We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice property, but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Horse Cave
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Level Contributor
186 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Nice property, but.....”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Very nice, well kept and well staffed property. DO NOT TRUST YOUR GPS with the address, you will end up in the middle of a park 5 miles away (the way the bird flies) that takes 30 minutes to recover from. Use the hotel directions and you will be fine.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    196
    113
    45
    37
See reviews for
278
154
27
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mason, OH
Level Contributor
243 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We wanted to get a head start on our trip to Memphis and drove until we were tired. This was the hotel we found. We got a great rate, it was right off the interstate (a little noisy from freeway traffic), it was clean, comfortable and we had free breakfast before getting back on the road. Just the type of hotel we were looking for !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carrie9678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed here one night while taking a mini-vacation to Mammoth Cave. We were early arriving and stopped in to see if our room was ready and it was! I was using a combination of points and cash to pay for the room and all was as expected. The nice thing about Hamptons is you know what you're getting every time, and this was no exception. Good breakfast, everyone in my family was able to find foods they liked and have enough to eat. The breakfast area was full that Sunday morning, but it didn't seem crowded and the "traffic flow" was such that no one was standing around looking for a place to sit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cy1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
163 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Driving South on I-65 after places farther North were filled due to conventions in Elizabethtown and Louisville. Arrived around 11 p.m. Night clerk was friendly, but the only single bed room was a handicap king at the end of third floor. The room was fairly quiet, clean, and comfortable. I could hear some low volume truck noise, but that can be expected at an Interstate exit. The room did not have a microwave or refrigerator, which I usually find in a $80 per night room. The breakfast did offer microwaved western omlettes and sausage, but I just had a couple english muffins done in a slow toaster. There were no morning papers left for me. All in all it was a comfortable stay, but it could have been better.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captainmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
312 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Facility is typical for a Hampton but I'd rate the service as poor and given the location, would suggest elsewhere.

Staff: No one at desk on check-in, wait 5 minutes for someone to show. Not really friendly, disinterested.

Status recognition of Gold and preferences requested: No status recognition. Was given a room next to elevator that the bell could be heard from room (preference are away from elevator) and adjacent to room with noisy kids (low occupancy, prob < 20% based upon cars in lot). View of overhang to front entrance. Certainly no consideration of my requests. Would avoid in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Horse Cave for two nights in August. The location is convenient to the Mammoth Cave attractions. The hotel was quiet enough for our family. After walking around the room we all had pretty black socks. We left a not for the housekeeping staff to please vacuum and it wasn't done. The pool was decent. The kids enjoyed it. The breakfast was typical Hampton, but well done. We stayed on points so I can't comment about the value. For food, try Snappy's Pizza and Pasta in downtown Horse Cave. It's a nice family place that won't break the bank and had good pizza with decent service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthBendMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West of Atlanta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

If you're looking for a Hampton Inn for a trip to Mammoth Caverns, this is your option. It's not really near anything itself, but it's just one exit from where you'll want to go when traveling to the cave.

The facility itself is what you'd expect, and that's why I stay at Hampton Inns: I know what I'm getting. The free breakfast is especially important at this one, since it's not immediately near anything. Most of the Mammoth Caverns attractions are mostly suited for families with pre-teens; however, my recent stay there with my two college-age kids was fine -- we found enough to keep us all busy and entertained (in addition to our tour of Mammoth Cave). But a family with pre-teen kids could spend several days here and have a blast with all the attractions within a 15-minute drive.

Like I said, stay here, and drive one exit south down 65 and take a right to the cave, or left into Cave City for typical fast food and so forth. You can drive a few more miles down to Glasgow and see a movie or pick up supplies at the Wal-Mart.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeepSouthRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horse Cave
4.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Cave City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cave City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
13.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Horse Cave
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Cave City
Super 8 Cave City
#1 of 12 in Cave City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
11.1 mi away
Park Mammoth Resort
Park Mammoth Resort
#1 of 2 in Park City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Horse Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Horse Cave

Property: Hampton Inn Horse Cave
Address: 750 Flint Ridge Rd, Horse Cave, KY 42749-9727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Horse Cave
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Horse Cave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Horse Cave 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Horse Cave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Horse Cave Hotel Horse Cave
Horse Cave Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing