We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed here during a meeting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
University Inn Hotel
Ranked #42 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
332 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Stayed here during a meeting”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here during a meeting. Room was on the second floor facing the main road. If you are a light sleeper you might want a room facing the other side as the hotel is very close to the hospital and you can hear ambulances at night. Free continental breakfast from 6-10am everyday. Front desk staff are friendly and helpful, they recommended some good restaurants for us also they helped us call cabs. Free WiFi in every room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler0632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    40
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
41
16
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Nice hotel. Clean and comfortable. Very good location near the University and hospitals. Breakfast was good. Very friendly staff. Everything we needed for a nice weekend stay in Lexington. I'd recommend and return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhutchison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel was average, close proximity to UK and adequate lighting. I stayed in the second building and as soon as I walked in there was a stale stench in the air, I had to light a candle and get the air circulating in the room to feel comfortable.They do offer a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cropwell, Alabama, Usa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We found this online and decided to stay here due to its close proximity to AL/UK football game we were attending. A little nervous going in due the obvious age of the facility, but really had nice experience here and wouldn't hesitate to stay again if we return for a football game. The facility is older and room is cookie cutter and small from that "day and age", but the owners clearly have a interest in managing it well. Room furniture was pretty up to date and most importantly the room was CLEAN. HVAC unit was one of the "wall units" but it operated just fine and kept the room cool. Morning buffet typical of all the chain hotels. Easy walking distance to the stadium and easy drive to downtown nightlife & restaurants. Not a top tier luxury hotel but served our purpose very well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stayed here recently while my dad had to hospitalized in Lexington. The hotel was clean, bed comfortable and breakfast was ok and met needs for a continental breakfast. Coffee was really good. I can not remember the young mans name at the front desk that worked night as he was a college student, however, he was very friendly, helpful. I would stay there again if the need arise.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lites29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

University Inn was fine. We needed to be close to VA Hospital since my husband was having surgery and have stayed before. It is higher than some others but,we received a military discount.

There was a confusion about the reservation, I went online and found University Inn Hotel-Reservation Desk. Wouldn't you think it was as listed? When I made the reservation, the add was listed on the left of the home page;
"Why Book With Us?
No Cancellation or Change Fees.
Lowest Price Guaranteed (in blue) etc."
The way it was listed, I thought I was making a reservation with the Reservation Dsk at University Inn. I was told that it was not University Inn and that I could not get a refund and if I cancelled,I would be charged anyway. The charge was $120 plus tax, almost $130.
Later, I did get in touch with University Inn and received a discount for the second night which cost me $82 including taxes etc.
This was a great disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate4968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level Contributor
303 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

OK - so I booked this hotel for family weekend and after reading about it. It is a little pricey for what you get. Our room was fine - however someone needs to talk to cleaning about how to stock a room - yes we use shampoo to wash our hair put it in the room. The breakfast is nothing to write home about - to be honest I've had better at a Holiday Inn for less $$.

The great thing is being so close to campus and my UK student.

Next time, we will stay further out, and save the money for fun ... lesson learned.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky
0.7 mi away
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#47 of 71 in Lexington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
1.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Lexington University / Medical Center
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#8 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Hotel

Property: University Inn Hotel
Address: 1229 S Limestone, Lexington, KY 40503-1061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn offers unique amenities at a value price. We are the closest hotel to the University Of Kentucky Medical Center and Commonwealth Stadium. We offer single, double and king bedded rooms and suites and are a completely non-smoking facility. Special pricing is available for AAA, AARP, groups and medically related stays. We are your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your University Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing