We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Inn on Broadway(Lexington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveler rating
306
242
146
76
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
306
242
146
76
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelsouthern charmbreakfast buffetan older hotelindoor poolclose to downtownice machinewould stay againstaff was very friendlybed was very comfortablelexington areabogartscurioslobbyrenovationmakeupuk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
812 - 817 of 824 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I can understand why the Crowne Plaza recently sold this property. It is now called Campbell House. While the bed was very comfortable, I don't have anything else nice to say about this hotel. If our room is an indication of the whole property, a lot of remodeling is needed. Also, the staff needs retraining on customer service. The location is a plus if you're going to Keeneland Racetrack.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLiebbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I booked this hotel room months ago - and they are NO LONGER A CROWNE PLAZA. They did not reach out to me, to let me know of this change. But the quality of this hotel room was very poor. It was not clean. The walls were very thin. It is not high quality - if you're looking for a nice clean room - look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vak_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We received an email prior to our 18 Oct 2012 stay indicated that the Crowne Plaza Hotel had been sold but our reservation would still be honored. However, the email did not indicate that the hot name had been changed to the Campbell House so we were a little confused upon arrival. The hotel looked a bit dated from the outside and this was confirmed once we walked inside.

Our welcome was warm enough and check in was prompt. The room was dated and in need of renovation. The room was a bit dark which reflected the hotel's overall presentation.

We had a couple of drinks at Bogart's Bar in the hotel then headed off for dinner. Upon return to the hotel we had to have engineering come to reset the TV to received local channels. Again, this was done promptly.

After retiring for the night we soon realized that our room was at the parking lot outlet of Bogart's Bar which also was the defunct smoking area. Revelers started to congregate in this area around 1030-1100 and continued to their partying until almost 3am. We made calls to the front desk around 1130pm and again after 1am. The front desk indicated that they would take care of it after the first call. Nothing happened and the partying continued. The 2nd call prompted a response from the front desk saying it was just the noise of people going to the parking lot. We assured them that this was not the case and there was a full blown party going on right outside our window and it sounded like they are in our room with us! We finally got a few hours of sleep and complained to the front desk upon check out. The manager quickly comped our room but didn't seem to care about our suggestions for not placing guests in that situation or handing the smoking area in a different manner. She mainly wanted to get us out of there so other guests would not hear our complaints.

In summary, the hotel is in dire need of a physical makeover and a management makeover.

Room Tip: Rooms on the opposite side of the hotel from Bogart's Bar and the smoking area would likely be quiet compared to our experience!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Two4Tennesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We made this reservation when it was Crowne Plaza for the AL-KY ballgame, but as of Oct 1 it is now just the Campbell House. Thought about changing hotels but I am glad we didn't. It is very charming and elegant with a wonderful restaurant and gift shop. It is like driving up to the grand White House! It could use some updating in certain places but there is so much I wouldn't want to change about the place because of the character and charm. If you like old historic houses and southern elegance, stay here. I am giving it a 4 review just because they didn't clean our room. Don't understand why, but nevertheless they did bring us towels and the stuff we needed. I would stay here again. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got the 3rd floor. But there is a bar/lounge at hotel and we could hear the music beating till really late. That didn't bother us but it might if you went to bed early. We also didn't have a good view. It was of roof, so you might want to ask for quiet room with good view. This is very spread out hotel so I am sure something is possible.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place is in dire need of a makeover.Booked it because other places I have stayed at were sold out due to the opening weekend of Keeneland and UK parents weekend.Price was fine,front desk staff were very nice,bar also good.Room was large,#2043 two places for a fridge but there were none,two flat screen TV's only one worked,bathroom clean room too dark hallways dingy carpets also need to be replaced.Mgmt.must be changing ,hopefully! Roof was leaking big time cups and drink glasses left over from the night before pizza box's overflowing the trash can outside.Shuttle service is nice to have.Booked only out of desperation! I have stayed several times in Lexington before both Holiday Inn Express and the Hilton downtown and they are way better.Avoid this location if possible.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharkman122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews