We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Malvern Hills Hotel(Great Malvern)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Abbey Hotel(Great Malvern)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Pleasant Hotel(Great Malvern)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Holdfast Cottage Hotel(Great Malvern)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foley Arms Hotel(Great Malvern)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Great Malvern Hotel(Great Malvern)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (665)
Filter reviews
665 results
Traveler rating
406
179
41
26
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
406
179
41
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmalvern hillscream teacountry house hoteltrain stationtravelzoo deala la carte menubar menuboth nightsscallopspublic roomstwo night stayfriendly hotelhomemade biscuitscooked to perfectionsuperior roomlong weekendevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
419 - 424 of 665 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We went for a weekend break with family to this hotel and it really was worth every penny. The Hotel is in a village, looks very attractive inside and out and is on the doorstep of The Malverns. And there is ample parking.
Nothing was too much trouble for anyone and the staff were friendly, courteous and always helpful, but at the same time not intrusive.
When i phoned to book, we got a great deal from a very helpful person ( better than some similar others in the area) . The rooms were beautifully decorated and the whole ambience of the hotel was wonderful. We love the extra lounges and the pile of board games.
The breakfast was very good- very tasty food, eaten in a wonderful setting with very attentive staff. The evening meal was just superb.We had DB&B on one night and there was none of the usual 'you must pay £5 surcharge for.........' , we all had exactly what we wanted! They even gave us extra little jugs of the sauces, changed extra little accompaniments and discretely gave my daughter a large print menu ( we had asked for by e-mail), as she is visually impaired. Congratulations to the chef and all the staff.
You can eat in the dining room, which is very stylish, or the bar, which has a country pub feel.
The hotel was not very busy ( it is still Winter),it was cold out ( plenty of extra heaters and blankets if needed), there is no pool or Leisure Centre( we don't all come for a get healthy weekend), the stairs creak ( my husband and daughter's favourite game all weekend was avoid the creaks); but if you want to stay in a quintissential English hotel, be treated to the highest standards of comfort, cleanliness and hospitality, then this is the hotel for you.
I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing break in that area.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 21 on the top floor, with our daughter ( who is a young adult). The door opened onto a corridor with a lovely double room on the left, a shared bathroom in the centre and a separate large room for her on the right- great for older children!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for your very kind and generous review. We are glad to see that you all enjoyed the wonderful friendly hospitality we offer as well as the pleasures of this part of hidden England. It really is a joy to motor on traffic free roads. We have the Malvern Hills on our doorstep, as well as the Cotswolds and Welsh Marches within easy distance.
Hope to see you all back here again soon.

Iain & Sarah Nesbitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We visited in 2005 and were very impressed by the welcome we received and the air of total relaxation at the Colwall Park Hotel. We visited again in January 2014 for a two night break and we were so pleased to find that the high standards of comfort and hospitality were still in evidence.

We stayed in Room 2, a superior room - large and comfortable and furnished in keeping with this grand Edwardian hotel. I have uploaded some photos of Room 2.

What I liked particularly were the old photos of the hotel and the adjacent horse racing track (now gone) displayed on the hotel walls plus a huge old ledger from the hotel dated 1907 which is on display on the 1st floor. Don't think any of the modern hotel chains could manage that!

Behind the hotel is a footpath over the small single track railway where you can walk right up into the Malvern Hills. A stunning and scenic walk in every way.

As well as the total comfort of the room and high standards of cleanliness and housekeeping - the food is great as well whether you eat in the Lantern Bar or the main restaurant.

If you like walking the Malvern Hills - or want to discover them - or just want to chill in comfortable surroundings then try the Colwall Park Hotel. The lovely towns of Malvern, Hereford and Ledbury are only a short distance away by car if you are not a walker. Even if you don't drive - the hotel has Colwall station nearby and you can get a train out from Birmingham New Street directly to it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arromanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Many thanks indeed for your really great review and we hope your recent visit may persuade you to come back soon. We would love to see you here again enjoying everything this glorious part of hidden England has to offer - from the Welsh Marches to the Malvern Hills.

Iain & Sarah Nesbitt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had another perfect stay just before Christmas. Dinner was superb (mainly good hearty British food using local ingredients). The hotel itself was tastefully decorated, and the bar bustling with good cheer. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiBsrker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for your kind review and we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you back here soon.

Iain & Sarah Nesbitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

As always, nothing at all appeared to have changed since previous visits when we stayed here at New Year.
The owners are as welcoming as ever and every one of the key staff is still here and still providing faultless and unobtrusive service.
Thankfully the Chef is still here too, since one of the main reasons we stay here is because we know that we're going to be well fed! And true to form didn't let us down once.
So, story as before really. A very reliable, well run hotel with a more than capable chef, which I think delivers a very acceptable overall experience for the price.

Room Tip: We've had a number of rooms here. They're all totally acceptable but if I was forced to choose I'd say Room 1.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gourmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for your kind review and it's good to see that we are still doing everything to your liking and we're glad you enjoyed your New Year's Break in Colwall.
Hope to see you back here soon.

Iain & Sarah Nesbitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed over Xmas and New Year while visiting family in the area and the hotel and their brilliant staff were faultless. Every meal was superb and every request was resolved promptly and with a smile.
The chefs clearly know what they're doing and from breakfast to dinner was memorable.
Stayed in one of the superior rooms and it was well worth the extra money.
Colwall Park is one of the best 3 star hotels I've stayed in.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank MichelinTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for your review and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed the Christmas and New Year's break with us.
Our friendly staff work hard to ensure everyone has a relaxed and enjoyable stay here - particularly important over the festive season.
Hope to see you back here soon.

Iain & Sarah Nesbitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews