We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing place run well by a great staff team”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colwall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This hotel is extremely well run. Friendly efficient staff know exactly what the client wants. Breakfast superbly done, quality produce used and promptly served. Bathrooms sparkingly clean.
Bar meal: super tender roast beef sandwich, melt in the mouth best I've ever had. Truly outstanding.
The hotel dates back to 1905 and is 2 minutes from Colwall station. Hotel pictures linked to website are a bit deceptive - the ample parkland is in fact not surrounding the entire building - but is on one side. The other three sides are a street, ample parking (between hotel and station) and a reasonably quiet road.
The downsides of the Colwall Park are to do with the buildings age and the legacy of a different hotel culture typical of the period 1930-1950. In those days: hotels were places to sleep and be fed, and socialise. Guests in those days spent little time in their rooms apart from sleeping. So, the rooms today are quite cramped (we stayed in a standard double - not the smallest). There is no room for more than one suitcase to be placed in an accessible position. TVs are on the small side. Wifi good and quite fast.
In compensation, the social spaces are ample and much larger than more modern hotels . On the first floor there's a good sized lounge with armchairs and sofas. It overlooks the well-kept gardens. There's a larger, library type lounge on the ground floor and the bar is also spacious.
You can walk straight out of the hotel over the rail bridge to a path leading on to the Malvern Hills. Also very pleasant walk up the hill to brilliant Chase Inn pub - which has a great west-facing garden, perfect for a real ale (or three) sundowner.
Colwall is perfect for arriving by rail - direct service from London. Short journey to nearby Malvern and Ledbury (c 10 mins).
Modern tourists undoubtedly prefer to treat their hotel rooms like a self-contained flat with space to hibernate in when the weather isn't good. The Colwall Park won't score highly on this scale.
In sum, thoroughly recommend the Colwall Park but lack of room space could be a deal-breaker for some. I would definitely stay again, now that I understand that service given by genuinely pleasant staff far outweighs a lack of room space. Thanks to all at the hotel !

Room Tip: Request a room on the north side (facing the garden)
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RiodeJaneiroWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for your very kind review and we are very pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed our food, staff and location.
As a 100+ purpose built hotel you quite rightly point out that we have several large communal areas and all the bedrooms are individual, both in size and decor. Our Select rooms, for instance, are some 40% larger than standard rooms and feature king size beds and larger flat screen TVs, all for a mere £30 extra per night.
We believe it's nice to have this individuality as too many modern hotels just offer identical size cubicles with no comfort feel or guest lounges to relax in.

Iain & Sarah Nesbitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
There are newer reviews for Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 605 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

We booked for a three night stay midweek. The setting is very attractive, placed in the centre of the village and at the western foot of the Malvern Hills. There is plentiful car parking at the rear or the hotel, Colwall rail station is literally two minutes walk away and the Ledbury to Malvern bus service which follows the scenic route stops almost outside two hourly each way. The building with its black and white timbered facia, circa 1907, gives it great character and the interior has been sympathetically modernised retaining an ambience in keeping with its age but with completely up to date facilities and a fresh appearance in terms of décor. Everything is very well maintained. Our bedroom was on the front of the building and very comfortable. No problems in sleeping! The only downside is the lack of a lift, but staff would be available to help with luggage. Breakfast included a good cold buffet and excellent freshly cooked meals with guests able to chose how much or how little they would like. Dinners were of the highest quality and there is a very good wine list. Our most genial waiter had excellent knowledge of both the food and the wine. Likewise the bar is very well stocked, popular with locals as well as visitors and serves bar meals. Finally, and very importantly, the service is of the highest standard with all of the staff being very polite, friendly and efficient. The whole ethos of the place is to put guests first. We totally recommend this hotel for a stay.

Room Tip: The front of the building overlooks the road and village, although we didn't find it noisy, even...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seagulls_view2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you very much indeed for your very kind and comprehensive review, which we think ideally sums up everything we try so hard to offer at Colwall Park - outstanding food · great service · beautiful hotel.
We look forward to seeing you back here again soon.
Iain & Sarah Nesbitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We booked a weekend Gourmet break, checking in on Easter Saturday for two nights.

The excellent service started with a warm greeting the moment we walked through the door. The lady on the front desk was very friendly and attentive which continued the whole time she was on duty.

Our (classic) double room was spotless, well decorated and very comfortable. With more than adequate heating, an en-suite bathroom with overhead shower.

Having bought a accom/food package, I was worried that our choices would be limited, I needn't have worried. The choice was from the full A la carte menu, the food perfect and service impeccable.

The combination of outstanding food, great service and a beautiful hotel made our relaxing getaway break (our anniversary) one to remember.

Thank you all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review which covers all the areas we try so hard to be good at - the combination of outstanding food, great service and a beautiful hotel.
Our dinner bed & breakfast rates always include free choice from our award winning a la carte dinner menu, with no restrictions and no annoying surcharges that too many other hotels try to impose.
So glad you enjoyed your anniversary here and hope to see you back again in the near future.

Iain & Sarah Nesbitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We enjoyed a very warm welcome at this large country hotel the weekend 14-16th March 2014 in the small village of Colwall. We appreciated the hotel 'old world' lounges, a comfortable bedroom with a modern bathroom and a cosy public bar with excellent 'pub grub' and good selection of whiskeys and other drinks we had never tried before our stay. The decor and ambience of the hotel drifts into the dining room, where we were delighted with the silver service and excellent cuisine at night and first class breakfast in the mornings. All the staff were quite friendly and helpful with suggestions for exploring the area, which made for a very pleasant stay indeed. We certainly did not find time for the fitness centre or the pool!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonduk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your first visit to the glorious Malvern Hills area and our wonderful food of course.
Perhaps next time you might care to try the Two Mile Walk in the fields around our village, which is much more fun that a gym or pool!! :-)

Iain & Sarah Nesbitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Booked a B&B plus dinner deal direct from hotel. Room we had at the front was not large (rm 7?) but smart, warm, clean & good beds. Bathroom small but modern with a good shower. I liked the hotel which had lots of space in the public areas, a real log fire in the bar, 2 local real ales & friendly helpful staff. The dinner was very good & the full English breakfast was out standing with every part top quality & cooked perfectly, plus some very nice marmalade to finish.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Crispybacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for your kind review and glad to hear you enjoyed our Award Winning food, particularly our Heart of England breakfast.. We are very lucky to have some excellent local suppliers who always provide fresh and tasty products, like our bacon, eggs and sausages.
Hope to see you back again soon.

Iain & Sarah Nesbitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Saturday 22nd March we arrived, just for a night away as a break from the norm. The hotel had a pleasant atmosphere, it was a little dated but I gather its down to preference, I would say being in our late thirties and early forties we were certainly the youngest guests staying it seemed. Attracted an older generation I would say. However, the staff were very friendly, the room was great, large, with a very generous bed and clean modern bathroom. Very comfortable and relaxing. In the evening we ate in the bar, amongst the Jazz folk whom were there for a band. Curry and jazz evening! We skipped the curry and the jazz and ate from the bar menu, I must say the food was fantastic.. absolutely! The vodka and tonics were slipping down nicely too. We did not hang around as we were in a bar outnumbered by a maturer clientele, no offence!! So headed back to our room. Breakfast was served in a lovely period room, friendly waiting staff and again could not fault the full English. Being walkers we went on the 2 mile walk of which directions are printed and on offer in the reception. That was pleasant, headed back to Warwickshire stopping off in Malvern and walking further up the hills. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHumphriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thank you for your kind review and we agree that the Jazz & Curry night did seem to attract more of the older generation, although the younger generation are starting to discover. the pleasure of good jazz again!
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed our food, both bar food and breakfast, and the large variety of walks available around the Malvern Hills, home to the great composer Edward Elgar.
Hope to see you back again for more walks and fantastic food.

Iain & Sarah Nesbitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We visited for the first time today for Sunday lunch, the food was wonderful and the service excellent, the huge plus for us was that they understood Coeliac disease and even provided us with gluten free bread. Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank sceneryWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you for posting your kind review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed Sunday lunch at Colwall Park. Sunday is the one day of the week where we offer the same lunch menu in both our Seasons Restaurant and Lantern Bar, so you can choose an informal bar environment if you prefer. Also glad to hear that we catered properly for your Coeliac problem.
Hope to see you back here again soon.

Iain & Sarah Nesbitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colwall
1.0 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
949 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Great Malvern
143 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 10 in Great Malvern
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#7 of 10 in Great Malvern
462 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Great Malvern Hotel
Great Malvern Hotel
#8 of 10 in Great Malvern
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant

Address: Walwyn Road | Colwall, Colwall, Great Malvern WR13 6QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Great Malvern > Colwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colwall
Price Range: $95 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for superb food and friendly efficient service, Colwall Park is a luxury hotel in Malvern located halfway between the Cotswolds and Welsh Marches and just 15 minutes from M5/M50. Enjoy the warmth and comfort of a welcoming country house hotel complete with walks on the Malvern Hills direct from our gardens! Dine on gourmet food in our award-winning Seasons Restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea in a Worcestershire setting, and try our popular Lantern Bar - a meeting place for locals and residents alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing