We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (690)
Filter reviews
690 results
Traveler rating
351
199
75
32
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
199
75
32
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorguest housefront deskroom was cleanfirst floorheated poolwaffleswaffle makerwould stay here againcontinental breakfaststaff was very friendlyoff the highwayexercise roombiscuits and gravycracker barrelnice stayconvenient location
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 690 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2017

This is a tough property to rate, but I will say the pro's outweigh the con's.

I'll start with the pro's: close to highway, not far from UK campus, reasonable (especially when there are UK events and the hotels mark up their room rates), decent free breakfast, good coffee and the rooms were recently updated. Bed was comfortable, free wifi and there were places to plug in for charging on all the lamps. Cons: The pool is right off the lobby, so the smell of chlorine is definitely noticeable when you walk in but no biggie. There is no elevator, and I'm pretty certain our room was a smoking room at one time... which the smell really bothered me.

Planning ahead and reading reviews really helped me, so if you are booking ahead of time request a first floor room, at least mid-way to the far end of the hall. This will eliminate lobby noise. First floor rooms also seem larger than second floor (had a friend staying here as well), with high ceilings. Given everything, and being a pretty picky hotel person, I would stay here again for the price and convenience.

Room Tip: First floor, mid to far end of hall
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 580jeannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestHouseLex, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Lexington, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Thank you for taking time to review our property. I am glad to hear that we will be your top choice when you visit UK. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017

When I got there the hotel was on fire. The front desk clerck had no help from anybody else. She was there by herself trying to check people in while the fire department is trying to break into rooms to find out where the fire is. Multiple fire violations no elevator to the second floor. You have to drag your luggage all the way up on the stairs. Tremendous amount of noise in the lobby people using washer and dryer all night long stay away from this motel.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ArtMateen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestHouseLex, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Lexington, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Thank for taking the time to leave us a review. As you know things happen in hotels and the fire alarm was triggered, and the fire department was automatically contacted to insure the safety of our guest. After the fire department checked and everything was okay we were able to get back to business. We are approved from the fire department on operating a safe business. I do apologize if your check in process was a bit slow due to emergency at the hotel. As this does not happen on regular basis, hope you give us another try on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017

We visited Lexington during the opening weekend of Keeneland, as well as a Univ. of Kentucky football game; rooms were hard to find. We favor value-oriented chains, and value was tough to find, too. We booked Guest House for four nights, at an average of $100 per night. The hotel is unpretentious but has the things we look for: It's clean, the staff is courteous, the bed is comfortable and the location is decent. There's a small indoor pool that is probably more for kids than adults. The breakfast is what you'd expect with a few pluses, including really fresh bagels and half-and-half for coffee (instead of the crummy non-dairy creamer). The maid service is excellent; our room was done so nicely each day. A full complement of cable channels is available, too. The hotel is located near a Starbucks, McDonalds and WalMart, if that matters, as well as a lot of chain restaurants. All in all, it was a good fit for us.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, which we usually don't like, but this was fine. We did not hear anything in the other rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestHouseLex, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Lexington, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area gain soon, don't hesitate to call us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017

Breakfast was great. The hotel seems to be recently updated but not all of the room was updated (bathroom was not).

There is no elevator in the building.

There is a McDonald's right next to the hotel.

There is also what may be a strip club down the street. Not the greatest neighborhood

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Taurusk8tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestHouseLex, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Lexington, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. We continue to keep the hotel up to date, so we are always working on ways to improve. Hope to see you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017

The evening hotel staff was great, but the room in spite of being non-smoking reaked of cigarettes. Room really spacious, shame the hand basin is in the room rather than the bathroom. Bathroom antiquated.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank clemenceg787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestHouseLex, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Lexington, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2017

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that overall your experience was positive. I am disappointed to hear that our room had a smell and the design of the rooms didn't meet your expectations. This critical feedback will be used in training our staff. Thank you and look forwardto seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews