We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“In the Midst of Renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Campbell House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Campbell House
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
1,437 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 486 helpful votes
“In the Midst of Renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

A beautiful hotel just past its prime with a renovation that will hopefully bring it up to speed! Great staff with a willingness to go out of their way to help, but a building that needs more than a face lift. Decent bar and restaurant although going offsite for food and drink is a better option.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffl499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    136
    67
    39
    23
See reviews for
123
126
19
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Each day we stood in 3 inches of water when we showered, we requested towels and they had holes in them. The hotel is very dark and old and like a maze to get to the lobby. Humiliated by bartender and staff. Anyone who has written a good review on this hotel must work there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cissy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
148 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Was looking for a place to sleep that would be quiet and yet not "bargain-basement." Was greeted upon check-in and given a room in the "more quiet part" of the hotel, at my request. The room was very large and the bed comfortable. I wish I could have used the pool; it was lovely. Will come back again when I can stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

It used to be a Crowne Plaza back in 09/10. I recently came back to Lexington and stayed here. It's still under construction/renovation, and we enjoyed our stay. Very spacious room, and we got the room at good price. Yes, it is an aged property, but I don't see the service/bed/room as bad as what some reviews say.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhiemmieYum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We spent 3 nights here (April 13, 14, 15, 2014). Even though the hotel is under a lot of remodeling, it did not interfere with the ambiance of the hotel. The staff was extremely helpful and suggested things to do in Lexington during our brief stay. The head engineer of the remodeling project gave us a tour of one of the newly remodeled room and all I can say is WOW! Absolutely beautiful. The hotel is huge so we strolled through a lot of halls and found the indoor swimming pool which is quite large for an indoor pool. For all the ladies that love jewelry be certain to visit the gift shop - the owner has some great pieces and the prices are surprisingly low. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babz1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Admittedly, I probably set my expectations too high. I have stayed here many times over the years, and have been through a lot of change with the property. It is now a two to two point five star property at best. The customary Campbell House hospitality was nonexistent, and the entire property was "tired". There were rennovations ongoing, and I was able to look beyond that. I will not be back, however. There are just too many better properties in Lexington that are at the same price point or less. This hotel will be the next Lexington Springs Hotel...a steady d ownhill spiral until it gets bulldozed.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank STGDFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marengo
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The hotel is currently under renovation so hopefully when finished all the rooms will have had an update. It is just old, and though they do a great job of cleaning it is just not someplace I would stay again. The emergency room for the hospital is across the street. Lot is sirens all night. Also, people walking down the hall and talking in normal voices are really loud. It is a really pretty building, but the city has built up around it...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justhef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
4.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
4.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
2.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Lexington University / Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#6 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 724 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#12 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 928 reviews
5.5 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Campbell House

Property: The Campbell House
Address: 1375 S Broadway, Lexington, KY 40504-2703 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Campbell House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a small two-story building in 1949, the Campbell House is Lexington's most recognized and cherished hotel. Our recent multi-million dollar renovation has transformed this local jewel into one of the finest hotels in the Kentucky. Featuring 250 guest rooms and suites and over 15,000 square feet of flexible function space that can accommodate everything from board meetings to conventions, the Campbell House is the perfect location for groups, meetings and social events. We are centrally located near various tourist attractions such as: The University of Kentucky, Keeneland Race Track, Rupp Arena & Commonwealth Stadium - Home of the Kentucky Wildcats, Tattersalls, Redmile, The Lexington Convention Center and Calumet Farm. Whether you are seeking a personalized experience for you next business trip, and inspirational setting for your next meeting, an unforgettable wedding, the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway, or an unforgettable vacation, your adventure into a world of beauty, luxury and tranquility awaits you at the Campbell House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Lexington
Crowne Plaza Campbell Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing