We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waste of our time”

Waveland State Historic Site
Ranked #32 of 117 things to do in Lexington
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience 19th century plantation life at this historic compound where you can tour the mansion or "big house," see quarters where slaves lived, visit a smokehouse and other elements of daily life in the Old South.
Greenfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Waste of our time”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

After driving almost an hour across town we finally arrived at Waveland. When we arrived we went to the "cabin" as the sign instructed to take a tour of the house. The sign said "tours on the hour". We arrived at 12:55 so thought we would be able to take the 1:00 tour. When we walked in the cabin we were told the guide had gone to lunch and would be back in "around 30 minutes". After 45 minutes, when we were about the leave, the guide returned from lunch. The tour was a total waste of our time and money. The guide walked around three rooms in the house and pointed out a few things and that was it. He then took us to a couple of outbuildings and that was it. The grounds and house are definitely in need of some TLC.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BL571953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    25
    3
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“See how the other half lived...”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The tour guide was most informative about the Bryan family who lived there. It was interesting to see how the antebellum families lived, their luxuries (carpet, sugar). I was surprised that a house of that size only had five rooms to visit and as it was raining it was very dark inside. The slave quarters outside had a very interesting exhibit inside, was warm and well lit. Would like to go back and explore outside when the weather is a little better.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Cricketkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“NEAT!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very cool, if you love history - or even just nature, or even if you don't, enjoy an hour at Waveland. Beautiful old home, great tour guide and amazing place all around.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank brandib22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Waveland State Historic Site”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Oh my gosh where to start!?! I took 2 homeschooled girls to take the tour and how amazing. The guide was very informative and friendly. You were able to get a feel for the way life had been in this home. We had several questions and they were all answered and we never felt hurried to go on with the tour until we were ready. The grounds were clean and very well taken care of and we also made a walk to the flower and herb garden. There's just not enough room to tell you how pleased we were with everything. We also had a sack lunch that we ate at the picnic tables they have on the grounds. Thank you for an experience back in history.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SRosieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Kentucky
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A gem that's tucked away”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Waveland is an estate that was built in the mid-1800s. The home, slave quarters and a few smaller out buildings are all that are left of the original estate. The guide was very knowledgeable of the family and estate, making the tour very interesting and educational. The downside is that, when I was there, there was a single guide and tours were running a little behind. Because of that, the last part of the tour, which included a room about the history of slavery in Kentucky and visiting the outbuildings, were led by the guide's young daughter (also knowledgeable).

It is unfortunate that this estate is somewhat hard to find as not all the signage is clear. But if you're in the area, and have some time, I would recommend a visit to this home.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank captkirk155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waveland State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Waveland State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing