We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Horses 101

We had a great day at the horse park! Spent about 3 hours there. All the staff was helpful and... read more

Reviewed yesterday
MissPersonality
,
Bedford, Indiana
Amazing Equestrian facility

I recently was at the Kentucky Horse Park for the national dressage event. What a beautiful... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Lyn T
via mobile
Read all 2,378 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Lexington
from $38.00
More Info
from $40.00
More Info
from $38.00
More Info
Reviews (2,378)
Filter reviews
2,336 results
Traveler rating
1,719
458
121
26
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,719
458
121
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hall of champions parade of breeds funny cide kids barn southern lights love horses pony rides draft horses horse drawn trolley horseback riding man o' war horse show big barn mounted police horse lover kentucky derby winners famous horses
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,336 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

We had a great day at the horse park! Spent about 3 hours there. All the staff was helpful and was very knowledgeable. Keep in mind that a large part of your time will be spent outdoors, either watching demonstrations, riding the trolley that gives you a short tour of the property, or simply walking from building to building, so dress accordingly. All of the walking paths are paved so it's handicapped accessible. You'll get to see and learn about a variety of horse breeds, take some gorgeous photos, pick up a souvenir from the gift shop, browse thru the extensive museum, and then even enjoy a nice lunch or hot cup of coffee at the onsite restaurant. Several restrooms are scattered throughout the property that are all clean and well maintained. Plenty of parking for large buses or groups. Parking fee is $5. General admission rates go down after Nov 4 or so, if you don't mind being there in the cooler weather. The park is well marked with signs along the highway and was easy to find.

Thank MissPersonality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I recently was at the Kentucky Horse Park for the national dressage event. What a beautiful facility. The grounds were beautiful. Stabling was good. The Altec arena was lovely.

Thank Lyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is THE PLACE to get close to the horses of breeds from around the world. Fascinating museum and loved the interaction with the animals. Fun for the entire family.

Thank Vacation58026593609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This park has so much to offer. It is well-kept. There are many activities, such as the horse- drawn trolley ride and the breed show. The museum is part of the Smithsonian, so the exhi its are exceptional. We wish we had more time to spend there.

1  Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice venue to see well cared for horses and beautiful rolling farms. Take your time and enjoy the scenic countryside and then visit the Horse Park to see stunning horses and learn how they are groomed for racing.

1  Thank Ichabod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really nice place. So many different champions to see. Museum of Saddlebred horses was great. The parade of breeds was interesting. Great facility. Good retirement for the horses. Beautiful grounds.

1  Thank lindafL7396UE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I would recommend this place to anyone seeking to learn more about horses. I think the grounds would be much prettier earlier in the year, as we went in late October, but they were still very well kept. Great gift store with everything equine in it! Wonderful history of the horse museum and much more.

1  Thank athena22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband is a mortician so perhaps we have strange interests. There are many reasons to visit this location. Of course if you love horses or have an interest in race horses. We went because it is on the list of cemeteries to see before you die. Yes that's right. Anyway, very interesting. Enjoyed seeing the markers, the beautiful horses that were there at the tie of our visit. We waited until 4 PM because we could was the grounds for free.The gift shop was really good also.

Thank Deanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ended up staying much longer than planned.
Access to live horses, exhibitions and on-site cafeteria kept us busy exploring, walking.
There is a bit for everyone. From the history displays to hands on a horse experience.
The grounds are accessible

1  Thank GoeieWitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are staying at the adjacent campground, which is lovely. Thus, we got discounted tickets to tour the Horse Park itself. Even with 25% dicsount, don’t feel like we got our money’s worth. Signage is extremely poor plus the map doesn’t match either the road system or the current buildings. Frustrating, irritating, confusing....thus not enjoyable. All printed materials say food service is open until November, but that turned out to be one more piece of misinformation. Lady at the deck didn’t seem to care that she had unhappy visitors. Only worthwhile if you are 200% a horse person.

1  Thank MauryPlace76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews