We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wanted so badly to love it here” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sahara Mediterranean Cuisine

Sahara Mediterranean Cuisine
Ranked #32 of 885 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I wanted so badly to love it here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Sahara isnt bad, but it's not as great as most of these reviews lead you to believe.
I found the Sahara chicken to be watery, over cooked to the point of gumminess (it's served on the bone) and flavorless. The rice is just like the rice at any other of the dozen mediterranean eateries in Lexington. Ditto for the garlic sauce and pita. Just average for me. Very nice family running the place, service is good and fast.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank April V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    29
    12
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington KY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“our family favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

one of our favorite places to grab a dinner after a hectic work day. We have been going for a number of years. We love the shwarma and falafel sandwiches. The baba ganosh is very smokey--different and wonderful from others. The hummus is also to die for! Great food, great prices. Casual, no pretenses. Just be aware the family takes an extended summer vacation, usually the month of July, and entirely closes down. Why don't more of us do that?

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What can you say, it's Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I'd eat here every day if I could. Been going there for about 3 years now and they have a huge local following. The food is outstanding as is everything, The have a great lunch special every weekday and if you go there with a group of 3 or 4 people for dinner, just spring for the "Sahara Platter". It's got everything you could every want and you and your friends will get to sample quite a few different foods.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank cwayneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Best lentil soup! Have always gotten great food and friendly service

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sishuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
“Excellent Cuisine from the Middle East”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

We liked the excellence of the menu items each time we visit there for eat-in or carry-out. Service is always friendly and efficient.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sahara Mediterranean Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Sahara Mediterranean Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing