We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospital visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
University Inn Hotel
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Reviewed May 30, 2014

While staying with family member. We stayed at University Inn.Our stay was very nice across street from hospital, continental breakfast good, and shuttle service to and from hospital. Staff very helpful. We would stay there again if needed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 121 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

I have stayed here multiple times and have had no problems. The rooms are nice and clean and the staff are friendly. The location is perfect for UK events or if one needs place to stay near the hospital. I would definitely recommend that you stay here when you visit Lexington.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tshot05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Paid $130 for a $75 value.

Rooms were Days Inn quality and located across from some off campus party houses. We heard trains and sirens often. I learned the next morning that the hospital was in sight.

There are much better places to stay near the UK campus.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Knoxotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had a room there for nine weeks while my Dad was in the ICU at UK. They were always very helpful. They kept our room clean even though we were not there but on the weekends. They knew us by first name when we would check in. When My dad did pass away they sent my family a sympathy Card. I never expected it, but it was so appreciated. I would stay there again and would recommend it to anyone. It is not FANCY but I was not there for Fancy I was there for my Dad and Mom..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Love this hotel! I was a bit afraid of what we would find after reading the reviews. But I couldn't pass on the convenient location to the UK campus for the event we are in town for. Yes, I paid a high price, but I love this place! It's not a Marriot or Hilton, but it's just right for our three night stay. Breakfast was fine, our room was neat and clean, and all staff members were very hospitable. Despite being fully booked all three nights, the hotel was quiet. All kinds of fun food options within a couple miles. Refrigerator and microwave in the room made it possible to keep leftovers. Definitely will return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamdjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed here for one night with a 76.00 rate from Hotwire. I wouldn't pay any more than that for this hotel. While it is convenient to the hospital and campus, there are nearby hotels that are much nicer. In addition to the sirens, you can clearly hear the train and this hotel backs up to the college party houses on University which even in the winter with doors and windows closed can get loud. The rooms are clean but dated. Plumbing problems seem to be the norm according to the desk clerk. The carpets in the hallways are stained and worn. This place could really use a decor update throughout. I gave this stars because "poor" seemed to harsh, but is was "average" at best.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank 4travelfunKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here before surgery at Central Baptist. It is close by. The place is adequate. Rooms are small. There are two buildings. I think we got in the bad building. THE PLACE REEKS OF SMOKE. I am wheezing this morning from the smoke. We tried two rooms. Same smell. This place is not owned by Central Baptist but the hospital has a contract with them for people who live a distance away.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank KentuckyKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversityInnHotel, Owner at University Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

All of our rooms are non smoking and there is a 200.00 charge if caught smoking but at times some people do not provide a credit card because they say they do not have one and pay with cash. We use ozone machines to take the smell out of rooms. If people would respect my property and others and not smoke we would not have these issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
0.8 mi away
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#48 of 71 in Lexington
124 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky
1.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Lexington University / Medical Center
0.8 mi away
The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Hotel

Address: 1229 S Limestone, Lexington, KY 40503-1061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn offers unique amenities at a value price. We are the closest hotel to the University Of Kentucky Medical Center and Commonwealth Stadium. We offer single, double and king bedded rooms and suites and are a completely non-smoking facility. Special pricing is available for AAA, AARP, groups and medically related stays. We are your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your University Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing