We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colwall
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
130 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just had a delightful overnight stay. The hotel looks very pleasant inside and out. It looks like they are in the process of improving so there are some lovely period features and antiques dotted around mingled with some more contemporary decor. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Booking and checking in/out were easy. We ate in the bar in the evening and the food was good. The full english breakfast was good although the healthy option was a bit limited. There was a huge car park and spacious well-kept grounds. Our room was well appointed and had some nice bits of furniture. It was spotlessly clean and the bed comfortable. I really couldn't fault it, especially at the price. I wish we could have stayed longer, especially to find out who is the serial wife beater who was about to be "outed" on the notice board of the church next door. Could have been in a Midsomer Murder!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balgownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we're glad you enjoyed everything we have to offer, but we must admit we are totally baffled with your comments about the wife beater who was about to be "outed", as we have neither a church nor a notice board next door to us.
Perhaps it was an advert for the Colwall Players latest production you saw?
Hope you see you back again soon so we can sort this mystery out.
Iain & Sarah Nesbitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    148
    32
    19
    10
See reviews for
78
309
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have stayed here several times and each trip is excellent. The staff are always very friendly and very efficient and many have been here for all the years we've been coming.
Food is always superb and great value. Head chef deserves an award for his consistently excellent cooking.
And when the sun comes out the Malvern Hills are glorious.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelinTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and it's very pleasing to see so many returned guests.
Good to hear that our food and team are still top notch. That's what we pride ourselves on, so we work hard to maintain high standards.
It's tempting to say that the sun always shines on Colwall, but we must admit the hills are even more glorious when it does shine!!!
Hope to see you back here again soon.
Iain & Sarah Nesbitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were not sure what to expect but were pleasantly surprised and pleased with our stay. Staff were very helpful and efficient. The hotel has a lovely large garden complete with croquet lawn and boules. There is also a beautiful walk up the hills behind the hotel which will take you through fields of sheep and back through the village of Colwall. Although the train station is nearby the hotel, we were not disturbed by any noise. The cooked breakfast was excellent and there is the choice of either the bar menu or the dining room menu for dinner. Both have a pretty good choice. Unfortunately my Hereford beef short rib was a little tough but all the dishes were well presented and of large portion.

The rooms are all different in size and character. There is no elevator, so if you have small children or heavy luggage you may consider the 1st floor, where there rooms seem smaller. The 2nd floor rooms seem larger with suites, but take care not to bump your head on the angled roof in some of the rooms.

Our room was slightly let down by poor cleaning. There were 2 spiders in the bathroom ceiling (which were removed on the second day) and the previous guest's used shampoo and bath gel had not been removed. Curtains did not block out the light or draw properly but a hair-clip managed to do the trick.

Generally, we did enjoy ourselves and were quite lucky with the weather.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Potato100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed our location, service and food.
We are also pleased you had time to explore our large gardens and the delightful two mile walk around the village that we suggested.
Iain & Sarah Nesbitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Haven't stayed here for a while but pleased to say it's as reliable as ever. The owners are still very much hands on and their enthusiasm and eagerness to please seems to rub off on the staff, whatever job they are doing. I didn't eat in the main restaurant but had a very enjoyable meal in the bar, which had a nice 'local' buzz about it. No complaints about my room either. Difficult to fault the place really.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gourmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we hope we can encourage you to keep returning, just to check that we are "still going strong"
We must admit that we have a great crew working with us and we are very lucky to be situated in such a wonderful friendly village with some of the best scenery in England on our doorstep.
Iain & Sarah Nesbitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were on a 3 nights for the price of 2 B & B rate. We had to eat in the restaurant one night as part of the deal. This did not disappoint - food and service excellent. The other nights we ate in the bar which was very relaxed and friendly - the tapas 3 for £10 were great value and different! Other dishes equally as good and well presented. The breakfast was served to you in the traditional way - again couldn't fault anything. All the staff were so welcoming and helpful - they couldn't do enough for you. The room was large, comfortable bed, plenty of hot water - good shower. We requested a quiet room with a view which is exactly what we got. The Malvern Hills are easily accessible from the hotel straight over the railway bridge and great views from the top. First visit to this area but it won't be our last!

Room Tip: Anyone with mobility problems may struggle with a 2nd floor room but the view of the Malvern hills a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind and comprehensive review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your first vsist to the Malvern Hills. It really is a beautiful, peaceful & unspoilt part of rural England.
We have only just started our "tapas" menu, in addition to the brasserie and fine dining choices, and most people think it has offered more choice in the Lantern Bar menu.
Hope to see you back here again soon.

Iain & Sarah Nesbitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days and loved it - a beautiful hotel with picturesque surroundings. The room and service were excellent, nicely decorated and incredibly comfortable; and the staff were friendly and chatty. We went into the restaurant and found they took a lot of pride in locally sourcing produce - rightly so, and it was excellent.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review which sums up nicely exactly what we try so hard to offer here - outstanding food and exceptional service in peaceful rural surroundings.

Iain & Sarah Nesbitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food and service nothing was too much trouble good choice of fresh local food in the seasons restaurant and vegetarian selections for a change more than one! Not the cheapest meal in this area but worth a visit.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our Seasons Restaurant, which is also shown under 'restaurants' on a seperate TripAdvisors page, and to hear your visit from Worcester was worthwhile.
Hope to see you back again soon.

Iain & Sarah Nesbitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colwall
2.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#7 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Malvern Hotel
Premier Inn Malvern Hotel
#4 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant

Property: Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Address: Walwyn Road | Colwall, Colwall, Great Malvern WR13 6QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Great Malvern > Colwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for superb food and friendly efficient service, Colwall Park is a luxury hotel in Malvern located halfway between the Cotswolds and Welsh Marches and just 15 minutes from M5/M50. Enjoy the warmth and comfort of a welcoming country house hotel complete with walks on the Malvern Hills direct from our gardens! Dine on gourmet food in our award-winning Seasons Restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea in a Worcestershire setting, and try our popular Lantern Bar - a meeting place for locals and residents alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing