We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a corporate event”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colwall
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a corporate event”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at the Colwall Park for 3 days on a corporate development/team building event and found the environment very relaxing, the staff attentive, food excellent and surroundings fantastic for experiencing the great outdoors.

A very homely feel with a clear motivation to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable possible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we're glad that we made you stay enjoyable and comfortable.
Team Building events can sometimes be quite formidable but we think our closeness to the Malvern Hills and superb rural Herefordshire helps everyone relax and enjoy themselves, to say nothing of our glorious food of course.
Hope to see you back here again soon, as a leisure guest next time.

Iain & Sarah Nesbitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    158
    36
    21
    10
See reviews for
85
341
15
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Colwall Park hotel is located about 3 miles south of Malvern in the quiet village of Colwall. Overall, we thought that the hotel was very good.

The quality of the food, particularly at breakfast, and service exceeded our expectations. The food ingredients were probably all locally sourced. We did not eat in Season's restaurant. We did it the bar on Sunday night; enjoyed very good sandwiches though only brown bread was available. The bar was stocked with a small range of local & international beers, plus an extensive wine and spirits selection. It was apparent that many people from the village and surrounding area dine / drink at Colwall, which is a good indicator of quality.

The rooms didn't meet our expectations. The room was comfortable, simply decorated and we sleep well. However, for the price (£130 p/n), I expected the room & bathroom to be more modern (whilst still keeping with the country setting), toiletries re-stocked daily as required without asking and to have a shower with a good water pressure.

All the staff are very friendly and welcoming, particularly at breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the B road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n1spm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we're sorry we could only offer you brown bread for your sandwich on Sunday night, although there were plenty of other freshly cooked food options on both the bar and restaurant menus.
All our bedrooms and bathrooms are renovated and updated every year and most are fitted with both bath and shower. We do try hard to ensure the rooms are kept in sympathy with the Edwardian style building - too much contemporary would look out of place, in our view.
It is always nice to see the locals using us regularly for both food & drink and it's an indication of our good quality offering at sensible prices.

Iain & Sarah Nesbitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We ate at the Seasons restaurant to celebrate a golden wedding anniversary. The staff were very polite and attentive and the food was good. There was a good choice of locally sourced produce and everything we had was well presented and prepared. At £40/head for 4 adults and two children it can't be described as cheap, but you get what you pay for in this case and it is good value for what you receive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and many congratulations for your golden wedding anniversary.
Our's is still 7 years away!!

We do try to keep prices as reasonable as possible but we refuse to skimp on ingredients - only the best will do.

Hope to see you back here again soon.

Iain & Sarah Nesbitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We decided to go to the Malvern Flower Show and our first 2 or 3 choices of accommodation were already fully booked. Colwall Park had vacancies so we decided to stay.
The room (classic double) was absolutely fine, clean, simple but pleasant decoration and the shower cubicle was an excellent size unfortunately the shower itself was quite weak.
The choice for evening meal is quite restricted but was very nicely cooked. The cooked choices for breakfast were good however the continental buffet is restricted.
The big plus was the service which was excellent throughout - reception, bar and restaurant.
Overall we had a very enjoyable 2 night stay and it is in a very pleasant part of the world however it is a touch on the expensive side for what is on offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil&Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review although it's sad to hear we weren't your first choice.
However, we totally agree with you about how beautiful and peaceful this part of England is. It really is a secret haven of unexplored rural Britain, reaching from the Cotswolds to the Welsh Marches.

Iain & Sarah Nesbitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I worked in the Lloyds bank Sub-Branch opposite in 1972-75 as a much younger man, and never stayed in the hotel, but fell in love with a young girl who did the banking from the hotel! Going to put that right now. My wife and I have booked a couple of nights on the 1st and 2nd August in order to attend a wedding in Malvern, because of what I remember as a bit of culture and class and what friends tell me as it still being that good. Can't trust any negative comments, and look forward to a great couple of days in reclusive civilisation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Not sure how to respond because we've never had a pre-review before!!!
We are just hoping that the girl you fell in love with in the 70's is your current wife?
We look forward to meeting you in August and to hearing more about the village of your youth.

Iain & Sarah Nesbitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

we recently stayed here for our wedding anniversary, really friendly and helpful staff, we ate there both nights and every course was perfect and good quality wines, the bar sold some nice local ales, the bar menu was as good as the restaurant, the room we had (room 3) was slightly on the small side but well equipped and the bed was comfrtable, We would defintely go back, thanks to all the staff for a lovely weekend

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we're glad our team helped you enjoy your weekend here.

Iain & Sarah Nesbitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hotel when we arrived really wasn't what we were expecting. As some of the other reviews have mentioned, the photographs on the web site give the impression the hotel is set in open parkland. The hotel is actually right on a road with lots of new build flats next door.

At first we thought we had got the wrong place. When we realised it was the right hotel we went in a little nervous of what we going to find inside but were actually pleasantly surprised. The hotel was absolutely beautiful, old but beautifully restored and with bags of character. The receptions staff were exceptionally friendly, warm and welcoming.

Our room was beautiful and individually furnished. It over looked the road outside but it was quiet and we saw very few cars. It was exceptionally clean and the home baked cookies a nice touch. The only couple of downsides were the size of the room, it was tiny and the bed wasn't very comfortable. If I stayed again then paying the extra for a kingsize room would be worth it.

We ate in the bar one night and the restaurant another. Food on both nights was excellent. We loved the bar, very cosy and a good place to relax. There was a nice mix of guests and locals and the open fire gave it a nice feel. Breakfast in the morning was also good but a little slow on the first day. The next day we were running late and asked if we could get our order quickly and it arrived almost 5 mins later, so can't complain. Reception also had our bill ready and waiting when we got downstairs.

For me, it is the little things like that which makes the difference between a good hotel and a great hotel. The four instead of five stars is for the tiny room and misleading exterior photos, that aside I would stay again.

Room Tip: double rooms are tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty_Harpenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHotelier, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your generous and comprehensive review and we are very pleased to hear that your enjoyed our food, drink and service.
We are sorry if you think the photo is misleading, but if you click on the Gallery section of our web (http://www.colwall.co.uk/hotel_malvern_gallery.php) it shows quite clearly that we are set in the village centre on a minor B road. In fact, one photo actually shows a Morgan Sports Car parked near the front door. Perhaps it’s the title, but then it’s been called Colwall Park for over 100 years and we are most certainly not going to break with that tradition.
Room sizes do vary, which is why we have 4 different categories all at prices reflecting the different sizes.
We hope to see you back again soon, staying in a Superior Room, and then perhaps you can give us 5 out of marks?

Iain & Sarah Nesbitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colwall
1.0 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
927 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Great Malvern
129 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
2.6 mi away
Holdfast Cottage Hotel
Holdfast Cottage Hotel
#10 of 10 in Great Malvern
91 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant

Property: Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Address: Walwyn Road | Colwall, Colwall, Great Malvern WR13 6QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Great Malvern > Colwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for superb food and friendly efficient service, Colwall Park is a luxury hotel in Malvern located halfway between the Cotswolds and Welsh Marches and just 15 minutes from M5/M50. Enjoy the warmth and comfort of a welcoming country house hotel complete with walks on the Malvern Hills direct from our gardens! Dine on gourmet food in our award-winning Seasons Restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea in a Worcestershire setting, and try our popular Lantern Bar - a meeting place for locals and residents alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing