We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have stayed here several times while visiting family and have always had a good experience. The facilities are very nice, and the staff is outstanding, very friendly and attentive. We will definitely continue to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the front side. The hotel is an atrium, so it's a long walk to the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peachy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eslex, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Peachy M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am very pleased that once again you were able to enjoy our hospitality.We appreciate you selecting our Embassy Suites as your hotel of choice when you are in the area and we are looking forward to welcoming you back hopefully soon.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,007 - 1,013 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last winter for New Years with our grandchildren, and decided it was the best spot again this year. This hotel is several cuts above the "standard" ES design, including an beautiful setting on the University of Kentucky's Coldstream Farm. It is a little remote in that there is nothing but exercise in walking distance, but it is very convenient to drive into Lexington, or jump on I-75/I-64. Excellent shopping is about 10 minutes away at Hamburg Place. Downtown is about 10 minutes in light traffic. Lexmark is about 2 minutes away.

This time we used room service extensively, as it was bitter cold and windy outside. We found the selection to adequate, with some excellent values for the kids ($5 pretty much covers it for them). We experimented with a few dishes that were all nicely done. The runaway favorites were the dessert menu tho. Bourbon bread pudding and an amazing Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Egg Roll with vanilla ice cream.

The managers reception was good, again a little above average from the normal ES offerings. With a creative chef like that in the kitchen, I would hope that they would come up with a unique add to the reception offering... to tempt us to eat in house.

Breakfast was as we remembered it, with an excellent selection, and VERY popular with the guests (read - go early to avoid long lines). Our first night, a Friday, found the hotel nearly empty. On Saturday there was a Kentucky basketball game, and the place seemed very busy. There were long lines both for breakfast, and the reception. The food was excellent, but the wait was annoying. Sat AM I punted and grabbed some bagels and went back to the room instead of waiting.

Staff - We had multiple encounters with staff, and every one was again well above the norm. We are used to excellent service at ES, but this team was *exceptional* at every turn. We added an extra room via the internet less than 24 hours from our arrival. I called to confirm, and not only was it handled, but our location request/bed request/floor request were all already handled (Thanks Ryan). We had minor problems with the shower that were repaired within minutes of the request. My daughter reported that her contact with the manager "Jon?" was first class. We observed at one point that a young man was flying a radio controlled helicopter in the lobby. His father was watching carefully, and there were quite a few guests watching from around the balconies. A 'normal' manager might have immediately freaked out and told them to shut it down. Jon observed, watched for risk, and made an excellent judgement (in my opinion) and let it continue. There was no risk to other guests, and it was Christmas. Well done.

There were others, and I was remiss in getting everyone's name. I do remember Lisa, who was imminently patient with multiple trips on behalf of my grand kids with their meals. Everything arrived hot and fresh. She offered to put the ice cream in the freezer for us. There was a housekeeper who came several times to keep our large group in fresh towels. Housekeeping also had our rooms spotless on arrival.

Misses? I think some bell service is in order at a hotel as nice as this. There were a few luggage carts, but it was a challenge to find one near checkout on Sunday. The indoor pool was too cold for our taste. My wife notes that there is no wipe up cloth provided for the kitchen area, so bath towels end up getting used. Some paper towels would be nice. Suggestion? A basketball package that includes a shuttle from the hotel.

All and all, I still rate this location as the best of the 10 or so ES I've stayed at in the last 2 years. It's unusual location I'm sure presents challenges on keeping the rooms full. They have an aggressive marketing plan for weddings, as the setting is excellent, both inside and out. I'm sure they get a decent amount of conference business as well. If they keep up the charm and excellent service, I'm sure it will remain as our 'go-to' Lexington home.

Room Tip: The second floor has direct access to the pool (without having to troop through the elevator in suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zjxtinpusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eslex, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear zjxtinpusher,

Greetings from Lexington and thank you for your extremely thorough review of your stay at our hotel.

I am very pleased that you have returned to our hotel and that once again we provided products and services that made your stay a positive one. Such thorough reviews serve as a great training tool for us to see where we perform well and in what areas we should improve in. We certainly appreciate the suggestions that you made and all of these will be considered in the near future.

Once again thank you for choosing our Embassy Suites for you stay in Lexington and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. If I can be of any service in the mean time, please contact me directly at jan.vanco@eslexington.com.

WIshing you and your loved ones a Happy New Year.

At your service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

An outstanding facility in the heart of the Bluegrass. As always, an excellent breakfast with E.S.
The evening reception was a welcome after long walks at UK. The hotel is very conveniently located on the east side of Lexington, adjacent to a major North/South Interstate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrownW157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eslex, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear BrownW157,

Thank you for the time taken to review our hotel. We truly appreciate you choosing our hotel for your stay in Lexington and I am happy you were satisfied with your stay here.

From all of us here at the Embassy Suites we hope that you had a wonderful Thanksgiving and we hope we get another opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

At your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you have stayed at an Embassy Suites they look pretty much the same: the rooms are identical anywhere you go. It has more of an apartment feel than a typical hotel room. You get a kitchen, large living room and comfy bedroom with a cozy bed and a desk to work at. I paid a reduced price but in anycase I wouldnt call this hotel cheap. If you like the idea of a suite then it may be worth the extra money. Rooms are super quiet and privacy is assured.

The location is a bit out of the way so if you don't rent a car very few things are in walking distance. People stay here mostly because they are at a conference. There is a Denny's across the street. A bus stops in front of the hotel surprisingly frequently and it only costs a dollar. You can take a cab downtown for a reasonable rate (about 15 dollars) and there is plenty of action with college bars and a lively friendly atmosphere. Try SkyBar for a dance club atmosphere on the top floor of a downtown tower. There are also plenty of other bars around that area and cover is cheap 0-10 dollars.

Breakfast was good and you could ask for anything you liked. The chef was very friendly and the omelettes were great.

The staff of the hotel was generally nice and accommodating except one totally incompetent male who had no business working there. He knew nothing, did not even bother trying to help and was annoyed that you expected him to provide any kind of assistance. It’s rare to find such shocking incompetence in North American at a hotel of this level. This is the only reason I cannot give the property 5 stars.

If you want to do some tours I strongly suggest the Horse Museum. It is minutes away by car or you can take a cab like I did through the spectacular area. I found the museum even better than the horse farm tours since you get to see famous horses, shows and gorgeous scenery. The museum is really a farm. If you want to do a horse farm tour as well, go with Heritage tours. They get a high rating on this site and I was not disappointed. Most of the tours will pick you up at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingyahud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eslex, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Wanderingyahud,

Thank you very much for the review of our property. Your contributions to the website are much appreciated and we were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel in Lexington.

Only concerning thing we read was regarding an associate who stood out to you in a negative way. I would really appreciate if you could contact me directly at jan.vanco@eslexington.com to give me more details about your interaction and the issues you have experienced with this associate. We pride ourselves in providing the best service possible and we absolutely look for ways to improve our performance.

Once again thank you for the review and for choosing Embassy Suites Lexington for your stay here.

At your service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Typically we stay at the Hilton when in Lexington, but they were full so decided to stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and accomodating and i really liked thewater fountains in the atrium.

Food in the resturant was tastey, but arrived cold both nights ... maybe they need better timing and communication between the kitchen and servers.

Breakfast is included ... a standard buffet but you can also get a cooked to order breakfast omlet or eggs ... very tastey. I plan to make this my destination hotel when in Lexington.

Room Tip: Book early and pick a lower floor since the elevators are slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2080Rascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eslex, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear 2080 Rascal,

Thank you for the time taken to review our hotel.

We really appreciate the positive comments as well as the constructive criticism and we will work on improving this aspect of our operation. We understand that you have many different options when you travel and we were happy to learn that you will prefer to stay with us over our competitor hotels in the area.

Once again thank you for staying at the Embassy Suites Lexington and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

At your service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Well-kept hotel. Nice amenities. Breakfast was good. Coffee was good (important for me). One concern that I had was the walls could have been a bit more sound proof. A door slamming neighbor caused whole room to shake. Staff was very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhjraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eslex, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Lhjraffe,

Thank you for the time taken to review our hotel.

I am very happy that overall you were pleased with the product and the services that we offer. I would like to apologize for the noise that you experienced during your stay and we are always happy to talk to guests that might be making others uncomfortable. Thank you for mentioning all the positives that you experienced and I sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you back at the Embassy Suites Lexington again soon.

At your service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I reserved a handicap accessible room in JULY for an October reservation. Upon arrival I was told that they did not have an accessible room. The desk manager apologized and said "he'd knock a few bucks off". That wasn't much consolation for the handicapped member of our group.

After our stay I did not get Hilton Honors points. I called the Hilton Honors line to get credit for the stay and I was told that since I received compensation for my room, I guess that was when he "knocked a few bucks off", I would not get points. I eventually did get the points and I was told that the general manager of the site would contact me within 3 business days to discuss my experience. It's been over a week now with no call.

The fact that this location is dismissive over reservations, particularly handicap access rooms, tries to screw you on points when they try to "knock a few bucks off" and to cap it off has an unresponsive general manager leads me to believe there are far too many better choices in Lexington. You do not get the value for the premium they charge. As someone that spends almost 100 nights a year on the road I would strongly recommend staying elsewhere.

Another aside, the rooms need an update as the carpet is quite old and there was mold in our shower. See posted pictures of mold.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank UncleDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eslex, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Uncle Duke,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your concern. I apologize you feel we have not responded and your unsatisfactory stay. Unfortunately there seems to be some confusion. We did receive a message from Hilton in the PM on 10/18 about the concern with the room type availability. We responded to this Guest Assistance request within 48 hours. For your convenience I have copied the correspondence between our hotel and the member of your group that called Hilton initially below. (minus the names and address for privacy reasons).

From: Jan Vanco <jan.vanco@eslexington.com>
To:XXXXX
Sent: Saturday, October 20, 2012 5:32 PM
Subject: Your stay at Embassy Suites Lexington


Dear Mr. XXXXX

Good afternoon from Lexington.

First and foremost, let me start by thanking you for your loyalty to the
Hilton family of hotels as a HHonors Diamond member.

I wanted to take a moment to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience
you experienced during your stay here with the wrong assignment of a room
for your father. There is no excuse for this misstep and I am sorry we
have made such a mistake especially with your group of rooms. I fully
understand that nothing we can do to make this situation better, but
regardless of that, I will take off a full charge for the room for one
night. This refund will be processed on Monday.

Once again, my sincerest apologies for our mistake and I certainly hope
that you will be able to give our hotel another chance in the future. If
I can be of any personal assistance, please contact me at any time via
email or any of the numbers below.


At Your Service
Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
Embassy Suites Lexington
1801 Newtown Pike
Lexington, KY 40511
Phone: 859-455-5000

From: XXXXX>
To: Jan Vanco <jan.vanco@eslexington.com>
Date: Sun, 21 Oct 2012 04:35:03 -0700 (PDT)
Subject: Re: Your stay at Embassy Suites Lexington

Dear Jan,
Thank you for your reply. I would appreciate it if you could apply the credit to confirmation # 80239xxx. This was for the room that was already discounted.

Thank you again for your reply.

Sincerely,
XXX


As a hotel we are not aware there was an earlier communication to Hilton about this matter. I would like to find out where the communication mishap between Hilton and us happened, and I will follow up with Hilton.
I hope you would be able to give me some more information as to who you talked to at Hilton.If you would not mind giving me this information, please contact me at 859-455-5000.
Thank you again for taking the time to express your concerns and I apologize again for the inconvenience we caused. We take pride in trying to exceed all our guests expectations and it is clear we failed to do so this time.

At your Service,

Ron van Haaren
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
6.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
6.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lexington - Hamburg
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#7 of 71 in Lexington
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#12 of 71 in Lexington
1,210 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Conference Center North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington

Address: 1801 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511-1329
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lexington
#1 Business Hotel in Lexington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#3 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: $134 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Lexington hotel boasts a beautiful setting in the heart of Kentucky's Bluegrass Country at the University of Kentucky Coldstream Research Campus. Visit our Lexington hotel and you're centrally placed for the finest equine attractions, horse farms and many of the area's major corporate names. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Lexington
Lexington Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing