We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't think we will stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Ashbury Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Grange
Certificate of Excellence
r'clare
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't think we will stay here again”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Booked 2 rooms for 3 nights at this motel for my family. Staff was very friendly and motel looked very clean. When we walked into our adjoining rooms the was an awful smell. The rooms were very clean but the smell was awful. Reported this to the front deck and was told the would look into it. We left to returned late that night to the awful smell so again I reported it to the front deck and was told she was sorry. They would move us but it was completely full, but would make sure something was done the next morning. I ask again the next morning to make sure something would be done and was told again they were looking into it. The manager stop by before we left and told my son that it was the ice machine and they would take care of it. When we returned late that night the smell was even worse. Report it again that night and twice on Sat. and again when I checked out on Sun. Was told they would be a discount on the room rate. When I got home and check the reservation rate the was no discount. If the smell was not there this would be a very nice motel. Sorry, I would not recommend this hotel. We were stuck because no other rooms available in the area (NASCAR weekend)..

Room Tip: This would be a very nice motel if the rooms did not smell so awful. Rooms 124 & 126
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jshock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    72
    23
    13
    13
See reviews for
77
57
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

On a resent trip thru Kentucky we spent the night at the Ashbury Best Western.
We have a special needs child . The manager Dee Milburn went out of his way to accommodate our family.
Clean hotel and great staff.
Nice breakfast bar also.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsrs3kyky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Tripadvisor says this motel ranks the highest, so I really can't imagine what lower ranked motels would be like. We checked in on June 12th for one night. The pool was closed until further notice, but that was not mentioned at check in. The room was reasonably clean (except for the mold on the ceiling and above the tub/shower in the bathroom. The furnishings seemed to be relatively new in the room. The room was reasonably priced and had a microwave and mini fridge. The linens were fresh, but the bed was not very comfortable. There was no security on the outside doors (and from speaking to the people at the desk, that did not seem temporary - basically anyone can walk in the exterior doors without a keycard). Many of the people staying at the motel seemed to be day contract laborers, so some mud was on the floor in the hallways and smokers congregated by the exit doors. Breakfast was okay - cold and hot options. Television channels are limited, but we had no problem with the wireless internet. The motel is conveniently located to everything and not far off the interstate. Downtown La Grange is interesting with a good restaurant and some nice shops. There are plenty of dining options very close by to this motel, as well as a Walmart and Walgreens. I would like to stop in La Grange again if there were better motel options.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdw591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron, GA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Recent stay for 2 nights for funeral. Staff was attentive and courteous. Hotel looks recently updated. Room was large, very clean with comfy bed with high quality linens. Breakfast area was small, but well supplied with the standard choices. Foods were fresh. Eating area was clean and spacious with a TV. We requested a room on the first floor and near the front and we got just that. The hotel is near many chain restaurants right off of Interstate. We ate at the local
Ponderosa and it was good. But the best was One Nineteen on Main. Fantastic Place to eat. Also the Irish Pub was very good. This facility is non-smoking which we really appreciated. I did not smell smoke, except for outdoors. If we ever return to LaGrange we will book this hotel! Well worth it!

Room Tip: Room 115. King room and bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwarren02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, mi
Level Contributor
1,162 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 582 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Make your own buttermilk waffles, southern style biscuits and gravy, custard style scrambled eggs and many other items make this a very good free breakfast.

The room was standard, but comfortable, and included a mini refrigerator.

The location is absolutely great. Near the expressway for easy on and off access. There is a Wal-mart within walking distance, as well as a couple restaurants.

The town of LaGrange is worth visiting. It is about two miles North of the hotel. If you are a railroad fan, you will enjoy the trains that roll through town RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF THE STREET! If you are driving in town and see a TRAIN in your rear-view mirror GET OUT OF THE WAY!!!

Some of the guests that stay here are very ignorant. One contractor that parked his diesel truck outside our room, started up his truck and had it idleing for about a half hour. The exhaust fumes seeped into the room. (this is not a fault of the hotel, although the management should put signs up in the parking lot banning diesel vehicles from parking in the spaces close to the hotel)

Room Tip: Don't get a ground floor room next to the parking lot on the back side of the hotel. Ignorant c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flintjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Decent road trip hotel outside of Louisville. Remodeled, nice lobby area, great breakfast with waffles, biscuits, eggs,etc,work out room. Rooms are remodeled. A little worn still but for one night it's perfect. Large bedroom and quiet. What more do you want on a road trip! I honestly think the people that said it smelled and had dirty blankets were in a different hotel unless they have some rooms that aren't done. Our room was completely new room 327

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmtmrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Clean room and Good location next to ponderosa and Waffle House. People at the desk were very nice and friendly to deal with. Gas station close and on then back on the interstate which is also nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank StephenF303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Grange
Quality Suites
#4 of 4 in La Grange
83 reviews
East Louisville
Drury Inn & Suites Louisville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Louisville
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Northeast
East Louisville
Hampton Inn Louisville-Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ashbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ashbury Inn

Property: Best Western Ashbury Inn
Address: 1005 New Moody Ln, La Grange, KY 40031-9142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > La Grange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Grange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Ashbury Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Ashbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ashbury Hotel Lagrange
Best Western Lagrange
Lagrange Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing