We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A rare find - a destination in and of itself!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Irvine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snug Hollow Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Irvine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greer, South Carolina, United States
1 review
“A rare find - a destination in and of itself!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Drove out of our way on our journey home and discovered a gem between I-75 and The Natural Bridge State Park - nestled in the Cumberland Plateau of Southeastern Kentucky - a true destination for all four seasons. From the quiet secluded cabins to the natural wood beams, porches, and mountain views from the main house rooms, every room is spacious, comfortably appointed yet simple and elegant, including fresh flowers from the country garden. Enjoyed a mid summer thunder storm, deer, songbirds, wild turkeys, and numerous trails - and a challenging trail run while training for the Chicago Marathon. The home recipes of Innkeeper Barbara Napier rival top restaurants but with a natural goodness and wholeness hard to find today - dinner is available with advance notice (don't miss it) and the breakfast was the best I've experienced anywhere. Barbara and her helpers Brenda and Olivia treated us like family, Our teenage daughters didn't want to leave! We plan to return to experience each distinct season.

Room Tip: The large cabin next to the main house accommodates large families (9-10), the smaller cabin by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
95
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This B&B is far off the beaten path and, despite it's popularity, is a well-kept Kentucky secret. It is rustic, lovely, and very clean and comfortable. Barbara makes sure that her guests feel welcome and have a very pleasant stay. She is a teriffic vegerarian cook and the food is made from scratch and locally-grown, so be sure to order dinner. Bring a good book, a bottle of wine, some binoculars, and prepare to relax, listen to songbirds, and watch deer.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katibugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

My husband and I spent two days in the Cabin by the Creek and we loved every minute of it. Quiet, beautifully decorated with simple wildflowers, spotlessly clean, and a delicious breakfast. You couldn't ask for more! Oh, and the night sky was amazing! The sounds of nature and comfortable surroundings made for a wonderful two days. We can't wait to go back in the fall!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Overcomer63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Just spent a wonderful anniversary weekend at Snug Hollow Farm. What a quiet jewel in a hurried world. I must admit that I am a little reluctant to stay at B&Bs. In some places I feel like I am staying in the home of old aunt, but not the case with Snug Hollow. There you have the option of a cabin to yourself or staying in the main house. Barbara is the perfect host and her crew is great. We stayed in the cabin by the creek which is only 50 yards from the main house but feels much more secluded. And the food is wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Wonderful food, beautiful grounds, very welcoming hosts, very comfortable beds. The lodging was just beautifully decorated and homey with fresh cut flowers everywhere! Not a detail was missed. We wished we had stayed two nights.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marci K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in the Cozy Cabin, filled with old books and magazines that wish we had more time to thumb through. We stayed at Snug Hollow Farm Bed & Breakfast over the New Year's Eve holiday, Dec 2010 - Jan 2011. Our goal was to have a rustic, quiet, romantic base for day hikes in the Daniel Boone National Forest where we could prepare our own meals. We are vegan vegetarians and showed up with a cooler full of food items ready to go without realizing that proprietor Barbara Napier had a national reputation as a first rate vegetarian chef! We joined other guests for breakfasts during our 3 night stay and Barbara presented us with delicious, bountiful vegan meals along with her standard vegetarian (non-vegan) fair; the breakfasts made us wish we had opted for Barbara's dinner's as well. Other guests, though not vegetarian, raved about the food.

Friendly local staff made us feel comfortable asking questions, but also gave us the space we wanted to experience solitude. Waking in the silent morning diffuse light, as the sunshine hits the hollow indirectly for the first hour or so, we would stare out across the narrow valley through the mist to watch deer grazing, birds gliding, and a gentle breeze pushing the tall dry grasses around. A few wild flowers, brown and dry, still stood along an old log fence. I sipped my coffee wondering what I would see if I had the gumption to head out for a lazy hike through the hollow.

After breakfast, we headed out to Daniel Boone National Forest for our day hikes, including a wonderful icy trek around Natural Bridge State Park and solitude filled hours in the Red River Gorge.

Our evenings were spent with some limited but fascinating conversation with other Snug Hollow guests and some historical anecdotes of central Kentucky from our host Barbara. We curled up with the massive "Encyclopedia of Appalachia" and fell into a deep, restful sleep.

Overall, we had a wonderful visit and would certainly stay at Snug Hollow again!

lj & kd
Bloomington, IN

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

I stayed at Snug Hollow for a couple of nights in late December, 2011, and found it to be a wonderfully memorable experience with excellent service, great food, stimulating conversation with new friends, and exceedingly restful sleep in a setting that is perfect for a B&B. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thompson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
13.8 mi away
Boone Tavern Hotel
Boone Tavern Hotel
#1 of 10 in Berea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
21.8 mi away
Cliffview Resort
Cliffview Resort
#1 of 2 in Campton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond
Hampton Inn Richmond
#1 of 14 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berea
18.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Richmond
La Quinta Inn Richmond
#4 of 14 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
23.0 mi away
Natural Bridge State Resort Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Hollow Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Hollow Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Snug Hollow Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: 790 McSwain Branch Rd, Irvine, KY 40336-8951
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Irvine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Irvine
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Hollow Farm Bed & Breakfast invites you to visit our 300--acre mountain retreat in the heart of Kentucky. Where the seasons set the stage for restorative rest, relaxation and reconnecting, offering comfortable accommodations, walking trails, quiet surroundings and delightful dining. Ideal for corporate or personal retreats and workshops. Enjoy a 150 year old log cabin, spacious farmhouse , Cottage with a View and a cedar/pine cabin. "An Environmental Inn ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing