We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Oak Lodge

Contemporary living, eco-friendly design, all the comforts for a great getaway
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Contemporary living, eco-friendly design, all the comforts for a great getaway
Bi-fold doors open onto the wide sun-deck and private garden The open plan living room is comfortably furnished, with armchair and large sofa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Contemporary living, eco-friendly design, all the comforts for a great getaway
Bi-fold doors open onto the wide sun-deck and private garden
The open plan living room is comfortably furnished, with armchair and large sofa
The spacious south-facing decking is equipped for outdoor dining and lounging in the sun
The deck area is for evening use too, with ample and atmospheric lighting.
In countryside in the heart of East Anglia, close to the attractive town of Bury St Edmunds
The bedroom has ample wardrobe space, a dressing table/desk, small TV/DVD player, and patio doors
Comfort levels are high - all windows and doors are triple glazed, and there is underfloor heating
The Elizabethan Wyken Hall and Vineyards, a short drive or pleasant country walk away.
Our two lodges are situated in our large garden, but within their own private space
Just a short walk away, Sid's Piece is Stanton's local wildlife reserve.
Oak Lodge is one of just two high specification lodges, each with private garden and secure parking.
The dining table has its own stylish lamp for a romantic dining experience
The fully equipped kitchen will keep most cooks happy, with four hobs, conventional oven and freezer
You will find the large shower in the stylish contemporary bathroom
Suffolk has a wealth of local food producers, and a small selection of food will greet you
Suffolk is one of the driest and sunniest parts of the UK - enjoy the al fresco experience!
The dining area is close to the modern kitchen, which also includes dishwasher and a washing machine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stanton, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
June H
2 reviews
“Perfect ”
Reviewed October 29, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We went to oak cottage for a five day break. Wow what an amazing home from home. We will be returning in the summer. Everything you need is here. Spotless modern..yet so homely..Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
Your review is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you again. Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gem of a find! ”
Reviewed August 25, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wow! Oak lodge is breath taking in its own private garden, on arrival a short walk from the car park, beautiful surroundings and peacefully quiet, didn't hear anything from the other lodges even though they were all booked. A lovely welcome note and treats awaited such a lovely personal touch, with a really informative folder of local amenities!
I was looking for a last minute retreat for rest and relaxation and that is exactly what was achieved; very much a home from home feel with a good supply of books and dvd's to watch, if needed. Stanton is situated 30min drive to bury st Edmunds and plenty of information of other interests and things to do locally. I will definitely be returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2016
We're pleased to hear that Oak Lodge provided the peaceful break you were looking for, and thanks for submitting your review. We hope to see you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish B
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had another excellent stay at Oak Lodge this Bank Holiday, this time our friends came too and stayed next door in Cedar Lodge, which has a hot tub. We had a thoroughly lovely time, the weather was great, we cycled to the next village for lunch in the Blue Boar which I would highly recommend and also had dinner one evening in the Six Bells in Bardwell, again excellent food and a friendly landlord who gave us a lift home!! Ian and Debbie have done a great job with these lodges, they are building two new ones on site. They have south facing very private gardens and lots of birds come to visit. We will definitely be back again next year for another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the spacious lodge
Liked least: not enough cutlery and glasses
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2016
Thanks for a great review and we're pleased you found two pubs nearby which are well-known locally for their good food. We'd love to see you all back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S
Longfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed April 21, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were impressed with the lodge, it was very well presented and had everything that could be wanted for an enjoyable stay.
The owners have achieved a very high standard with this lodge which would hard to match.
The garden would have been nice if the weather had been better, we should have come later in the year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2016
Thanks for your kind review and we're glad you had a relaxing stay. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph D
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed March 30, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a lovely relaxing stay here for 3 nights over the Easter weekend. The lodge was easy to find and had ample parking on arrival. We was welcomed with a beautiful hamper of goodies, fresh flowers and a personalised note which made us feel welcome immediately. The lodge was spotlessly clean and warm when we arrived. There was lots of information both about the lodge and tourist interest in various folders, as well as a selection of books ,DVD's , and games available. The kitchen equipment, was extensive with everything that you would need and more. The lodge is set in a private landscaped garden which has direct access through bi-fold doors from the lodge. It was very peaceful and just what we needed to recharge our batteries. We didn't meet our hosts Debbie and Ian but information was left should we have needed to contact them. We would definitely recommend, and will return ourselves if time permits.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2016
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Easter weekend stay.
Thank you for your kind review..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex W
Ulladulla, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Private Garden”
Reviewed September 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Park the car. Walk about 30 meters down a flagstone path between high fences, open the gate to 'Oak Lodge', and WOW. Enter the private landscaped garden with sunning deck and see the lodge with the fully opening patio doors.
Appreciation of the quality continues inside the lodge.
Well situated geographically for excursions to many places of interest either by the sea or inland.
A great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked least: Would have liked an earlier check in than 4pm.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review 'Oak Lodge' we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Wayne...
2 reviews
“absolutely wonderful.”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We enjoyed every minute of our short break. The lodge was very stylish,clean and comfortable. Weather brilliant so relaxed in total peace and privacy in the garden. Would definitely recommend to anyone and hope to return again ourselves at some point.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: style and privacy
Liked least: the can opener
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2015
Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and many thanks for giving us your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing