Co. also viewed

 

Been to Alltech's Lexington Brewing & Distilling Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing