We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST STOP HERE!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Northern Rockies Lodge
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stopped here on our road trip from Seattle to Anchorage. You must stop here! The view of Muncho Lake is amazing!!! The accommodations are top notch and the restaurant had great hours and fantastic food! We booked a deluxe rv site mere feet from the lake front. Soooooooooooo beautiful!!!! The hotel and restaurant staff were very nice and friendly! Highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ada J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 351 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was our second stay at the lodge. Service was excellent both stays. Staff was very helpful. Rooms very nice both in the lodge and the cabins. Food excellent with large portions. We took a fly out trip to see glaciers and stayed at one of the outpost cabins for six days. Pilot was great and the outpost cabin was in excellent condition and ready to use. My husband is disabled and the staff made sure we were taken care of. We rate this lodge as the best place to stay on the Alaska Highway. The Kelly's

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Northern Rockies Lodge has an enviable position on the shores of Muncho Lake; miles from anywhere; it promised to be an oasis in the middle of a long driving stint. The building is stunning, rooms were clean and well appointed, the staff lovely, but the management seem to suffer from an arrogance born from complacency (maybe from lack of competition); especially Marianne who was particularly rude. If you can cope with this indifference it's worth a stop.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobandlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs S, Owner at Northern Rockies Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that your stay had been tainted and I wanted to address that experience. As a rule I always try to be respectful and courteous with anyone I am dealing with and especially my customers. However, being Swiss Canadian and having a heavy accent may occasionally come across as confrontational when I am really only trying to solve the problem or explain the issues. So, I want to apologize if I came across as rude, I assure that it was not my intention. Moreover, I am truly sorry that you had a bad experience because of that. You and the rest of our guests and customers are our first priority and we do our best to make sure that you have a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. It is very challenging to do this in the middle of the remote wilderness, but you are worth it. Thank you for your comment and I hope to see you again in our lodge soon.

Sincerely,
Marianne Schildknecht

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed 9/10th June 2013, what a wonderful surprise to see a Swiss Chalet in the middle of nowhere, even better inside, rooms very comfortable and very clean, a very hands-on hostess, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, food of a very high standard, staff very welcoming. Good excursions should you have time, fishing trips, and as we did, took a fixed wing flight over the Northern Rockies, most enjoyable. Instead of travelling from Fort St John to Whitehorse, spent two nights in this location - what a lucky find.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We just got back from our honeymoon at the Northern Rockies Lodge in Muncho Lake and had an amazing time at this excellent establishment. Pricey- yes, without a doubt. But you need to remember that this place is literally in the middle of nowhere and shipping/electricity costs are sky high to operate a place like this.

We planned to book a cozy cabin but were upgraded by the owners, Urs and Marianne, to a lakeshore chalet. The view from our window was shimmering lake and majestic mountains. The room was simple, clean and quite comfortable. The log structures on the property have a rustic charm that makes you feel warm and at home, The lodge itself is a work of art- literally. You could spend hours walking around, looking at photos, reading the history and examining all of the unique pieces of art that this place has accumulated over time.

The area is nothing short of amazing- vast mountain ranges, the gorgeous aqua lake and nothing but peace and beauty.

We took in a floatplane tour of the area- the pilot Kris was very nice and informative. Upon arriving back from our tour, we found a bottle of champagne and two glasses on our front stoop. We received a free canoe rental and took in the liard hotsprings (about a half an hour drive north).

The staff were professional and very accomodating. Tariq at the front desk was very helpful, and all the staff in general were polite and sincere. Paul in the restaurant took care of us and went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. It was an absolute pleasure to dine in the restaurant, night after night trying to decide what to try next on the menu. As the owners are Swiss, the menu contains many echoes of this. The schnitzel seems to be the signature dish, but everything on the menu is truly incredible. The home made spazli was delicious- and the Krombacher beer was a nice touch.

We had a great honeymoon at the Northern Rockies Lodge and will be returning!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Title: Underwhelmed and over priced!
ID#: 172444839

We stayed in a cozy cottage and that was what it was for $159/night. It contained a tiny bathroom with small shower (guaranteed to bang your elbows) and a toilet. The tiny sink was just outside the bathroom about 24 inches from the built in table and benches. The room contained a double bed and a twin bed but the room only had towels for 2. There was no coffee maker or hair dryer. It had no amenities. We did request a fan because it was quite warm. It offers a discount on gas if you stay here lowering the price per liter from $1.,98 to $1.78 which was way too high. Be sure to gas up in Fort Nelson ($1.369/liter) and Watson Lake ($1.499/liter) --on either side of Muncho Lake. There was far too much made of the fact that they are far from anywhere. There are many places far from anywhere in the Yukon and Alaska and they are able to offer a fair price with amenities. The prices in the dining room were high. We had our own coffee maker and breakfast with us.
.
The location is quite scenic right on the lake but unfortunately the place does not match the view.










Go to TripAdvisor | Unsubscribe | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Please do not reply directly to this e-mail. This e-mail was sent from a notification-only address that cannot accept incoming e-mail. Questions? Get help here.
TripAdvisor LLC 141 Needham Street, Newton, MA 02464, USA.
© 2013 TripAdvisor LLC. All rights reserved. TripAdvisor, the TripAdvisor logo, the Owl logo and Get The Truth. Then Go. are either registered trademarks or trademarks of TripAdvisor LLC in the U.S. and/or other countries.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluebuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs S, Owner at Northern Rockies Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

The Northern Rockies Lodge on Muncho Lake offers accommodation for various budgets and tastes. The customer is referring to our Cozy Cabin 15 which is one of our three popular handcrafted log cabins. These cabins were built by local craftsmen and are outfitted with a cozy corner nook. They allow Alaska Highway travelers to savor a cabin lifestyle in a clean, well maintained unit. It appears that the customer paid for two people and hence there were towels for two. Due to the fact that we have to generate our own power, courtesy coffee is available for our house guests in the lobby and dining room.

It appears that some customers just do not want to accept the fact that operating a hotel on our own unsubsidized diesel generated power in the middle of the rugged wilderness of Northern BC is more costly than staying in the city. We are not apologizing for our pricing.

We would like to correct the reviewer and point out that the gas prices in Fort Nelson were substantially higher this past summer and ours is lower than quoted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This place is quite an oasis in the middle of the Northern BC bush. The rooms were clean and reasonably well appointed. Pricing is somewhat disproportionate but again this is not uncommon on the Alaska Canada Highway. If you are staying a couple of nights then there is plenty to do, from canoes rentals, fishing and if you are adventurous you could take a trip on the Laird Air float plane. I was disappointed that the restaurant discount for residents as stated in my confirmation of booking and deposit (paid 6 months previous) did cause a problem. When I checked in I was again told that we have a discount off Fuel and a 10% discount off restaurant bills. The discount was duly given the next morning at breakfast but alas when I claimed it at dinner it was no longer available. The proprietress, Marianne, explained that we should not have got the discount that morning and that the lady in the restaurant was wrong and would be sanctioned. She added that the offer was was withdrawn months ago. I have to say that this did spoil our stay somewhat, not that I lost the $20 or so over my 2 day stay but the belligerence and lack of customer focus, which can be a result of being the only hotel for 100 Kms or so North or South, (captive audience Syndrome)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RangerNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muncho Lake
3.7 mi away
Double G Service
Double G Service
#1 of 1 in Muncho Lake
30 reviews
21.9 mi away
Folding Mountain Bed and Breakfast
22.3 mi away
Tetsa River Lodge
Tetsa River Lodge
#1 of 4 in Fort St. John
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Rockies Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Rockies Lodge

Address: Mile 462 Alaska Highway | (P.O. Box 8), Muncho Lake, British Columbia V0C 1Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Muncho Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Muncho Lake
Price Range: $102 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northern Rockies Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Often referred to as “the best place to stay on the Alaska Highway”, the Northern Rockies Lodge is the newest and most impressive hotel in the Liard River (hot springs), Toad River and Muncho Lake region. We are located on Mile 462 of the historic Alaska Highway on the shores of beautiful Muncho Lake. As a remote lodge, we pride ourselves in maintaining a high level of service for our guests in the middle of the untouched wilderness of Muncho Lake. Our facilities include a hotel, dining room and lounge, cabins, lakeshore chalets, RV Park, gas station, picnic areas, sauna, playground, floatplane dock, boat ramp and more. All of our facilities are available for our guests including Wifi. We are proud to be able to provide our guests with most of the modern comforts despite being so remote. The Northern Rockies Lodge operates year round without any government subsidies and we were able to build over the last 3+ decades a self-sufficient village in the wilderness for you: We generate our own power, our own water and sewage systems. In addition to providing overnight accommodations for the Alcan travellers, we are also a popular vacation destination for many guests. Come to the Northern Rockies Lodge to get away from the city stress: Enjoy world class fly in fishing, canoeing and flightseeing tours around the Muskwa Kechika and to Virginia Falls at Nahanni National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Northern Rockies Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing