We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the trip ! Great Variety” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of One Nineteen West Main

One Nineteen West Main
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in La Grange
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fun, upbeat, family-friendly with high-quality, New-Southern cuisine. A HUGE menu, huge kid's menu, and huge dessert menu with all items made from scratch, and unique desserts like "Kentucky Bacon Pie", "Fried Pineapple Upside Down Cake", "Banana Toffee Pie", and Madagascar Bourbon Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee!
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the trip ! Great Variety”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We recently went to this restaurant and was very impressed with the variety of the menu choices. It certainly is not a fancy in any way. But the food was just terrific. You can tell that it is made to order. My wife went for the Hot Brown and just loved it as it had some country ham in it and give it a little taste that she loved. I went for the Cheddar Cheeseburger and it was awesome, best burger I have had in quite some time. If you choose that be smart and go for the homemade chips instead of the fries.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KyBluegrassBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    45
    20
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent meals but the furnishings leave much to be desired.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

The food is good but service is a little slow. There is little that makes the food stand out. The restaurant also has board games on the wall which really do not seem make for a professional setting. Things could be far better.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank legalpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little caboose of a restaurant with big engine flavor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had to drive to LaGrange to take a look at a kiln we considered to purchase. When we were finished with business, I asked the seller where is a nice hole in the wall local restaurant they would recommend. Immediately One Nineteen West Main (119 West Main) popped out of her mouth. One of their favorite. They gave us a quick direction to the restaurant and we were off.
Within 5 minutes we were there, submerged in a block of other stores in the middle of town where the stores are offset enough for the train to run right through the middle of the town and street.
We parked and made our way across the street and was greeted by a piece of paper on the window that says use the other door. A menu fastened to a table cloth; draped over a wooden table, was covered with plastic or lamination of some sort. I love off the beaten path good ole local restaurants, but I was a bit skeptical now. Once in, we were greeted with a smile and pleasant sounding host whom seated us at a table one side a bench seat and other side 2 chairs.
Service was fairly quick as we looked about a nice quaint. The walls were decorated with large murals with an old fashioned game board theme (us baby boomers relate to); monopoly, ladders and chutes, who done it, etc.
As our waitress attended to us taking our drink orders, we viewed the menu. This is not your typical menu. It sort of was like a gentle mixture of different and unheard of items.
The menu item were like snow flakes, no two were the same, a little melting pot of fish, a touch of Spanish flavor, some German touches and other dishes with loco names that pertain to trains.
Our choices were:
The Fish You Wish: We “catch” it and serve this steaming hot, flaky fish prepared your favorite way: crispy fried, blackened, or bronzed (lightly blackened) with lettuce, tomato, and tartar sauce!
Fish Reuben:
Train" your eyes on bronzed fish, creamy coleslaw, melty swiss cheese, and 119-thousand island dressing! Try it….nobody likes a sissy.
Shortly our plates were bused to the table and our experience continued. The home style ruffled chips were crispy and crunchy. The cold slaw was tasty and the fish rebuen with cole slaw versus sauerkraut was scrumptious.
To complete our bon appetite, we were delighted with a train coming through town through the middle of town and the middle of the street. What a touch as you could walk to the window and video the up close sight.
Now the coup de foudre, dessert; Kentucky Bacon Pie, out of this world, you have to try.

If you looking a small town eatery with a nice solid punch of delicious flare and reasonable prices and a train through the middle of town, this is a must.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chezhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, KY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant This Side Of The Track”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Lagrange, Ky is one of the most charming little towns you could ever hope to visit. Part of its charm is the railroad that runs right down the middle of downtown Lagrange and One Nineteen West Main is right off the railroad track. My husband, teen son and I recently ate there, against my son's protests. They both had the "Locomotive" which is 1/2 lb. Angus beef "delight" (hamburger) with bacon, ham, cheese, onion, dressing and more along with the BEST chips you could ever imagine. I ordered the smoked corned beef Reuben with kraut along with zucchini fries that came with avocado dip. The Reuben and zucchini fries were so tasty along with an appetizer of fried pickles which started off our meal. Each of us took home half our meal and reheated the food for another meal. The desserts looked great but we were too full to try them. By the way, my reluctant teen wants to return because he LOVED the food! Don't miss this jewel of a restaurant near the track.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute and Quirky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

A cute and quirky little place. Not much but tables and food, but the food was good and the prices aren't bad. The menu had a lot of mexican or mexican inspired food, and they had a few vegetarian options. Also, the bourbon brownie was amazing

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Nineteen West Main also viewed

 

Been to One Nineteen West Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing