We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sao Joao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed and Breakfast Miradouro da Papalva Guest House INN ID No. #1229
Ranked #1 of 2 Sao Joao B&B and Inns
Torino
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place, nice people”
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Very comfortable this guesthouse is located in Sao Joao on the south coast of the island PICO. It’s more than just bed and breakfast, you’ll benefit from full guest service and native advice! Our host John turned out to be hospitality in person!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexmichelpoiccard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    12
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Fantastic place! Luxury in practical way.

The guest house is in Sao Joao village, about 40mins from Madalena port. The house lies above the village and it has 180 degree ocean view. All four rooms are very good, we stayed our holiday in Nathan's room with westerly ocean and mount Pico view.
The trip was about to enjoy swimming with dolphins (recommend tour leader: Espaco Talassa, boat trips starts from Lajes do Pico, 15mins east from guest house).

Hosts John and Pam helped us in all kinds of way to enjoy our time in Pico (information about history, things to do, maps, etc) . They also created us an excellent barbecue from local fresh fish and we also got some fresh eggs in the morning from their chickens.

Next week we travelled in Sao Miguel island (Ponta Delgada-Nordeste-Povoacao) and stayed in 4-star hotels and still missed back to this guest house. We'll definitely come back to Miradouro da Papalva Inn, spend some time with dolphins and whales, explore Pico-island and the islands nearby (Sao Jorge, Gaciosa, Faial and Terceira) .

Stayed August 2009
Helpful?
Thank tha_finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2009

We came to the Azores on a whale and dolphin watching holiday, which was truly amazing. We were really fortunate in finding the Miradouro da papalva guest house inn. Not only was it a beautiful location, with ocean views from the rooms and our outdoor dining and kitchen area, but the hospitality and generosity of John and Pam ensured our whole trip went smoothly. John was generous, knowledgeable, hospitable and clearly loved sharing his guest house and his island with visitors. One evening when we found the local fish restaurant we had planned to eat at closed, John and Pam came to our rescue with a delightful home cooked meal on the veranda. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineLewesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2007

If you want to see beautiful country and people and stay in a place that is a home away from your home, then the Miradouro Da papalva is for you.
Pico is a magical place. It will inspire your thoughts and your senses.
John and Pam "Mama" are gracious hosts and do everything to make your stay the best it can be. You will never find service and hospitality of their caliber at a hotel.
Our room was beautiful, spacious, and complete with views of the ocean and Pico.
My favorite activities apart from eating "Mama's" cooking was swimming in the natural pools, and touring the island with John. I enjoyed lovely dinners at Restaurante Marisqueira de Manuel Maciel.
I will definately go back.

  • Liked — John and Pam
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ilovepico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2007

This comfortable guesthouse is located in Sao Joao (near Lajes) on the south coast of the island PICO. It’s more than just bed and breakfast, you’ll benefit from full guest service and native advice! Our host John turned out to be hospitality in person!!! He picked us up at the port, offered to drive us around the island to certain villages and places and provided tons of helpful insider information (e.g. local restaurants, kind taxi guy, sights, museums, rural festivals…) and helped to organise our mountain guide and whalewatching and dolphinswimming excursion (without provision!). John really did everything in his power to assure a pleasant stay for us and was anxious that we would not miss any spot that’s worth seeing. Finally, I was glad to celebrate my birthday with John and his wife Pamela in a family-like atmosphere, they even obtained a birthday cake!

Because of it's favorable, but quiet situation, this is in our opinion the perfect accommodation to start to discover all the inherent natural beauties of the island. You enjoy a great view on the mountain Pico as well as over the sea. No matter if you want to go whalewatching or swim with dolphins, visit the impressive Gruta das Torres or the cities Madalena and Sao Roque, or, of course, climb up Pico - it's always likely to be the shortest way from here!

You’ll find some pictures from our holiday on the Acores
at [--]

  • Liked — Hospitality and Guest Service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank andi_and_katja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2007

If you are looking for a wonderful place to stay on Pico island, this is it! The house has 3 very clean and nice rooms. The view is really beautiful (see pictures made from "our" room). Our hosts, John and Pam are so kind, helpfull and they know so much about the island. There is so much to do on Pico island. We have been hiking, whalewatching, swimming with dolphins, visiting a lava grotto,
to Faial (you also can go to Sao Jorge) and more. We had a great time here!

  • Liked — The hospitality of our hosts, the room and the view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kim14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2007

This is a great Bed and Breakfast located on the stunning Island of Pico in the Azores. The hosts are incredibly helpful and hospitable and the accommodation was very clean and comfortable. It is located high up with amazing views of the Pico volcano and the sea. A terrific spot for walking, climbing the volcano and dolphin and whale watching.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Door handles
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank claremark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sao Joao
2.8 mi away
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
#1 of 2 in Lajes do Pico
248 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Caravelas
Hotel Caravelas
#1 of 1 in Madalena
206 reviews
12.2 mi away
Alma do Pico
Alma do Pico
#1 of 7 in Madalena
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
A Casa do Ouvidor
A Casa do Ouvidor
#1 of 4 in Sao Roque do Pico
42 reviews
7.9 mi away
Adegas do Pico
Adegas do Pico
#1 of 7 in Sao Roque do Pico
83 reviews
12.0 mi away
Al-novavista Alojamento
Al-novavista Alojamento
#6 of 7 in Madalena
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Miradouro da Papalva Guest House INN ID No. #1229? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Miradouro da Papalva Guest House INN ID No. #1229

Property: Bed and Breakfast Miradouro da Papalva Guest House INN ID No. #1229
Address: Ramal Salazar No. 13 | Sao Joao Pico Azores, Sao Joao, Pico 9930-427, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Pico > Sao Joao
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sao Joao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1- High season rates start at €65.00 Euros per night stay. Single €55.00. -Low season rates start at €49.00. 2- We accept payments by bank transters or Pay-Pal. 3- Suites have ocean views, mini bar in suites, private bathroom. 4- Open outside ktichen, that is fully stocked, that all guests can use. 5- An undisturbed volcanic paradise, on a rural setting on the Atlantic Ocean. 6- Satellite Dish TV Provided. Guided Tour of Pico island available, Whale watching, Museums, Fishing, Hiking, trail walking, Pico Mountain climbing. 7- Authentic local cuisine nearby. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing