We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Weekend in Colwalll”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colwall
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Newick East Sussex
12
Reviewed March 13, 2006

We spend a wonderfull weekend in Colwall Park Hotel.
The hotel is well of easy reach with train station just in the back, direct from London.
The service was magnificent and the food absolutly superb.
Being a frenchman I like my food and wine, and I cannot fault this place.
A must for the gourmets of this world.
Michel Raffray

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 637 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Shropshire, UK
17
Reviewed December 27, 2005

This Hotel advertised a package for Christmas 2005 at a cost per person of £150 per night. They stated a Silver Band would entertain with Carols on Christmas Eve. There was No Band. This was a key selling point for my wife and I as we both play in Brass Bands. We even recommended it to our friends and they joined us for the three night stay. The hotel advertised a-la-carte menus for xmas eve and boxing day but we had Table D,ote menus provided. There is quite some difference.
Room 4 where our friends stayed had cobwebs in the bay window. Just in accomodation charges this hotel made £1800 from us and when we complained to the receptionist the owners disappeared. just an apology from the receptionist. The bar prices were rediculous. They are charging 4* prices for what was barely 2* fascilities. The same food was served every day in different guises. The coffee was rancid. The porridge served up on the final morning wasburnt and had to be sent back. I cannot believe this hotel has 3* from both AA and RAC

Stayed: December 2005
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 29, 2005

The Malvern Hills Silver Band were booked to appear on Xmas Eve but, due to circumstances beyond their control, had to cancel without notice at the last minute.
Our Lanter Bar food & drink prices are very similar to all pubs around us, but the food is much better quality, which is why we have so many locals using the bar every day.
Every other guest thoroughly enjoyed their Xmas Break with us and they all expressed their appreciation of the splendid meals and friendly staff. One guest couple said it was the finest restaurant food they had eaten - up to 2 star Michelin standard!

It just goes to show that you can't please all of the people all of the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Monks Risborough, Bucks
12
Reviewed December 8, 2005

This is the 3rd or 4th visit we've made and it goes from strength to strength. The rooms are big, the beds comfortable, the bathrooms are big, with a decent sized bath - important if you're 6 ft and over - and all are well equipped. The food gets better and better, and the wine list is varied and interesting.
The staff always seem willing to do anything for guests, and with a smile, which generally means the owners are good people to work for. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2005

It is some time since we stayed here and we were very impressed once more on our latest visit. It is always nice to see professionals in action and the management, staff (and chef!)were as friendly and helpful as ever. Our room was comfortable and well furnished and the bathroom brand new. The hotel has collected several Awards for its food in our absence and they are all well deserved if our dinner was anything to go by. We also enjoyed the bar food at lunch time, hungry as we were after a glorious morning's walk on the beautiful Malvern Hills. It really is a lovely part of the country and there is no shortage of things to see and do. We're already looking forward to the next time!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gourmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lewes, England
13
Reviewed November 19, 2005

We stayed at Colwall Park two years previously and had a great time. This time we noted that the owners have carried out further improvements and completely repainted the exterior; Colwall Park must have looked like this in its heyday 100 years ago, a grand Edwardian country hotel.
Our room was spacious and stylish and the food in the pristine restaurant truly excellent. We enjoyed the friendly and informal bar, which seems to be equally popular with the locals, so there was no cathedral-like hush that you get in some country house hotels. The staff were outstanding, achieving that difficult balance of informality and attentivenes that contributes to the general feeling of well-managed relaxation.
Colwall Park is not stunningly cheap (they do have some good deals though) but it compares very favourably with similar hotels that we have visited. We consider we get real value for our money when we want a pampered break in the countryside.
Would we come again? Of course!

Stayed: November 2005
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2005

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoSchmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 6, 2005

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2005

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColmKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colwall
1 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
998 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#10 of 10 in Great Malvern
27 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 10 in Great Malvern
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#8 of 10 in Great Malvern
478 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Great Malvern Hotel
Great Malvern Hotel
#7 of 10 in Great Malvern
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant

Address: Walwyn Road | Colwall, Colwall, Great Malvern WR13 6QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Great Malvern > Colwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colwall
Price Range: $90 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for superb food and friendly efficient service, Colwall Park is a luxury hotel in Malvern located halfway between the Cotswolds and Welsh Marches and just 15 minutes from M5/M50. Enjoy the warmth and comfort of a welcoming country house hotel complete with walks on the Malvern Hills direct from our gardens! Dine on gourmet food in our award-winning Seasons Restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea in a Worcestershire setting, and try our popular Lantern Bar - a meeting place for locals and residents alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing