We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a very highly rated hotel in Lexington, and I'll admit that it's nicer than many places you'll stay. That being said, I have a few qualms with the property. (I want to give it 3 stars, but it was an overall good stay).

We stayed two nights, checking in late on a Friday. No problem, at all. We know Lexington well, so the location, while not in downtown, is close enough to everything (a highlight--check out the Lex. National Cemetery down the road from the hotel---awesome if you love history!)

One issue was the VERY squeaky floor in our third floor room. I feel the the people below us. It was bad and so squeaky!

The breakfast was simple and not so great. Eggs were gross and the biscuits and gravy were not tasty. Coffee was good, and lots of fruit was available. The highlight was easily the pancake machine. I want one for my house!

My biggest issue was what happened on Saturday night. There was a MASSIVE storm that swept through Kentucky, causing tornado warnings throughout the area (the sirens went off in town). After our hotel lost power, I went downstairs to inquire about what to do in case of severe weather (it was pretty severe at that time, but no tornadoes). The lady working the desk didn't know what to do, didn't seem to care, actually, and was more concerned about finding a cigarette to smoke since she couldn't do work due to the power outage. All employees should at least know where guests should go in case of bad weather. So, if the weather is nice when you stay there, you'll have no problems.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macon_volfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walkerw2, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

We would like to thank you for coming and staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express in Lexington, KY. We take pride in providing great hotels that guest love. We are an award winning hotel, with that being said we are not perfect for sure. We hope that the few things that you saw wrong with our hotel will not stop you from coming back and seeing us. We want each hotel guest to be the happiest they can be while staying here. I can assure you that I will be holding another training session to show everyone again where the emergency disaster manual is and what we need to do with each event. We hope that it never happens again, but if the electric does go out we will be prepared. With that being said we hope you all have a wonderful new year and we hope to see you back with us in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 312 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

I had a quick work trip to Lexington and booked this place based on other TripAdvisor reviews. The staff was extremely friendly, helpful, and accomodating--excellent customer service all around. My room was clean and comfortable, though pretty basic; the included breakfast was good (but, again, basic); and the price was very reasonable. I can't speak to the location, though it did seem to be a little removed from the downtown area. I will certainly stay again if I find myself back in Lexington.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCTraveler1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walkerw2, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We're glad that you chose us on your work trip and even more pleased to hear about your pleasant experience. Thanks again for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I found this hotel thru Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. This was the first time I stayed here because my hotel kept slipping down the rankings and it was definitely noted on my last stay at that other hotel.

We checked in late and it was a smooth and easy process. The staff was friendly and this was a trend we noted through the whole trip. The room was clean, always cleaned well and on time. The breakfast were generally good and about as I expect. The one big plus was the cinnamon rolls that they've become known for.

This is my new hotel when visiting the Lexington, Kentucky area and would recommend it for travelers.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Ei and Aar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walkerw2, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

It was wonderful to hear that you had such a pleasant experience here. What made it better was to hear that you will be coming back again. We will look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Lexington. Thank you again. And Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We spent a night here while visiting a friend. The hotel was easy to get to, reasonably priced and either new or well looked after. The Breakfast which was included offered great variety for everyone. We would definitely return if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan3048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walkerw2, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your glowing review. We're always happy to see that we were successful in making your stay one that will keep you coming back again and again. Happy Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights and the room was very clean and quiet. The front desk people were very accommodating and gave us some suggestions and directions. The room also had a microwave and refrigerator and they also gave us two bottles of water and a little bag of cookies when we checked in. They also had a nice breakfast and an indoor swimming pool. We would stay here avon if we revisit Lexington.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poem19girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walkerw2, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review you posted on Tripadvisor. It excites us to hear that we could make your stay such a memorable one. We hope to see you again on your next trip through Lexington. Happy Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed overnight at this hotel. It was a very nice hotel. We were on the ground floor, which was nice and convenient for us b/c we had a baby so it was easy to get in and out without having to use the elevator. The room had 2 beds, desk, frig/microwave, and tv. It was nice but with a baby it was kinda small with everything that we had (stroller, carseat, pack n play etc) but it worked out well for us. The room was clean and everything was very nice. We enjoyed the location very much. We met some family there, so we were there to visit. The area surrounding the hotel is very nice and it gave us the opportunity to walk around without having to stay in the hotel the whole time. There are several restaurants and stores within walking distance which is nice and convenient. We enjoyed 2 restaurants in the area and a nice walk with the baby. We used the pool for a very short amount of time. The breakfast was good. There was a good variety of items to choose from hot and cold and there was always plenty of food. They kept it stocked, so nothing ran out.
One small problem that we noticed as we were packing up to leave was that the window was leaking water onto the heater/air unit b/c it was raining. Not a big deal because we were leaving so it didn't affect us.
The only real inconvenience/disappointment: The party that we were meeting had made the reservation, so we called the day before we were to arrive to confirm the reservation and asked about checking in earlier than the 3pm check in time. We were told to call 1 hr before our arrival and they would make sure our rooms would be ready when we arrived. The party we were meeting got there earlier than we did and our rooms weren't ready as they had told us. When we arrived 1 hr later, the rooms still weren't ready. Having a new baby and traveling, when we arrived, we had to feed the baby, so we just went into the breakfast area where there were comfortable chairs and a couch so we could feed the baby. There were several housekeepers in there appearing to be on break or something (They were pretty loud). We just chatted and hung out. About an hour later we asked about our rooms again, and they still weren't ready. So we left and had lunch and came back...still not ready. Overall we waited 2 hours for our rooms to be ready (3 hours from when the 1st party arrived). It was inconvenient especially since we had a baby, and there really wasn't anywhere for us to hang out other than the breakfast area. (Apparently the breakfast area is where the housekeepers take their break). It would have been nice to have the room ready for us since that is what they told us.
The other party we met mentioned that their frig didn't work, but ours worked fine, as we had to keep breast milk in it for the baby. (Something else we called to confirm is that the room had frig/microwave).
Other than that it was a nice stay and we would stay here again if we were in the area again.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and we really didn't have any issues with noise as far as from outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walkerw2, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

We cant say thank you enough for all of your kind words. The experience that you had with us is all due to our outstanding award winning team. We hope that you continue to stay with us and take full advantage of all of the things we have to offer. We hope that you have a great day and happy holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at this nice hotel while in Kentucky for a wedding. There was a change of plans for my mother, who decided to move to our hotel so that she would be with us for the ride home. I checked with the front desk in the morning to get a rate and check availability. They said that the rate that I got was no longer available, but that they would check with the powers that be to see if they could give my mom the same rate. I received a call from the front desk in the time frame that they said they would call with the good news that mom would get the same rate as me for the night. I really appreciated that they got the rate for her, followed up like they said the would and did it in the time frame that they had stated. I would certainly go back to the clean, convenient and friendly hotel. Their breakfast is also above average, which I had saw when I researched the hotel for our visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walkerw2, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for the kind words. We hope that you return to our hotel for more of our award winning service. I am glad to see that we took care of all of your needs while staying here with us. Please call us in the future for more reservations. Thank you and happy holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lexington
Staybridge Suites Lexington
#27 of 71 in Lexington
109 reviews
3.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Lexington
Candlewood Suites Lexington
#33 of 71 in Lexington
215 reviews
3.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Conference Center North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast

Address: 1780 Sharkey Way, Lexington, KY 40511-2028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lexington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#14 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: $133 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Offers Comfortable Accommodations in Lexington, KY Take a Take a virtual tour of the hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Lexington Northeast is located near many of Lexington s corporate centers and horse racing facilities. Just a few miles from Lexington Bluegrass Airport (LEX), corporate travelers will find our hotel in Lexington close to many businesses. Within one mile, there are 23 major companies including Amazon.com, Coca-Cola Bottling, TAC AIR, FedEx and UPS. Within two miles, you'll find Rupp Arena and the University of Kentucky, the Lexington Convention Center and downtown Lexington.Our hotel is near the Keeneland Race Course, Red Mile Race Course is also nearby. The Kentucky Horse Park, located 10 minutes from our Lexington accommodations, offers museums and exhibits about horse racing, as well as a venue for equestrian and racing competitions. Downtown Lexington boasts museums, historic homes and unique shops. No matter what brings you to Lexington, our hotel offers guests premium amenities, including free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a free hot Express Start breakfast. You'll enjoy the lovely new rooms along with the well-equipped Fitness Center and heated pool that are open every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lexington Northeast
Holiday Inn Express Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing