We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for UK Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
University Inn Hotel
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed at University Inn for 3 nights while our crew visited UK (2 rooms).

The hotel is made up of two converted apartment buildings. The layout is not your typical business traveler hotel. Rooms are spacious but have no desks. The rooms and common areas were kept very clean.

One room, with a queen bed, had a large counter with sink, mini fridge and microwave in the room. The other room had two double beds with no other extras.

The overwhelming positive attribute is the location. Walk across the street to south campus (although its a large campus). It's a ten minute walk to the bookstore / student center and the bars & restaurants along S. Limestone near Ave. of Champions.

Most of the hotel front desk employees are young. There is one particularly useless young man who is new to the area, can't give directions, and thinks "I don't know" is a perfectly fine response to any question a guest may have. Another young lady is extremely helpful.

The "free" continental breakfast is unremarkable - like most. I would stay here again when visiting UK.

Room Tip: One room had two double beds with not much else. The other room had a queen plus a counter with sin...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crackbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for University Inn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 121 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2012

This is not a bad place to stay, it is reasonable and clean. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable....Second time staying there and they have a good variety of rooms...The only downside is there is no amenities and it is next to UK's Hospital so you hear sirens quite a bit..

Room Tip: Dont book this room on Priceline, Am-Express, ETC. You can get better price generally by walking in...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buster41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

The management and staff goes above and beyond to provide everything you need. Rooms clean, bedding plush, housekeeping prompt and courteous.
Continental breakfast, fresh coffee and real creamer 24/7 and selection of teas.
I was there for an extended stay, caring for a loved one at the UK Medical Center, and the staff, knowing this, went above and beyond.
Highly recommend.
Front desk staff fantastic!

Room Tip: All good. Front desk staff works with you to accomodate needs.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We choose the University Inn as a place for our future in-laws to stay. We were meeting them for the first time and wanted to make sure their stay was enjoyable. The Inn met and surpassed all of our expectations. The rooms were clean, well decorated and the staff extremely pleasant and helpful. We highly recommend it for anyone staying in Lexington.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Rooms older yet clean. Pillows not comfortable.
Front desk staff very nice and efficient.
Breakfast Lame for the price of the room. Embassy suites are head over heels above this place.
Noisy!!! Can hear everything in nearby rooms so wear earplugs and that MIGHT help.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYjts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

University Inn was my first taste of not only Kentucky, but the USA and I loved it. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room spotlessly clean and very comfortable with a decent Continental breakfast. Spent my first 5 nights here before travelling around Kentucky and have re-booked twice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I booked my room on priceline, which can sometimes be scary since you do not know where you are staying until after you have paid, but I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised! I had read some of the other rooms before making the trip and I was a little worried. Our room was exactly as pictured with the white down comforter and very comfortable bed. The room had a fridge and microwave and was very convenient to the ball fields. We were here for baseball and the fields were only 3 miles away. We were on the first floor in the main building and it smelled very good- like cinnamon. I saw others complained of smoking odors, but we did not experience any of these. I was very happy with our room. It was right up there with the Marriots that I normally stay at, except here you also get somewhat of a breakfast and you do not get anything included at the Marriot. Also, the girl at the front desk was very friendly. Hope this review was helpful to future travelers!

Room Tip: main building- first floor, king size bed - very satisfied! No pool, but wasnt a concern of mine
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2shop4gr8deals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
0.8 mi away
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#48 of 71 in Lexington
123 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky
1.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Lexington University / Medical Center
2.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Lexington - Nicholasville Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Hotel

Address: 1229 S Limestone, Lexington, KY 40503-1061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn offers unique amenities at a value price. We are the closest hotel to the University Of Kentucky Medical Center and Commonwealth Stadium. We offer single, double and king bedded rooms and suites and are a completely non-smoking facility. Special pricing is available for AAA, AARP, groups and medically related stays. We are your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your University Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing